Gallus Glasgow T: the Tardis

Hands up the Doctor Who fans! Ok, so you know about the Tardis then – an old, blue Police Box which is bigger inside than out. At one time there used to be over 300 in Glasgow, allowing officers to keep in touch with their stations and access first-aid boxes. At least one of the handful remaining is now in use as a coffee shop, though, sadly, when I looked inside the interior was just as tiny as the outside.

However, Glasgow does have a Doctor Who connection. Look at the box in the bottom right picture which, I’m sure you’ll have noticed, isn’t real. It’s part of a University of Strathclyde mural (see the previous post on Street Art for more) and is there because the University Archives hold the papers of Verity Lambert, founding producer of Doctor Who in 1963. I’m old enough to remember watching the first episode. I was six and we’d only recently got a television so I didn’t have much to compare it with, but I was entranced.

For more on the Police Boxes, see STV Glasgow’s article and the Facebook page Police Signal Box. Tardis.

U tomorrow, in which we take shelter from the rain.

55 thoughts on “Gallus Glasgow T: the Tardis

    • Anabel Marsh April 23, 2015 / 10:41

      Tom Baker was definitely my favourite. I don’t watch the current ones either, not my thing any more.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lori L MacLaughlin May 12, 2015 / 18:31

        I had no idea Sylvester McCoy was Dr. Who at one point. I know him as the wizard Radagast the Brown from Peter Jackson’s Hobbit movies. Funny.

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh May 12, 2015 / 19:23

          I don’t think he was one of the more popular ones – it was after my time so I don’t know what he was like.

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Alex Hurst April 23, 2015 / 12:05

    I have never watched Dr. Who, but the idea of a Tardis has always made me curious. Wonderful mural! And it’d be cool to see one in person.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 23, 2015 / 13:02

      It’s another thing I keep seeing now. I knew we had a couple of “tardises” still in existence but there are more than I thought. My powers of observation have increased greatly!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. VioletSky April 23, 2015 / 12:53

    I was quite excited to find one on my last visit. Sadly, no one else in my family was interested, though they kindly put up with me and watched the first episode. My cousin taught Peter Capaldi which is my two degrees of separation to the Doctor!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 23, 2015 / 13:03

      Woohoo! I don’t watch the “new” Dr Whos but I love Peter Capaldi for other things, not least Malcolm Tucker.

      Like

  3. Rosie Amber April 23, 2015 / 14:39

    Fabulous post, my husband is just reading many of the Doctor who stories in paperback, he’ll like these pictures. Dropping in from the A to Z I have given your blog a shout out from my letter T today. https://rosieamber.wordpress.com/

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 23, 2015 / 14:58

      Thank you, that’s really kind! I’ll pop over later and visit you.

      Like

  4. vannillarock April 23, 2015 / 14:49

    Really enjoyed the post- I had no idea about the Strathclyde connection.
    Wasn’t one of those old police boxes turned into a coffee outlet nest St Enoch?

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 23, 2015 / 15:01

      I’m not sure about St Enoch’s – the one in the picture being used to sell coffee is in Great Western Road at the Botanics. It’s not open all the time – that was during a festival a few months ago and it has shut up shop again now.

      Like

  5. cleemckenzie April 23, 2015 / 15:27

    I have both hands in the air. I’m such a fan, and the quirkier the episode the better. I’d be tempted to check inside those blue boxes every time I encountered one.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 23, 2015 / 16:21

      You would probably need a sonic screwdriver to get in…..apart form the one occasionally used as a coffee shop!

      Like

  6. Birgit April 23, 2015 / 17:30

    I saw these boxes on another site I visited and had no idea what they were used for so thanks for letting us know! I think that is a smart idea for back in the day. I am not a Dr. Who fan but I do remember watching it with Tom Baker and those Daleks

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 23, 2015 / 19:29

      Tom Baker was definitely the best. I loved the Daleks as s kid.

