I is for Inner Hebrides

The Hebrides Image credit: Kelisi via Wikimedia
The Hebrides
Image credit: Kelisi via Wikimedia

The Hebrides is an archipelago off the west coast of Scotland (sometimes known as the Western Isles) and is divided into Inner and Outer (see map). There are 36 inhabited islands in the Inner Hebrides, of which I’ve visited a handful, and many more uninhabited. There are pictures below of:

Skye – The Quirang

Mull – the colourful houses of Tobermory which starred in the children’s TV series as Balamory. From Mull you can take boat trips to smaller islands such as Staffa, home to Fingal’s Cave of Mendelssohn’s overture fame, and the Treshnish Isles which are great for birdwatchers – see the puffin on Lunga, for example.

Islay – most famous for its multitude of distilleries, two of which are shown here. The Kildalton Cross is the only surviving complete Celtic cross in Scotland and dates from about 800 AD. I love that I’ve also got the mobile library in shot in Bowmore.

Arran – a stone circle on Machrie Moor.

Anyone guess what O is going to be?

16 thoughts on “I is for Inner Hebrides

    • Anabel Marsh April 10, 2014 / 13:56

      I so wanted O to be Orkney and S to be Shetland – but I can’t find the photographs! It was pre-digital and I’ve turned out all the boxes in the loft to no avail. Shame.

      Like

  1. Calli April 10, 2014 / 17:11

    Oh you saw a puffin! I’m so jealous. I’d love to visit the Western Isles someday – there’s just too much on my list 🙂 Great post for I

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 10, 2014 / 22:28

      There were hundreds of puffins! You had to be careful not to fall over them.

      Like

  2. cvail April 10, 2014 / 19:09

    Anabel, I have never been able to visit these isles. I would love to spend a summer traipsing about and camping…beautiful photos!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 10, 2014 / 22:30

      We camped in a couple of places, but it’s very wet and the midges are lethal!

      Like

  3. Donna April 10, 2014 / 19:16

    I’ve never been to Scotland, hopefully I’ll make it there someday. I just checked I’ve been a bunch of places but none that you’ve posted about for A-Z!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 10, 2014 / 22:31

      Plenty more to go that you might have been to! Scotland is beautiful, I hope you get a chance to visit.

      Like

  4. Adriana April 10, 2014 / 20:28

    Oban ?

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 10, 2014 / 22:33

      Nope! Keep watching. I did actually think about Walter when I found the photo with the mobile library.

      Like

  5. Birgit April 11, 2014 / 01:52

    The cross is amazing and so beautiful and it survived the centuries. Great pics and love the puffin

    Like

  6. Lori L MacLaughlin April 11, 2014 / 02:56

    How about the Outer Hebrides? Lovely photos! I wish we’d had a chance to visit the islands while we were there, but we stayed on the mainland.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

