Gallus Glasgow I: Ibrox

Ibrox Stadium

Ibrox is the obvious “I” for Glasgow, but I confess I have never been there – well, I’ve been to the area but not inside the stadium. My interest in football (soccer) is less than zero, and this is the home of Rangers, one of Glasgow’s three professional clubs. Together with Celtic, it makes up the Old Firm and the rivalry between them is deep. It’s not just sport – it spills over with a minority of fans into sectarianism: originally, Rangers (founded 1872) attracted Protestant Scots while Celtic (1887) represented Catholic Irish immigrants. For some, this division is still important and has been known to result in violence at Old Firm matches – which don’t happen very often these days because the teams are in different leagues (a long story which I don’t pretend to understand). There’s nothing gallus about violence.

If someone asks you which Glasgow football team you support, the wisest answer is probably Partick Thistle.

J tomorrow, and I’ll take you to my old workplace.

23 thoughts on “Gallus Glasgow I: Ibrox

  1. Zalka Csenge April 10, 2015 / 14:50

    From my experiences with soccer, giving people the wrong answer can have some serious consequences… 😀

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary – Epics from A to Z
    MopDog – 26 Ways to Die in Medieval Hungary

    Like

  2. Nadine April 10, 2015 / 15:24

    That’s a cool building! When I was younger I loved watching all kinds of sports, but I’ve totally lost interest.

    Like

  3. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor April 10, 2015 / 17:24

    One of the first things I learned about when we moved to Glasgow is how seriously folks take their clubs. I’ve seen some interesting and very heated discussions between Celtic and Ranger supporters 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 10, 2015 / 17:41

      Which is why Partick Thistle is the neutral option! It all took me by surprise too when we moved here.

      Like

  4. Birgit April 10, 2015 / 18:40

    I thought it was a factory maybe converted into a mall:) I have no interest in sports overall so we are in like thinking. What is funny, sad is I have a book about 501 disasters (ok I like reading about this) and there was a sports section-most of the disasters happened during football (soccer) games

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 10, 2015 / 19:28

      Indeed, Ibrox had a disaster in the 70s. I thought about mentioning it then decided not to be too depressing.

      Like

  5. Heyjude April 10, 2015 / 18:52

    Cool building though I have no interest in football either.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 10, 2015 / 19:29

      Totally boring. I have been to one match in my life.

      Like

      • Heyjude April 10, 2015 / 20:33

        Ha, that’s one more than me! But then I come from a rugby city, and confess I do like watching rugby matches sometimes (not live though – can’t abide crowds).

        Liked by 1 person

  6. jazzfeathers April 10, 2015 / 20:55

    The world of soccer supporters is really a world of its own… and often, it isn’t nice.

    Like

  7. Donna April 11, 2015 / 04:20

    Well since I’m in America we have to deal with American Football far in the lead… Then (I just had to look it up) Baseball is actually 2nd. Then basketball, hockey, college sports (football and basketball) and then pro soccer (football in the rest of the world). Minneapolis just got a pro soccer franchise and we are building a stadium… we are also building a new football stadium and that gets much more attention.

    But nothing in America comes anything near the rivalries, passion, violence of other countries in relation to their local soccer team.

    My husband is obsessed with baseball so I do go to one game every year with him at Target Field (he has lots of baseball friends to go to other games with) where I usually spend most of my time playing with various camera apps on my phone and then I walk around and scope out all the different options for overpriced food.

    All in all stadiums of every type are usually quite ugly.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 11, 2015 / 09:19

      It seems nobody commenting is that keen on sport! I managed to be out of the country for both the 2012 Olympics and last year’s Commonwealth Games and many people thought I was very strange. I just can’t imagine getting worked up enough about anything to become violent. Through religion into the mix, as here, and it can become very poisonous.

      Like

  8. Sue Archer April 11, 2015 / 21:32

    That design is visually striking, too bad it’s only being used for a sports stadium! LOL. (I confess that I am not a sports fan in general – I don’t understand how people can get so worked up over something that is just a game.) 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 11, 2015 / 21:50

      Somehow all the bloggers I am in contact with also seem to be non-sports fans! Like finds like.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. clicksclan April 12, 2015 / 10:22

    Like you, I’ve never been inside the football stadium, though I’ve been in the area. I think it looks nice from the outside though.

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 12, 2015 / 10:24

      Yes – and I’m happy to keep my knowledge restricted to the outside!

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

