Gallus Glasgow C: Curry

Some years ago, my husband visited Delhi on business. He was invited to his host’s home for dinner, and when the forthcoming dessert was described John said “That sounds like gulab jamun.” Astonishment! How could he possibly know that? Well, he had eaten it in restaurants at home – again, this caused surprise. We had Indian restaurants in Glasgow? How many – maybe three? “Sometimes three per street” came the reply. And here is the proof – I give you C for Curry, but also C for Candleriggs* with its three Indian restaurants, Dahkin, Dhabba and KoolBa. (Some of the delicious food from Koolba is illustrated above.) And if you turn the corner onto Trongate, there’s another C right there: Charcoals.

You can’t beat a Glasgow curry – don’t visit without trying one! That wouldn’t be gallus.

*Candleriggs was historically the area of the old city of Glasgow where candle-makers plied their trade.

Tomorrow we have a double D. I’m not talking lingerie or Donald Duck, but one of those is half way there….

59 thoughts on “Gallus Glasgow C: Curry

  1. paulaacton April 3, 2015 / 12:20

    I prefer cannelloni to curry but Glasgow in one of the more realistic places I want to visit 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh April 3, 2015 / 18:04

      I like cannelloni too but curry is my favourite! Hope you make it to Glasgow some day.

      Like

  2. Christy@SweetandSavoring April 3, 2015 / 13:19

    The curry I had in England was amazing! I wonder how it tasted in compared in Delhi compared to what your husband was used to from home?

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 3, 2015 / 18:20

      He thought they were quite similar in standard which makes me think Glasgow curries must be quite authentic.

      Like

  3. njmagas April 3, 2015 / 14:21

    There’s a wonderful Indian curry restaurant here called “Chanders.” We got there after work on special occasions because it’s expensive, but oh, so worth it. Curry is pretty popular in Japan. Interestingly, it was introduced here by European sailors. The standard curry here now is made with roux, but there are lots of Indian, Nepalese and Thai curry restaurants in Kyoto. For the record, though, avoid getting Thai curry in your eye if at all possible.
    https://njmagas.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alex Hurst April 3, 2015 / 15:02

      What she said. 😛 The curry in the eye episode was not fun at all… I felt so sorry for her! (I think the staff did, too..!)

      Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh April 3, 2015 / 18:22

      That’s interesting, I wouldn’t have expected curry to be popular in Japan somehow. Getting curry in your eye would not be good – I’ve chopped chillis then rubbed my eyes absentmindedly – ouch!

      Like

      • njmagas April 4, 2015 / 00:43

        It was such a fluke! A piece of chicken dropped from my spoon into the watery curry and PLOP! Instant agony.

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh April 4, 2015 / 08:51

          Worst we’ve had was damage to the waiter, not us (and not our fault!) She burned her hand on hot oil and had to be taken off to hospital.

          Like

          • njmagas April 4, 2015 / 16:36

            Wow! O_O; I don’t want to ever imagine that kind of pain.

            Like

  4. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor April 3, 2015 / 14:27

    We lived in Glasgow for years and one of the things I loved the most there was the curry! Have you ever been to Mother India Cafe? They do tapas style (lots of small plates). One of my all time favorite restaurants.

    Like

  5. clicksclan April 3, 2015 / 14:41

    I’m not a huge fan of curries but I do love all the Chinese restaurants in Glasgow. Just last week we discovered the little Chinese all you can eat buffet place just to the right of one of the exits from Glasgow Central Station.

    It looked tiny from the outside (and it wasn’t really huge on the inside) but the food was lovely. I shall have to try out one of the Indian restaurants at some point because I’m sure I’ll find something there I’ll enjoy. 🙂

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 3, 2015 / 18:25

      Yes, there are some great Chinese restaurants too, though I don’t know that one. I have a new one on my list to try, Chop Chop – there’s one in Edinburgh apparently, and now they’ve opened up in Glasgow.

      Like

  6. vannillarock April 3, 2015 / 15:27

    Good to have some recommendations. Anabel.
    I love puzzles! Is it that famous polital Scott Donald Dewer? I can wait till tomorrow 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 3, 2015 / 22:12

      I’m still in a place where I’m having trouble opening your blog. Home tomorrow! However, I did see the cactus with the bird. Was that in the Botanic Garden at Phoenix? I remember going there to see some amazing cacti.

      Liked by 1 person

      • vannillarock April 3, 2015 / 22:35

        Not sure where it was taken. We go to desert botanical a lot as we are season ticket holders but when the saguaro are in bloom they are everywhere.
        Note to self I really must change the theme!

        Like

  7. Nadine April 3, 2015 / 16:34

    I love curry! When I visited Ireland many years ago, I was astounded at the number of Indian restaurants in Dublin. I’m always up for Indian food.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 3, 2015 / 18:31

      We always look for curry every where we go and usually prefer Glasgow’s. Partly, but not wholly, bias.

