Gallus Glasgow B: the Barrowland

Stephen Sweeney CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0), via Wikimedia Commons
Stephen Sweeney CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0), via Wikimedia Commons

Barrowland, in the East End of Glasgow, is a legendary street-market, affectionately known to all as The Barras. When it was started by Maggie McIver almost a hundred years ago it would, literally, have been a collection of barrows – over 300. Maggie went on to found the Barrowland Ballroom which is still going today (although it had to be rebuilt after a fire in 1958) as a major music venue. All the most gallus Glaswegians are seen there. When Maggie died she was a multi-millionaire – not bad for a girl from the East End!

Barrowland Ballroom
Barrowland Ballroom

A recent addition to the area is Barrowland Park with this art work by Jim Lambie. It’s a 100 metre pathway listing the names of 2000 of the bands who have played at Barrowlands since 1983. I’ve highlighted a couple that I know I was at! (Elvis Costello and Grinderman).

It’s C tomorrow – and I hope you’re hungry! We’re talking Glasgow’s favourite food.

45 thoughts on “Gallus Glasgow B: the Barrowland

  1. clicksclan April 4, 2015 / 07:25

    I’ve been in Scotland for fifteen years now and I’ve never been there. When I was at school my friends used to swap the pirate DVDs they’d picked up there hehe. I think that’s something they’ve cracked down on now.

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 4, 2015 / 09:08

      I don’t think I’ve ever actually bought something in the Barras, though my sister-in-law bought a bike there once. Not sure she ever used it though, but it was cheap enough not to matter too much.

      Like

  2. vannillarock April 3, 2015 / 06:58

    long time since I’ve been to the ‘barrows’, so was very interested in your shots.
    looking forward to a curry tomorrow- gibson street??

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 3, 2015 / 08:53

      Good guess on the first. Not Gibson Street though. I’ve used a C street for a double whammy. I don’t know how long it is since you visited Gibson Street but the Shish Mahal is now on Park Road.

      Liked by 1 person

      • vannillarock April 3, 2015 / 15:11

        I knew it had to be curry. Once went to a great Shosh Mahal in B’ham.
        Didn’t read the stuff about signing up for a list before I started this challenge- DOH! So not really playing it properly as they have closed the list!!
        Seems to be a lot of people playing along

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh April 3, 2015 / 18:27

          I’m sure you can play along without signing up – the more the merrier!

          Like

  3. Maria Kristina Maano April 3, 2015 / 04:14

    That pathway is an excellent idea! I am currently hungry so I couldn’t wait for your “C” post.

    Like

  4. Donna April 3, 2015 / 03:26

    Fun! First Avenue (featured in the movie Purple Rain) in Minneapolis has stars painted on outside of the building that contain the names of some of the bands that have played there (before getting popular enough for a larger venue).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh April 3, 2015 / 08:50

      Excellent! We have some small venues that broke big bands but they don’t do that.

      Like

  5. Sue Archer April 3, 2015 / 01:13

    Wow, that is some neon sign! It’s competing with Las Vegas. Thanks for the glimpse into the Barrowland.

    Like

      • Sue Archer April 3, 2015 / 12:50

        I’ll never forget going to Vegas and seeing that even the MacDonald’s had an M with a waterfall of flashing lights. It’s a crazy city! I prefer yours. 🙂

        Like

  6. La Sabrosona April 2, 2015 / 23:22

    Hi Anabel, coming over from A to Z Challenge. I love your theme. Today I wrote about why Canadians are NOT boring. I’m Canadian. Enjoy C-Z.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 2, 2015 / 23:56

      Hi and thanks! I love Canada, we’ve had some great vacations there. It’s bedtime here now so I’ll check your blog out tomorrow.

      Liked by 1 person

      • La Sabrosona April 2, 2015 / 23:58

        You’re welcome to visit my blog anytime. Thanks for the reply. Buenas noches.

        Like

  7. Birgit April 2, 2015 / 22:41

    What a neat spot to have fun in. What kind of music do they play there? This lady knew what she was doing and good for her!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 2, 2015 / 22:47

      Mainly rock. It’s like a big dark cavern inside. Very atmospheric!

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

