Gallus Glasgow H: the Horse Shoe

Glasgow has its fair share of shiny metropolitan bars, boring chain-pubs and total dives, but it also has a lot of “real” pubs with interesting history behind them. One such is the Horse Shoe Bar in Drury Street, founded (as you can see above) in 1884. Its (surprise) horseshoe-shaped Victorian bar is supposedly the longest in Europe at 104 feet 3 inches.

Immediately opposite is some more recent history – Yesbar only opened in 2011 when it was known as Vespbar (the decor features a Vespa scooter), but it changed its name during the Independence Referendum last year and decided to stick with it. You can still see the original name on the canopy.

Here are a few more City Centre pubs: Sloan’s (1797), the Scotia Bar (1792) and Babbity Bowster (1985, but in a building dating from 1790).

Finally, let’s move out of the City Centre to the West End where I live. The Curler’s Rest on Byres Road is one of my “locals”.  There is said to have been a tavern here since the seventeenth century, when this would have been a rural area (with cow byres) instead of a busy city street. The present building is “only” 18th century, takes its current name from a nineteenth century curling pond and, after several refurbishments, has a pleasing interior which combines the traditional with the 21st century. The rest of the street has built up around it over the centuries.

For more on Glasgow pubs, see WOW24/7’s 12 of the best “proper” pubs in Glasgow and 10 more of Glasgow’s best “proper” pubs. It’s pretty gallus to hang out in any of them.

What’s next for the letter I? Are you football crazy?

44 thoughts on “Gallus Glasgow H: the Horse Shoe

  1. Heyjude April 9, 2015 / 13:45

    The only time I frequent a pub these days is for a meal. There are a LOT of pubs here though that still have the authentic atmosphere. I think the days of ‘the local’ have ended though.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 9, 2015 / 17:03

      I still use them to meet people before going on somewhere else but, yes, my days of spending a whole evening in a pub are long gone! Especially if I can’t get a seat…..

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heyjude April 9, 2015 / 18:17

        I stopped enjoying pubs when it became too noisy to enjoy a conversation! Fortunately there are still some that have resisted Sky sports and slot machines.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Nadine April 9, 2015 / 14:23

    Love the name change to Yesbar! Very clever. Like HeyJude, I enjoy eating at pubs. The atmosphere is comfortable and casual, and people tend to be very friendly.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 9, 2015 / 17:04

      That’s true here too. And Yesbar is quite the stroke of genius!

      Like

  3. Maria Kristina Maano April 9, 2015 / 18:21

    I challenged myself if I could recognize the street but I couldn’t!

    Thanks for your recommendation on my entry for letter “G”.

    Like

  4. Su-sieee! Mac April 9, 2015 / 18:40

    I live in California and the pubs (versus bars) are few. Though more seem to be popping up in the last few years with the growing popularity of craft beer. I love the idea of sitting in a pub that’s been around for more that 100 years.
    Take 25 to Hollister

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 9, 2015 / 19:42

      Yes, I’ve noticed lots of craft beers on our American travels. Thanks for visiting!

      Like

  5. jazzfeathers April 9, 2015 / 20:51

    I’m not a drinker, but I love pubs for the atmosphere soem of them have. In Dublin, I’ve been in some very nice pubs with a lot of personality 😉 The old ones are the best.

    Like

  6. KaTy Did April 9, 2015 / 22:02

    Been to England a few times and just loved the gathering of people at Pubs. I never had a problem with crowds, but that was years ago. I don’t remember ever seeing a tv in one. Said when I think about that concept, because I like meeting people and the tv is a distraction.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 9, 2015 / 23:16

      There are some which have big screens for football matches etc, but yo learn which ones to avoid!

      Like

  7. Eli April 9, 2015 / 22:56

    Oh, – great theme. Have visited Glasgow and would like to go again- so up for some tips:-)

    Like

  8. Zalka Csenge April 10, 2015 / 00:16

    What I am getting from this is: Someone goes around measuring how long European pubs are… 😀

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary – Epics from A to Z
    MopDog – 26 Ways to Die in Medieval Hungary

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 10, 2015 / 07:40

      Ha ha – I’m not sure exactly how they know! I’ve never seen anyone measuring a bar.

      Like

  9. njmagas April 10, 2015 / 01:28

    I’m not a huge drinker, but I must say that I enjoy the atmosphere of a good pub. 🙂 These ones all look lovely. Despite my first statement, however, I am nursing a bit of a hang over this morning, and my comments are a bit stunted because of it. 😛

    Like

  10. Birgit April 10, 2015 / 02:16

    I love how old these pubs are and there must be a real feel in these places. We actually have an old pub called The Mansion House which is from around 1812. It gets quite a few folk in there on the weekends although I have not been in there in years. I get too tired now-lol

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 10, 2015 / 07:46

      Me too – more than an hour in a pub and my head is spinning. And not with the drink! Just the noise, if it’s busy, and having to shout to be heard.

      Like

      • Birgit April 10, 2015 / 18:41

        Oh yes I hate the noise and not being able to talk. The last time I went to one with my hubby, he was wise enough to bring ear plugs

        Like

  11. Donna April 10, 2015 / 03:45

    I love that the pub kept the name Yesbar after the referendum failed to pass, but I much prefer the old pubs with history. We do have one place in Minneapolis that reminds me of the pubs in London. They are very much a neighborhood hangout but also have a wide range of events (Fridays are kilt knight and Celtic music, Wednesday and Sunday are pub quiz) that bring in people from all over the Metro later in the evening. Glasgow seems so wonderful!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 10, 2015 / 07:56

      Well, I am of course totally biased, but Glasgow is wonderful!

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 10, 2015 / 07:58

      The woman who owns it obviously felt really strongly.

      Like

  12. clarabellerant April 10, 2015 / 08:01

    I love the history and I would totally go to the Curler’s Rest.

    You can find me here:
    ClarabelleRant

    Like

  13. dormousetidings April 10, 2015 / 10:16

    Now you’re talking; I love a good pub! Btw, I am thoroughly enjoying your show and tell of Glasgow!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 10, 2015 / 10:38

      Thank you! I’m really hoping it will stick in people’s minds and they will not overlook Glasgow if they visit Scotland.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Alex Hurst April 11, 2015 / 14:18

    I don’t drink, but I would totally visit that Horseshoe Pub in a heartbeat. It’s quite charming looking. 🙂

    Like

  15. Sue Archer April 11, 2015 / 21:35

    I’m not a drinker, but I like the environment of a good pub. I wish we had more of that here rather than having to choose between a restaurant or a bar.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 11, 2015 / 21:51

      There’s certainly a lot of (good) atmosphere in the ones I’ve highlighted. Others, I would avoid like the plague….

      Liked by 1 person

  16. restlessjo April 11, 2015 / 21:59

    I’m still a pub kind of lass when I get the chance. I rarely go on evenings, but we do have a friend who runs a pub in Durham. The atmosphere is really nice. 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 11, 2015 / 22:07

      I enjoy the Curlers the most (the last one on my post). It’s very cosy inside.

      Like

  17. Candia October 13, 2016 / 16:51

    Whit aboot ‘The Ubiquitous Chip’? I remember going for a meal there with some Uny pals in 1977 and we took a wee lassie who worked in The Co-op and who was a bit of a rough diamond, but, we felt, needed to be included . Oh, the embarrassment when she asked if she could have a doggy bag to put the fish heids in for her faither’s ferrets!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 13, 2016 / 17:01

      Ah the good old Chip! Going there next week so I hope no-one needs the fish-heads for their ferrets.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

