Bellahouston Park and House for an Art Lover

We had a lovely lunch in House for an Art Lover (designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh but built long after his death) on Sunday, then spent an hour or two wandering round Bellahouston Park using Glasgow City Council’s Heritage Trail. There’s also a good exhibition in the Stable Block about the history of the area and the use of the park in 1938 for the Empire Exhibition, including a virtual tour through a 3D digital image of the exhibition site – the only building that still remains to be viewed physically is the Palace of Arts. It must have been amazing to visit such a concentration of white modernism if you were used to the heavy sandstone of Victorian and Edwardian Glasgow.

All the information you need is in the links, so I’m just going to add a few photos.

9 thoughts on “Bellahouston Park and House for an Art Lover

  1. Ana Ela January 7, 2013 / 17:40

    BEAUTIFUL photos! Almost like being there… =)

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 7, 2013 / 17:53

      Thank you! Glasgow has numerous parks, and even though I’ve lived here since 1986 there are some I’ve still never been to. Trying to work my way round them all.

      Like

      • Ana Ela January 7, 2013 / 17:55

        I will enjoy that very much! Also inspiring for my next tour 😉

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh January 7, 2013 / 17:58

          Yes, you shouldn’t miss Glasgow. Very different from Edinburgh, but has a lot to offer. Glasgow people are also noted for their friendliness so you might get more help with directions etc!

          Like

          • Ana Ela January 7, 2013 / 18:03

            😛 I have never had an issue with friendliness in Scotland (really, I have never personally met an unfriendly Scot!) – just LANGUAGE barriers…LOL!! (& a heap of people who had not travelled outside their community – but really, it was a language issue – awesome – I love the different Scottish dialects – though apparently I can’t understand all of them!).

            Like

            • Anabel Marsh January 7, 2013 / 18:09

              I’m originally from the north of England. When I first moved here, I got a taxi home with a friend. She was dropped off first and asked me later if I had been alright. Apparently the taxi driver had been telling dirty jokes – I had no idea and had been smiling and nodding politely!

              Like

              • Ana Ela January 7, 2013 / 18:11

                OMG!! Ha HA! Oh goodness that is hilarious (terrible taxi driver though – so rude!)!! I can imagine that CLEARLY! 😛

                Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 9, 2013 / 22:17

      Thank you! It’s getting on for bedtime here so I shall investigate tomorrow.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

