Gallus Glasgow S: Street art

In some ways, Glasgow is like the geeky kid trying to be cool here. More and more street art is popping up, but much of it is officially sanctioned, some to brighten up the city for last year’s Commonwealth Games. There’s even a City Council trail you can follow to find the major sites. Here are some I found in the City Centre – my favourite is the girl with the magnifying glass. I was so lucky to catch a woman standing underneath in just the right place. I also like the picture of the elephant with its group of living statues sitting below.

Street art is not confined to the centre. Closer to home, there are several murals in the west of the city. This scary squirrel and some transport-related murals are at Kelvinbridge Subway Station.

I suppose not strictly street art, because this time it’s inside, the refurbished Hillhead Subway Station has an Alistair Gray mural. There’s also a mural behind Hillhead Library and the adjacent Hillhead Bookclub (which is actually a bar / restaurant despite the name.)

For the final part of my street art tour, how about these spectacular murals in Maryhill? A friend calls the one on the left “the depressed panther”.

Tomorrow in T we could travel beyond the galaxy. Well, not really, don’t get too excited….

52 thoughts on “Gallus Glasgow S: Street art

  1. joylovestravel April 22, 2015 / 11:27

    Fabulous – the panther especially looks like it’s leaping out of the wall.

    Like

  2. Heyjude April 22, 2015 / 12:05

    I love street art, I loathe graffiti. I have seen some of these on Restlessjo’s blog, quite stunning! I do like the one on the university too – that’s very clever. And that panther with it’s shadow looks as if it is going to pounce! Great series Anabel 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 22, 2015 / 12:45

      Thanks Jude, yes I remember Jo’s piece. They are all very striking.

      Like

  3. helenmackinven April 22, 2015 / 12:52

    My favourite post yet! As you know Anabel, I’m in and out of Glasgow weekly but I haven’t seen most of the street art in your pics. I LOVE street art so I must try and source a copy of the trail.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 22, 2015 / 13:00

      Drat – I see the hyperlink is broken and no longer leads to the trail. It was on the council website so maybe they’ve taken it down now. I did read some of the work was to be removed soon, e.g. the tiger on the quayside which is basically a beer advert I think I might have printed it off, will check and let you know.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh April 22, 2015 / 17:08

      I’ve updated the link so if you click on “trail” in the first para you should find it.

      Like

  4. Celine Jeanjean April 22, 2015 / 15:15

    This is amazing! When we were in San Francisco earlier in the month, there was a ton of street art and murals. I absolutely loved it. Had no idea there was such a culture of street art in Glasgow too. I love murals like that, it feels like most democratic form of art: everyone can enjoy them and do them too.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 22, 2015 / 15:28

      I had no idea there were so many either till I went looking. And there are more that I didn’t photograph.

      Like

  5. vannillarock April 22, 2015 / 15:42

    These are AMAZING. I love street art and thought I’d seen the best in thee world in Philadelphia last year. I did a post on it. Glasgow is making its mark. Great shots/ I know how hard it is to capture very large mural and give them perspective.
    Well that’s on my list if I manage a quick trip to the city this year.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 22, 2015 / 17:09

      Thanks – there is a link in the first para to the city centre trail which was broken but I’ve now fixed.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. booksyalove April 22, 2015 / 16:10

    Another wonderful “all through the city” theme that I’ll enjoy even more when I get to visit Glasgow because I now know to be looking for all these great murals. Love the elephant & panther!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 22, 2015 / 17:27

      Stroke of luck! I didn’t even have to hang around – which is just as well, because despite the blue sky it was February and freezing.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Beth Walsh's Photoblog April 22, 2015 / 17:22

    This is wonderful. Ottawa has some street art but nothing on this scale. Love the panther, that shadow is very effective.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 22, 2015 / 17:28

      Thanks. I love the panther too – I have no idea who did that or why, but it’s great.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. cleemckenzie April 22, 2015 / 18:24

    What an eclectic street art collection this is! I loved seeing these.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 22, 2015 / 18:58

      Thank you! I’m so pleased people are liking it so much.

      Like

  9. clicksclan April 22, 2015 / 18:45

    I’ve seen the one of the girl with the magnifying glass. I like the ones you can see on the way through Partick as well. I’ll have to go out for a wander one day and see which other ones I can spot. 🙂

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 22, 2015 / 19:01

      One thing this whole theme has done for me is make me look around much more as I walk. I see art and crests everywhere now.

      Like

  10. Kern Windwraith April 22, 2015 / 19:12

    Why do I not live in Glasgow?? Obviously I’ve made some poor choices along the way. Those street art pieces are fantastic. I love the Strathclyde University one–what a huge amount of work must have gone into that.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 22, 2015 / 19:44

      Well, I might be biased but I don’t why everyone doesn’t want to live here too! Though we’d be a bit crowded….

      More from Strathclyde tomorrow.

      Like

  11. legreene515 April 22, 2015 / 19:48

    Amazing artwork. I’m always so impressed by this sort of art, and I wish we had more where I live.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 22, 2015 / 20:01

      We didn’t have much here a few years ago! It’s amazing how hosting a major sporting event can galvanise the council into action.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. clarabellerant April 22, 2015 / 20:30

    WOW! What a beautiful place you live!!! I couldn’t pick favorite, they’re all amazing.

    You can find me here:
    ClarabelleRant

    Like

  13. Paul April 23, 2015 / 01:03

    Fantastic post, I had no idea about all of these! I love the girl and the magnifying glass, that woman is so well positioned!

    Like

  14. Birgit April 23, 2015 / 02:55

    Now this is some great street art! I love the first one too with the lady walking right there-perfect shot. I love the panther which looks 3D and the Panda. The row of books is also just splendid

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 23, 2015 / 07:40

      Some very creative people about, and kudos to the council (for once) for encouraging it in ugly gap sites.

      Like

  15. dmlsexton April 23, 2015 / 05:03

    The elephant and the Panther are my favorites. Although I have to admit that I’m looking at your pictures on the small screen of my phone.

    Like

  16. Alex Hurst April 23, 2015 / 11:37

    Woah! So much street art! That’s amazing. It’s all so cool!

    Like

  17. storycraftersx2 April 25, 2015 / 03:00

    Thank you for a lovely, artistic tour! I love street art when it is so beautiful. And the depressed panther is powerful…

    Like

  18. cassam101 April 28, 2015 / 16:12

    I haven’t seen any of these. They’re amazing.

    Like

  19. Sue Archer April 29, 2015 / 02:08

    That really was the perfect time to take a picture of that girl with the magnifying glass. Quite striking! I can so see that picture being on the side of a science museum. 🙂

    Like

  20. Lori L MacLaughlin May 12, 2015 / 18:25

    Wow, love that panther! The girl with the magnifying glass is such a great shot. It was so nice of that person to stand right there for you without realizing.
    Street art is amazing. I follow another site at http://graffitiluxandmurals.com that showcases incredible street art, mostly from Canada.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

