J is for Jamestown

Jamestown is part of Virginia’s Historic Triangle – see also W is for Williamsburg and Y is for Yorktown. It’s the site of the first permanent English settlement in the New World (1607) and the place where Captain John Smith, the colony’s leader, was rescued by Pocahontas. Next door to the original site is the Jamestown Settlement, a living history museum of the type that the Americans seem to be so good at – and, just 20 miles away, you can see where the colony came to an end at the Battle of Yorktown in 1781. So much history contained in such a short distance.

18 thoughts on “J is for Jamestown

  1. Tarkabarka April 11, 2014 / 13:48

    I love the ship! Never actually been there, although my bf apparently had a bunch of ancestors there. I’ll have to visit and learn some more American history 🙂

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary – Tales of colors
    MopDog – The crazy thing about Hungarians…

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 11, 2014 / 16:28

      It was fascinating! The whole area was really interesting with colonial, revolutionary war and civil war sites very close to each other.

      Like

  2. Birgit April 11, 2014 / 17:20

    I love the story of Pocahantas and love it that she was tattooed-not that I have any. Great history around there and the ship! Colourful!!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 11, 2014 / 20:00

      Great history indeed; fascinating to see how the early settlers survived.

      Like

  3. TuiSnider April 12, 2014 / 00:05

    I didn’t realize there was something for the modern tourist to see at Jamestown. Very cool! I would love to visit sometime! As a kid, the story of the Jamestown colony disappearing, with only the word “Croatoa” left as a cryptic clue, really intrigued me. 😀

    ~Tui Snider~
    @TuiSnider on Twitter
    My blog: Tui Snider’s Offbeat & Overlooked Travel
    I am also part of the #StoryDam team, a friendly writing community!

    Like

  4. Donna April 12, 2014 / 01:52

    I love that ship! Never been there but it is on my list. Not for a while though, I think my husband overdosed on learning things on our Washington DC vacation.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 12, 2014 / 07:55

      My husband is an engineer so he likes looking at that aspect of things – luckily he enjoys learning about history too!

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 12, 2014 / 07:59

      Virginia is full of history. So much so that we are going back this summer!

      Like

  5. cvail April 12, 2014 / 09:48

    Anabel, Next time you are in the States, one of my favorite living history museums is Mystic, Connecticut!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 12, 2014 / 09:55

      Not been there! First one I ever went to was the Plimouth Plantation about 20 years ago – had never seen anything like it. I only knew of one UK museum at the time that took a remotely similar approach (Beamish) though it’s more common now. US definitely keeps the edge though!

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

