The Antonine Wall

Say “Roman Wall” and most people will think of Hadrian – but did you know there was also an Antonine Wall? Built in the AD 140s for Emperor Antonius Pius, it runs across Central Scotland from the Clyde to the Forth and, for a generation, was the north-west frontier of the Roman Empire.

Recently, we did a circular walk (find it on the Walk Highlands site) which took in parts of the wall, including two hill forts, and the Forth and Clyde canal. We parked in Auchinstarry Quarry, near Kilsyth, which is now a park popular with climbers, and set off along the canal.

At Twechar, we crossed the canal and climbed Bar Hill with clear remains of a Roman Fort, including its bath-house.

Climbing further, we reached the white trig point on Castle Hill which is the site of an even earlier Iron Age fort. From here, you can see the wall and its ditch very clearly.

After descending, we crossed a road and started climbing again – this time Croy Hill. There was a fort here too, but it’s not so obvious. If you click on the second picture to enlarge, you can see in the distance the rock walls of Auchinstarry Quarry on the right and Auchinstarry Canal Basin on the left.

Finally, we descended back to the canal. As we approached the Basin, several barges were on view – including one (top right) for sale! I think I’ll pass. When we arrived back at our car, the climbers were still scaling the walls. I’ll pass on that too.

I’m attaching this post to Jo’s Monday Walks so why not visit her to see what everyone else has been up to? 

Finally, I have very intermittent Internet access at the moment which is awkward with the A to Z Challenge about to start! I’ll do my best to reply to comments and read / comment on other blogs but apologies in advance if I don’t. I’ll catch up soon.

15 thoughts on “The Antonine Wall

  1. restlessjo March 30, 2015 / 19:51

    I’d buy Misty Waters, Anabel ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing this. I had no idea! I’m off to ‘take a walk in the park’ next ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lori L MacLaughlin March 31, 2015 / 03:22

    I saw Hadrian’s Wall, but missed Antonine. I don’t remember that one at all.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 31, 2015 / 08:29

      Hadrian’s is famous – Antonine less so! And quite a bit further north.

      Like

  3. lostforwords101 March 31, 2015 / 04:52

    Hi Anabel, I found you on the A-Z sign-up list ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love the travel photos on your page and I’ll surely follow your entries for the challenge.

    Good luck with the letters.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 31, 2015 / 08:30

      Thanks – I’ll come and visit you too as soon as I get a decent internet connection!

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 31, 2015 / 08:45

      Thank you – it is lovely! We’ve done the Bar Hill part several times but never added in Croy Hill before.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. helenmackinven March 31, 2015 / 10:15

    I live only a few miles away from the quarry etc. Anabel so next time pop in! Or give me a wave. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. Birgit March 31, 2015 / 19:59

    This looks like such a beautiful walk. Roman ruins seem to be everywhere in Europe. Some are so famous but there are so many other sites that it boggles the mind where they all were. Tomorrow is the start!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 31, 2015 / 21:11

      Tomorrow is the start indeed! Can’t wait to see who you’re writing about….

      Like

  6. VioletSky April 7, 2015 / 01:12

    You have some great views from this walk. And ruins!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