      Like

  8. booksyalove April 3, 2015 / 17:26

    So many wonderful things to add to my list for that longed-for trip to Glasgow! Curry sounds so yummy.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 3, 2015 / 18:32

      Start mild if you’re not used to it! My first Glasgow curry brought tears to my eyes.

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 3, 2015 / 22:26

      Just can’t get your blog to open up tonight! Home tomorrow when normal internet service should be resumed.

      >

      Like

  9. Jenny RightSide April 3, 2015 / 21:18

    I prefer Thai curries over Indian curries, but have had some great curries in the UK. It has a long and popular history there! Apparently there are rumours that Worcestershire Sauce (which I love) was originally a failed attempt at a curry!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 3, 2015 / 21:43

      Really! I don’t eat Worcester Sauce because it has anchovies and I’m a veggie, but I didn’t know that. It’s definitely plausible. I like Thai curries too, but prefer Indian.

      Like

      • Jenny RightSide April 3, 2015 / 22:05

        Wow! I had to just now run to my fridge and check. I had NO IDEA Worcestershire had anchovies!! I’m not a veggie, so it’s okay, but I didn’t even know. My husband refuses to eat seafood but he loves Worcestershire. Do you think I should tell him? Hahaha.

        Like

  10. Birgit April 3, 2015 / 23:07

    OK you made me hungry! It’s so cool to visit a place and get Indian food in a place I never thought one would get..there..um…ok I am stretching this sentence but you know what I mean:) I like that the street was for candle making businesses before.

    Like

  11. Sabina April 4, 2015 / 00:47

    I LOVE Indian food, and even though I haven’t been to Scotland I’ve had the Indian food in London–so good!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 4, 2015 / 08:52

      Ah, but Glasgow curries are much better! And much bigger too, which is not necessarily good for the waistline.

      Like

      • Sabina April 4, 2015 / 14:00

        If I ever end up in Glasgow, I’ll be sure to have some curry 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Sue Archer April 4, 2015 / 02:36

    Nice teaser on D! I especially enjoy Thai curry, although I am too wimpy to eat the really spicy stuff. 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 4, 2015 / 08:55

      I like the hot ones, but not too hot – my tolerance is decreasing as I get older. Not so much the taste buds, but the heartburn later!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sue Archer April 4, 2015 / 12:54

        Yikes, heartburn. No, that is not fun at all! I’ve been building up my tolerance since I grew up without spicy foods.

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Donna April 4, 2015 / 04:11

    I love curries but I’m more familiar with Thai food than Indian. Minneapolis doesn’t have very many Indian restaurants and the ones we have tend to be expensive. We have quite a few East African restaurants (about 1/3 of Somali immigrants to the US live in Minnesota) and Thai or Vietnam restaurants ( we rank 2nd in states as far as the number of Hmong immigrants). At least in Minneapolis, the people living here from India usually came here for grad school and stayed.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 4, 2015 / 09:02

      Yes, a lot depends on immigration patterns. We’ve noticed in the States Indian restaurants can be considered “special” and therefore expensive and glammed up. Curry is still a relatively cheap option here.

      Like

  14. Danielle L Zecher April 4, 2015 / 04:21

    That food looks delicious! I love Indian food, and I love finding foods you don’t expect to see somewhere.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 4, 2015 / 09:03

      It is! Koolba (in the pictures) is slightly different in that they do Indian and Persian food.

      Like

  15. johnmarkmiller April 4, 2015 / 05:08

    While in China I spilled yellow curry all over my white pants. The pants went into the trash, and I’ve hated curry ever since! But you’ve made it sound wonderful…maybe I’ll give it another chance…

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 4, 2015 / 09:05

      Aargh! But you can’t totally blame the curry – though I agree it’s impossible to get out.

      Like

  16. Marion Ueckermann April 4, 2015 / 15:59

    Who would have thought that curry would be such a popular dish in Scotland? Can’t blame them though – I love curry!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 4, 2015 / 17:33

      Some restaurants have even been going since the 1960s

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 4, 2015 / 21:27

      Thank you! And I have just been over to visit you too.

      Like

  17. Lori L MacLaughlin April 7, 2015 / 13:49

    I’ve never tried curry. I should do that. It’s always interesting to try new foods. I’m surprised there are so many Indian restaurants in Glasgow.

    Like

  18. Cheryl Wright April 8, 2015 / 16:46

    I have never had curry, although I have heard of it. I don’t know if I’d try it as the name doesn’t scream “yummy” to me…lol

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 8, 2015 / 16:48

      Curry’s a very generic name and covers many dishes – I’m sure you’d find one to suit you!

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

