O is for Outer Hebrides

The Hebrides Image credit: Kelisi via Wikimedia
The Hebrides
Image credit: Kelisi via Wikimedia

If you read my post I is for Inner Hebrides, you might have guessed what O was going to be! In my opinion, the outer islands are even more beautiful than the inner ones – they’re the orange ones on the map. My favourite is Barra, to which I have travelled twice in a tiny plane and landed at the airport on the beach – a magical experience, but not if you’re frightened of flying. However, they are all lovely with ancient monuments and pristine beaches. Don’t be fooled by the sunshine though – the sea is freezing!

The pictures below show Lewis, Benbecula, South Uist,  and Barra. The figure in pink is me – 20 years ago! We must go back.

15 thoughts on “O is for Outer Hebrides

  1. Birgit April 17, 2014 / 14:38

    How beautiful and moody. I love the old sculptures and buildings-so much history

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 17, 2014 / 16:59

      Moody can be the word with the weather! 4 seasons in one day sometimes.

      Like

  2. Sukanya Ramanujan April 17, 2014 / 15:23

    Wow! I would love to go here sometime. I’ve been to Scotland but never to the Hebrides Islands

    Like

  3. cassam101 April 17, 2014 / 15:37

    Gorgeous photos. If we had really good long summers it would probably be spoiled by too many tourists.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 17, 2014 / 17:03

      Exactly! As I’ve just remarked to someone else, you can get 4 seasons in one day which can be off-putting unless you’re used to it.

      Like

  4. Calli April 17, 2014 / 15:58

    Oooh I really like this – definitely a place I want to visit. The landscape is so rugged looking!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 17, 2014 / 17:05

      It is – rugged, moody and wild seems to be the theme!

      Like

  5. cvail April 17, 2014 / 15:59

    Anabel, That is totally my kind of place…too fun!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 17, 2014 / 17:08

      All the islands are lovely – bleak, but in a good way.

      Like

  6. Ann April 17, 2014 / 18:16

    I’ve only been to the Isle of Skye, but I can’t wait to go back and explore the outer Hebrides, too. So beautiful.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 17, 2014 / 19:31

      I liked Skye, but didn’t feel it was that different to the mainland but the outer islands really felt isolated.

      Like

      • Ann April 18, 2014 / 07:35

        I could see that. We were up in the Waternish area, and there are parts that felt more isolated. But, I can’t compare it to anything else – so now I really need to see for myself!

        Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 21, 2014 / 08:09

      So do I. Had some great photos of the ones on Orkney which was my original plan for O but I can’t find them – pre-digital days.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

