A to Z Challenge Theme Reveal: Gallus Glasgow

atoz-theme-reveal-2015

Gallus: (ga·luss)

Dialect, chiefly Scot ~adj.
1. self-confident, daring, cheeky.
2. stylish, impressive (esp. Glasgow “He’s pure gallus, by the way”).
3. Orig. derogatory, meaning wild; a rascal; deserving to be hanged (from the gallows).

(Ok, let’s forget about that last definition!)

When I entered last year’s A to Z Challenge I had a definite purpose in mind – to use it to fill in some gaps in my online travel diary. So my posts covered the world (or at least, the bits of it I’d seen). I really enjoyed it and met some great new blogging friends – but how to repeat the experience? I knew I’d never be able to complete those difficult letters with exotic travel again, and even some of the easier ones had proved an unexpected struggle.

Inspiration came before last year’s challenge had even ended. Donna’s New Day completed her challenge on Washington DC and at San Diego & Beyond another Donna wrote about, you’ve guessed it, San Diego. They showed the challenge could be done successfully on one city – and what better city than my home, Glasgow? I’ve also been helped by Rosie Cunningham’s gorgeous, illustrated Glasgow Alphabet. Not all my letters will be the same as hers by any means, but I’ve certainly taken some ideas from it. Thanks Rosie and the two Donnas!

So from the 1st of April, I’ll be blogging every day (except Sundays) about Glasgow. My A to Z will show it to be a gallus city – self-confident, cheeky and stylish. It’s not a guide to major tourist locations but will feature smaller attractions, some places personal to me and, above all, places which illustrate the quirky character of this glorious city and its inhabitants. Please come along for the ride! I promise it won’t be a hanging offence…….

Glasgow city centre panorama from Lighthouse tower by Tomek Augustyn from Glasgow, UK (let Glasgow flourish) CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0), via Wikimedia Commons
Glasgow city centre panorama from Lighthouse tower by Tomek Augustyn. CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0), via Wikimedia Commons
45 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge Theme Reveal: Gallus Glasgow

  1. cvail March 23, 2015 / 11:46

    This sounds like a fun theme. I can’t wait to read them and take notes. We plan on being up in Scotland for a little time this summer!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 23, 2015 / 13:16

      Thanks Corinne – it would be lovely if our paths were able to cross for a beer or something!

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 23, 2015 / 15:07

      I hope you do! I might be biased (of course) but I think it’s a wonderful city.

      Like

  2. Nadine March 23, 2015 / 14:50

    Excellent idea! We visited Scotland for the first time last fall to do some research into my family history (my ancestors hail from the little town of Alva and its environs). Glasgow was one city we weren’t able to get to, so I am looking forward to these posts so I can plan the next trip.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 23, 2015 / 15:10

      I think we sometimes get overlooked in favour of Edinburgh – but we’re just as good in a different way. (Well, I would say better, but see previous comment re bias 😉.)

      Like

  3. Jennifer L. Hawes March 23, 2015 / 15:55

    I’m doing my theme on a city too. Glasgow sounds so interesting! I love a good Scottish accent:)

    Like

  4. Donna March 23, 2015 / 16:24

    I am so looking forward to reading your entries! Just from reading some of your various posts during the year Glasgow has made it to the list of top places I want to go to. In one way it really doesn’t seem like 11 months since I wrote all those Washington DC posts but so much has happened since then in other ways it seems like a lifetime ago.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 23, 2015 / 16:33

      Hooray! A convert already! And thanks again for the inspiration.

      Like

  5. jazzfeathers March 23, 2015 / 17:35

    Absolutely fantastic theme. Can’t wait to read your entries.
    I’ve been to Scotland just once, but my heart is still there 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 23, 2015 / 17:43

      Scotland is beautiful – I’m glad you liked your visit so much.

      Like

  6. Susan Kane March 23, 2015 / 18:22

    I’ve always wanted to visit Scotland w/Edinborough on my list. Now I will get to enjoy Glasgow through your blog. Looking forward to visiting!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 23, 2015 / 18:53

      Definitely add Glasgow to your list too! My A to Z posts will not cover the main sites, but there’s loads already on the blog.

      Like

  7. Jemima Pett March 23, 2015 / 18:26

    Can we have some Rennie Mackintosh in there somewhere, please? 🙂 I’m really looking forward to this!
    Jemima

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 23, 2015 / 18:54

      Well, I’m covering the smaller, more quirky things – but I confess he will sneak in at some point!

      Like

  8. Jen Lace&Lunges March 23, 2015 / 19:27

    I am tempted to do an A-Z on my city, Liverpool. There is so much t see and do in any of the cities in the UK that you wouldn’t struggle – maybe have get a little creative with the titles though.
    I can’t wait to read your posts and see your photos.

    Jen http://www.laceandlunges.com

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 23, 2015 / 20:12

      Liverpool would be interesting – I’ve only been once. There must be loads to write about! I’ve only had trouble with the usual suspects such as X and Z so there might be some slight cheating.

      Like

  9. Birgit March 23, 2015 / 22:45

    Oh this will be fun to read and see some of your great pics too

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 23, 2015 / 23:22

      Yes, getting quite excited by the whole challenge thing again. See you on the trail!

      Like

  10. Tarkabarka March 24, 2015 / 00:05

    That’s a useful word for anyone’s vocabulary! 🙂 Never been to Glasgow, but looking forward to visiting through your posts!

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary – Epics from A to Z
    MopDog – The crazy thing about Hungarians…

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 24, 2015 / 07:33

      I hope to introduce you to a few more unique things about Glasgow!

      Like

  11. Silvia Writes March 24, 2015 / 00:42

    Oh, what a treat for us, Anabel. Great theme indeed, as your photos, descriptions, and stories within the story are always spectacular. Looking forward to it.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 24, 2015 / 07:34

      Thank you, Silvia! I’m looking forward to showing off my city.

      Like

  12. Sue Archer March 25, 2015 / 01:44

    Hi, Anabel! Nice to meet you through A to Z. I read your About page and I completely sympathize with the experience of essays knocking the creativity out of you. I felt the same way, and now I use my blogging to bring that creativity back! Looking forward to learning more about Glasgow. 🙂

    Sue Archer
    Doorway Between Worlds

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 25, 2015 / 07:41

      Thanks for the comment, Sue! I’ve checked out your blog too now, and will be following along as we go.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. booksyalove March 25, 2015 / 17:25

    Ooh, this sounds delightful! I’m going to enjoy AprilAtoZ with you, as I’ve always wanted to visit Glasgow and will now get wonderful ideas for that someday-trip!

    Find my April AtoZ theme at http://booksyalove.com/?p=5371 – this retired librarian is still a bookaholic!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 25, 2015 / 17:40

      Thank you for following! I’ve added you to my list too – YA fiction is a great theme.

      Like

  14. KaTy Did March 28, 2015 / 16:07

    I came across your blog on the A-Z and I am looking forward to reading your posts on this. How fun. I love your travels and photos. Gives a good insight as to what a visitor can expect.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 28, 2015 / 17:02

      Thank you! I am in a place with rubbish wifi and no phone signal at the moment so can’t get your blog to open up – I will check it out as soon as I can.😟

      Like

  15. zaagitravel April 1, 2015 / 08:34

    This is my first year doing the challenge — my theme is my move to New Zealand! Will enjoy reading your posts on Glasgow 🙂

    Cheers!

    Alexa Rae (Zaagi Travel)

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

