Z is for Zaanse Schans

Zaanse Schans is a small village just outside Amsterdam. It’s a living and working community, but also a heritage site with multiple windmills, some working, and small topical museums such as the Clock Museum and the first Albert Heijn store which started in 1887 and is now a major supermarket chain. Not everything was here originally – many of the buildings were moved from elsewhere – but it does give you a picture of what life must have been like in the past. I was interested to find out the different functions of windmills – sawmills, dye mills and oil mills – as I had just imagined they were all for grain.

And that’s it! The A to Z Challenge accomplished. Thank you to everyone who has read and commented on my posts. It’s been great fun.

44 thoughts on “Z is for Zaanse Schans

  1. Donna April 30, 2014 / 13:05

    Congratulations on finishing A to Z. I’ve loved seeing your photos from your world travels.

    Like

  2. jenny@atasteoftravel April 30, 2014 / 13:53

    This village reminds me of the windmills at Kinderdijk just outside Rotterdam. Congratulations on finishing the challenge. it’s been fun meeting you.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 30, 2014 / 14:36

      Thanks – the whole thing has been great, I’ve really enjoyed meeting everyone too.

      Like

  3. DayDreamer April 30, 2014 / 14:41

    I wonder how people who complain about wind farms would feel if they looked more like this windmill town. More picturesque maybe, but wonder how noisy it is.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 30, 2014 / 16:04

      They were quite noisy when they got going! Personally, I think there’s a certain beauty in a wind farm but I don’t live near one, so maybe I’d feel differently then. Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  4. cvail April 30, 2014 / 15:38

    Anabel, I loved Zaanse Schans, and so did my daughters! Congrats on making through the A-Z Challenge, I’ve loved reading your posts.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 30, 2014 / 16:13

      Thanks Corinne – it was a lovely day trip from Amsterdam. Congrats to you too – we did it! With what, one overlap? I’ve enjoyed your posts too and look forward to finding out where you go next.

      Like

  5. Birgit April 30, 2014 / 15:38

    I can’t believe it is the end-We made it! Great end to this-Love the windmills-It just seems to peaceful

    Like

  6. Ann April 30, 2014 / 16:31

    Perfect. I’m writing a guest post for someone about kid-friendly day trips from Amsterdam and Zaanse schans is my number one choice. Great pick for Z.

    Congrats on making it to the end, it’s been a lot of fun hasn’t it?

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 30, 2014 / 16:51

      Kids would love it – and yes, it’s been great. Well done all of us!

      Like

  7. johnmarkmiller April 30, 2014 / 17:23

    Thank you for providing these daily trips around the world – it’s been a fascinating month of sightseeing!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 30, 2014 / 20:18

      Glad you enjoyed it! I’ve enjoyed yours too – happy blogging.

      Like

  8. Travelling Book Junkie April 30, 2014 / 17:37

    Congratulations on finishing the challenge – how do you feel knowing that you have completed it? 🙂

    Like

  9. Silvia Writes April 30, 2014 / 18:07

    A great entry, Anabel. Such a beautiful, unique-looking place.
    Congratulations on completing the challenge! It’s been great meeting you, and a pleasure coming in here and reading your posts.
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

    Like

  10. Calli April 30, 2014 / 18:20

    Congratulations on completing the challenge Anabel – those windmills look very cool!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 30, 2014 / 20:22

      Thank you! The whole thing has been really enjoyable.

      Like

  11. Eli April 30, 2014 / 18:32

    Wonderful pick for Z – that is so cute:-) And congrats on completing the challenge! It has been fun following you:-)

    Like

  12. Crystal @bayessenceblog April 30, 2014 / 22:12

    Congrats on finishing the A to Z Challenge! I loved the windmills and villages outside of Amsterdam – very quaint! Great pics.

    Like

  13. Chris Boothman April 30, 2014 / 22:56

    Congratulations on completing this challenge Anabel! I have really enjoyed reading your posts even though I haven’t always had time to comment on all of them. It’s really great to read about ‘off the beaten path’ locations and this in particular outside of Amsterdam is certainly appealing. Great collection of images as well that you included.

    Looking forward to continuing to follow your blog – keep up the great work!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 30, 2014 / 23:19

      Thanks, Chris – right back at you! Hoping to keep in touch with all my new friends, though perhaps not at the same pace.

      Like

  14. Sonia Lal April 30, 2014 / 23:33

    I didn’t know windmills could be used for so many different things either.

    Like

  15. TuiSnider May 1, 2014 / 01:59

    Congrats on making it all the way from A to Z! I have enjoyed your posts and am grateful for all your comments and kind words on my posts. I’ve saved your blog to a folder to return to – I even need to catch up on A to Z posts I missed. Thanks again! 😀

    ~Tui Snider~ Dropping by from the A to Z challenge! 😀
    @TuiSnider on Twitter
    My blog: Tui Snider’s Offbeat & Overlooked Travel
    I am also part of the #StoryDam team, a friendly writing community!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 1, 2014 / 07:35

      Thanks, I’ve enjoyed yours too. It’s been great meeting so many new people and I’ll be keeping my A-Z feed live as well.

      Like

  16. Lori L MacLaughlin May 1, 2014 / 02:36

    Love the windmills! That’s another place I’d like to visit someday. Congratulations on finishing the Challenge! I very much enjoyed your blog.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 1, 2014 / 14:30

      Thank you! That’s my first ever comment from a school – I’m really pleased, and heading over to see what you did for A to Z right now.

      Like

  17. sandy May 1, 2014 / 22:21

    What a lovely area, I would LOVE to go there. Congrats on finishing the challenge.

    Like

  18. Home That We Built November 3, 2015 / 21:55

    This is a cool place! Quite different from my Kinderdijk. I loved the green windmill! There is something about the green there, isn’t it? The windmill and those houses- lovely shade

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh November 3, 2015 / 22:32

      Yes, the green is lovely. Just scrolled through the old comments and someone else mentioned that it reminded them of Kinderdijk. I had forgotten that.

      Like

  19. Sartenada February 17, 2017 / 10:25

    Lovely post. I love traditional windmills. We have them in Finland, but they are much more rustic.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

