Z is for Zaanse Schans

Zaanse Schans is a small village just outside Amsterdam. It’s a living and working community, but also a heritage site with multiple windmills, some working, and small topical museums such as the Clock Museum and the first Albert Heijn store which started in 1887 and is now a major supermarket chain. Not everything was here originally – many of the buildings were moved from elsewhere – but it does give you a picture of what life must have been like in the past. I was interested to find out the different functions of windmills – sawmills, dye mills and oil mills – as I had just imagined they were all for grain.

And that’s it! The A to Z Challenge accomplished. Thank you to everyone who has read and commented on my posts. It’s been great fun.

44 Comments »

  1. Congrats on making it all the way from A to Z! I have enjoyed your posts and am grateful for all your comments and kind words on my posts. I’ve saved your blog to a folder to return to – I even need to catch up on A to Z posts I missed. Thanks again! 😀

    ~Tui Snider~ Dropping by from the A to Z challenge! 😀
    @TuiSnider on Twitter
    My blog: Tui Snider’s Offbeat & Overlooked Travel
    I am also part of the #StoryDam team, a friendly writing community!

    Like

  2. Congratulations on completing this challenge Anabel! I have really enjoyed reading your posts even though I haven’t always had time to comment on all of them. It’s really great to read about ‘off the beaten path’ locations and this in particular outside of Amsterdam is certainly appealing. Great collection of images as well that you included.

    Looking forward to continuing to follow your blog – keep up the great work!

    Like