Gallus Glasgow F: the Fossil Grove

Fossil Grove
Fossil Grove

The Fossil Grove is Glasgow’s most ancient attraction. Tucked away in a corner of Victoria Park, and only open for viewing in the summer, the fossilised tree stumps were discovered in 1887 when an old quarry was being landscaped to create the park. They are the remains of an ancient forest which is around 330 million years old – twice as old as the dinosaurs!

The park, in the west of the city, is one of Glasgow’s prettiest, especially in springtime.  That’s a pure gallus swan, that is.

Tomorrow, we visit an area of the city centre with hills on every side.

 

56 thoughts on “Gallus Glasgow F: the Fossil Grove

  1. Heyjude April 7, 2015 / 10:53

    Hmm.. the fossilised trees are in a pretty grim building. I’d like to see them in a more natural setting.

    Like

  2. Anabel Marsh April 7, 2015 / 11:01

    Well, they have to be protected but I agree more could be made of them. They are tucked away in a corner of the park and many people don’t know about them. It’s possible the walls have had a lick of paint over the winter, but I can’t confirm that. I did go to take my own photo before I wrote this, but I didn’t realise they weren’t open yet (librarian fail – I should have checked! But to be fair, the website isn’t very helpful anyway.)

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 7, 2015 / 13:28

      It’s amazing to think about! I’d love to touch them, but you’re not allowed of course.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lori L MacLaughlin April 7, 2015 / 13:23

    Lovely gardens! It’s too bad the fossilized trees couldn’t be a more natural part of the park. I could envision them in an indoor garden with a glass roof. It’s amazing how old they are.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 7, 2015 / 13:30

      That would be lovely – but would involve the council spending money on something that’s not a shopping mall. I have a thing about this as you might have noticed!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarah Ferguson April 7, 2015 / 14:36

    How cool – a petrified forest in the city! I’ve only ever seen them in very rural places. I didn’t even know there were any near cities, let alone in a city!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 7, 2015 / 14:45

      I’ve seen one in Virginia, but it mainly looked like logs on the ground whereas these are still in place as trees. As many commenters have noted, it’s a pity they aren’t displayed more attractively.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah Ferguson April 7, 2015 / 15:33

        I agree on the display – I would think something like this could be very popular, if displayed correctly. Then again, if it becomes popular, it might not be as much fun to visit…

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Christy@SweetandSavoring April 7, 2015 / 14:40

    I just love reading all these little snippets of a city I knew almost nothing about before! What a cool attraction- anything fossilized is instantly so intriguing. And what a pretty park 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 7, 2015 / 14:46

      Thank you! Glasgow used to have a bad reputation which it’s long outgrown, but some people still believe it. My aim is to tell as many as possible how great it is!

      Like

  6. johnmarkmiller April 7, 2015 / 15:16

    Now this is one of the most interesting sites so far…just to think how ancient these trees are!

    Like

  7. jazzfeathers April 7, 2015 / 15:59

    When I come in touch with something this old… I don’t know… it’s always a strange, but positive sensation 🙂

    Like

  8. Stephanie Rose Bird April 7, 2015 / 16:24

    I love fossils. This site is wonderful! Thanks so much for bringing it to my attention. I was completely unfamiliar with it. I’ll be back for more.

    Like

  9. KaTy Did April 7, 2015 / 17:34

    I would love to go there and just sit in the same place as them. Beautiful!

    Like

  10. Birgit April 7, 2015 / 17:56

    This is so cool to see these trees and realize they are that old! Looks like a lovely park

    Like

  11. Silvia Writes April 7, 2015 / 18:27

    So much beauty in one place. Thank you for sharing, Anabel. I sure know where to go, if I ever find myself in your part of the world.

    Like

  12. restlessjo April 7, 2015 / 19:27

    Quite amazing! 🙂 Glasgow’s definitely an interesting place, Anabel.

    Like

  13. datatater April 7, 2015 / 19:57

    What an interesting blog! Great little bits of info about great places! Thanks for sharing them with us.

    Like

  14. legreene515 April 7, 2015 / 20:17

    I’m A to Z blogging, and I have loved all the travel blogs. I have increased my list of places to visit three-fold. I would love to go see this petrified forest. Simply amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Donna April 7, 2015 / 20:17

    Lovely gardens…I saw dino tracks on vacation and thought they were old! The tracks, like the fossilized tree trunks, are in a protected building. It makes sense for preservation purposes.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 7, 2015 / 21:06

      I think we went near some dinosaur tracks in Arizona, but didn’t have time to stop. The works is an incredible place!

      Like

  16. Nadine April 7, 2015 / 21:55

    That looks cool! I’m really enjoying your blog this month.

    Like

  17. Liz Young April 7, 2015 / 22:21

    That is fascinating. I saw fossilised trees in Australia too. At least they’re not being burned as coal.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 8, 2015 / 07:33

      Thanks, I’ll tell my photographer! Anything half-decent is taken by my husband. He got some great swan pictures in the Lake District last week which will probably appear eventually if I’m not blogged out after this.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Sue Archer April 8, 2015 / 01:14

    An ancient forest! That’s wonderful. It needs a more beautiful housing, though!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 8, 2015 / 16:52

      It only takes a short time – plenty of opportunity to see the rest of Glasgow!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh April 8, 2015 / 22:40

      Thank you, Glasgow is noted for its numerous, and beautiful parks.

      Like

  19. Maria Kristina Maano April 9, 2015 / 03:55

    Ha! I really regret not being able to see more of Glasgow. But I think one week there specifically for a conference isn’t ideal. I definitely have to go back! I would have loved to visit this place.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 9, 2015 / 07:47

      Yes, conferences don’t leave much time for sight-seeing. Come back!

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 9, 2015 / 17:06

      The flower beds are always beautifully tended – it’s one of our prettiest parks.

      Like

  20. vannillarock April 14, 2015 / 16:45

    love this, especially as a scottish friend told me about it very recently. i had been raving about the petrified forest on the I40 (was route 66) in arizona and she said glasgow had its very own! i agree they could have make more of it!!
    my husband’s throw away comment to this..’I’ve heard of Possil park…’ LOL

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 14, 2015 / 16:52

      Possil will not be coming up in P! Though there is a nice walk round Possil Loch which I did consider.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

