Gallus Glasgow O: Oran Mor

Another converted church – this time the former Kelvinside Parish Church. (One of our friends refuses to step into it, because it’s where he went to Sunday School.) Òran Mór is Gaelic for great melody of life or big song, which sums up its current role as a centre for arts and entertainment. It’s also a pub and a restaurant and, as our nearest music venue, is somewhere we visit quite a lot. Here’s Joan as Policewoman for example:

Another speciality is A Play a Pie and a Pint – a fabulous lunchtime theatre series which I visit with friends about once a month, followed by coffee and people-watching in the bar. It celebrated its tenth anniversary last year – long may it continue!

We’re still on stage tomorrow with the letter P.

34 thoughts on “Gallus Glasgow O: Oran Mor

  1. Nadine Feldman (@Nadine_Feldman) April 17, 2015 / 14:53

    Fun! We have a few photos of converted churches in Edinburgh. It’s great to repurpose the buildings into something else rather than tearing them down.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 17, 2015 / 15:44

      There are many, many converted churches in Glasgow. Some bars, some apartments etc.

      Like

  2. Silvia Writes April 17, 2015 / 18:27

    Such beautiful place. I knew someone who bough an old church here in the mountains and converted it into a cabin. I’d wondered if he felt a bit weird spending time in it, but I don’t think so. Great expression – Oran Mor.

    Like

  3. jazzfeathers April 17, 2015 / 21:04

    Sounds amazing. when I wisit Glangow, I want to go.
    And that name… it’s just fabulous!

    Like

  4. Christy@SweetandSavoring April 17, 2015 / 23:36

    I love the meaning of Oran Mor! Sometimes English feels like such a boring language, because we don’t have any beautiful phrases like that
    And what a striking building!

    Like

  5. cleemckenzie April 18, 2015 / 00:23

    That sounds like a great way to enjoy an afternoon. Love the old church and it’s re new purpose.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2015 / 07:33

      And by coincidence, yesterday was one of my Play, Pie and. Pint days.

      Like

  6. vannillarock April 18, 2015 / 00:28

    Our west end flat is so close and we have never been!

    Like

  7. Birgit April 18, 2015 / 03:09

    Glad it is there and not torn down like it would be here. They have found a way to use the church. I love that blue halo around the steeple-Is that a neon sign thingy?

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2015 / 07:44

      Yes, it’s a neon circle round the steeple. I was in there yesterday, and looking round I wished I’d had some photographs of the interior to post. It’s too busy to take photos without annoying people though.

      Like

  8. Donna April 18, 2015 / 05:08

    Oh, how fun! I love visiting old churches, the architecture is usually amazing. Music is a wonderfull choice for a converted church, the acoustics are probably spectacular.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2015 / 07:51

      In this case, the actual church bit is the bar – it is gorgeous, as I commented to Birgit’s above I wish I had pictures of it but I don’t like taking photos in a busy pub. The music is either downstairs (which I think is where the Sunday School was) or in a wonderful auditorium at the top. When I arrived in Glasgow it was no longer a church, it was a bible college. That later moved to a newer building which has just been demolished! I’m glad this is one old building we’ve managed to retain.

      Like

  9. Rhonda Albom April 18, 2015 / 06:05

    Nice photos. I really like the look of that purple ring of light. Cool use for a converted church.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2015 / 07:53

      Yes, it’s a really spectacular sight at night. When we walk there, it’s at the end of a long road so we can see our destination beckoning.

      Like

  10. clarabellerant April 18, 2015 / 06:05

    I love the purple ring around the steeple! It sounds like a fantastic place and blessed with good vibes (I hope!) from being filled with prayers as a church.

    You can find me here:
    ClarabelleRant

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2015 / 07:53

      It certainly buzzes with good vibes, whatever the source!

      Like

  11. Alex Hurst April 18, 2015 / 15:00

    Love the little halo, as others have noted. A nice touch to the whole feeling of the building.

    Like

  12. Sue Archer April 19, 2015 / 00:56

    Like others, I was immediately drawn to the purple ring. I was actually thinking of it as a halo since it was on a church. 🙂 I’ve never seen anything like it!

    Like

      • Sue Archer April 19, 2015 / 01:04

        We have a church here made of white stone that has a golden-looking statue of Gabriel with his horn perched at the top of the building. It’s really something.

        Like

  13. clicksclan April 19, 2015 / 14:13

    My husband plays the trumpet and he loves converted churches because of the acoustics. I bet this would be a lovely place to see a performance in. 🙂

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 19, 2015 / 14:21

      Best acoustics I know are in Kelvingrove. Been to a couple of concerts there and the music soars.

      Like

  14. Jemima Pett April 21, 2015 / 12:14

    Sometimes I really think I should get out more… and preferably in Glasgow!

    Like

  15. Lori L MacLaughlin May 1, 2015 / 17:53

    I’ve never seen a church with a halo before. The Play, Pie, and Pint sounds wonderful. I’m really missing Scotland right now.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

