Blackness Castle

Yesterday we went east to Blackness Castle on the Firth of Forth, one of Historic Scotland’s sites. We dodged the rain with a well-timed lunch, then spent a dry, if cold and blustery, hour exploring before walking a couple of miles along the banks of the Forth for good views back to the Castle and of the Ochil Hills and some intriguing fungi.

Blackness was built in the 15th century and is remarkably well-preserved, perhaps because it spent much of its life as a fortress and prison. It’s also known as “the ship that never sailed” – you can get some impression of that in the picture above of the prow-like tower with the Saltire pointing out into the water. Well worth the visit!

15 thoughts on “Blackness Castle

  1. helenmackinven March 9, 2015 / 16:06

    Great pics. Blackness isn’t far from me and I’ve been to the beach and castle several times but never inside – must put that right soon…

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 9, 2015 / 16:07

      Be prepared for a work-out! Lots of spiral staircases to climb, but the views are worth it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Birgit March 9, 2015 / 22:52

    This looks so beautiful in its starkness. It looks like it was a cold day. I wonder how it looked back when it was first built and how cold the people living there must have been. This is something to see

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 9, 2015 / 23:01

      I wonder that about all the castles. There would have been tapestries on the stone walls and fires, but even so – brr! I’m glad to be living int he 21st century.

      Like

  3. cvail March 10, 2015 / 09:01

    Anabel, We’re hoping to go camping in Scotland for about a week this summer…I can’t wait!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 10, 2015 / 09:11

      Fantastic! I’ll start the anti-rain dance for you now. Where are you planning to camp?

      Like

  4. Lori L MacLaughlin March 10, 2015 / 15:17

    Love that castle! If I ever get back to Scotland, it’s going on my list of must-visits.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 10, 2015 / 17:13

      There are so many lovely castles – but I think the ones, such as this, perched on the edge of the sea are the best.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Paul April 6, 2015 / 11:46

    Another of my favourite places. I was there just a couple of weeks back however I was not lucky enough to get the nice weather you had. It was misty, cold and wet, didn’t stop me taking some photos though!

    Like

  6. jazzfeathers May 14, 2015 / 16:02

    Beautiful place. I love castles 🙂

    But why is it called Blackness? What a suggestive name!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 14, 2015 / 20:46

      You know, until you asked that question it never occurred to me that it might be seen as “blackness” as in “darkness”. Which is the obvious way to see it and I should have thought about explaining it. It’s pronounced as 2 words Black-Ness – ness is an old Norse word for headland and a lot of places have it in their name. So the rocks are black and it’s a ness I suppose….

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