      Like

  7. jazzfeathers April 23, 2015 / 20:28

    They’re lovely. I’d love to operate a coffee inside that 🙂
    I’ve never watched Doctor Who, but a lot of people on the challenge (a lot of people in general, actually) talk a lot about it. I have to give in and watch at least a few episodes.
    I know there are episodes set in dieselpunk era (1920s-1950s), any educated suggestion? 🙂

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – Roaring TWenties

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 23, 2015 / 20:46

      I don’t watch them either! I watched the original version when I was young, but not the revived version – sorry not to be more help.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. lostforwords101 April 23, 2015 / 20:53

    I really hope I’ll have more time for everything I want to do so I could start watching Dr. Who! It seems like everybody likes this TV series.

    Like

  9. Fee April 23, 2015 / 21:33

    *raises hand* We’re all big fans in this household. My favourite used to be Tom Baker, until David Tennant came along. Another great post 🙂

    Like

  10. Elizabeth Mueller April 23, 2015 / 22:25

    T-t-TaRdIs!!!! I wonder how many people have actually walked into those things in hopes of finding the Doctor in there. Seriously,some people take things a little too far. btw, I’m sharing this on FB with my kids–they LOVE Dr. Who!

    Elizabeth Mueller
    AtoZ 2015
    My Little Pony

    Like

  11. paulaacton April 23, 2015 / 22:59

    Totally Fangirling right now, had my photo taken next to the one in Scarborough last summer might have to come to Glasgow just to get one next to this one 😀

    Like

  12. Diane Coto April 23, 2015 / 23:02

    Hi there – The boxes almost remind me of the neighborhood mini libraries I’ve seen on FB. BTW, I’m dropping in from a shout out to your blog from Rosie Amber’s blog https://rosieamber.wordpress.com/.
    @dino0726 from 
    FictionZeal – Impartial, Straighforward Fiction Book Reviews

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 23, 2015 / 23:15

      Yes, I’ve seen those too, and thanks for visiting. It was great to get the shout out.

      Like

  13. njmagas April 24, 2015 / 01:14

    *whispers softly* I have never seen Dr. Who.

    Like

  14. Kern Windwraith April 24, 2015 / 05:24

    My family was living overseas when Dr. Who first hit the screen, but my sisters used to watch it late at night when we were finally back in Canada. Unfortunately, I’m a morning person, and every single time I tried to watch with them, I’d drift off within the first fifteen minutes. It was so frustrating!

    When the newer series came along–in prime time–I was finally able to watch. Love the show. My goal is to catch up on all the old ones on Netflix.

    And my other goal is to build a Tardis. That will probably take a wee bit longer.

    Like

  15. cassam101 April 28, 2015 / 16:09

    I always thought policemen looked very mysterious when they disappeared into one of those boxes. I remember the first DrWho too and hiding behind the settee when the darkeks appeared.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 28, 2015 / 20:03

      Yes, the settee features in a lot of my memories too.

      Like

  16. Ros April 28, 2015 / 23:20

    I know where I’m going for coffee next time I’m in Glasgow!

    Like

  17. Sue Archer April 29, 2015 / 02:11

    Yay, the Tardis! I was a Tom Baker fan back in the day. I’ve watched some of the newer ones, but not recently. I thought Christopher Eccleston did a great job, and was sad to see him only do it for one season.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 29, 2015 / 07:55

      I never got into the new ones, or any of the post-Tom Baker Drs really. He was the man!

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Lori L MacLaughlin May 12, 2015 / 18:35

    I can’t believe they could fit a coffee shop in one of those boxes. They’d have to hand mine out to me. I’d be too claustrophobic to go in.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 12, 2015 / 19:24

      You can’t actually get in, only the person serving. It looks a squash even then!

      Liked by 1 person

  19. jazzytower May 12, 2015 / 21:46

    Very interesting use as a coffee shop. Wonder how they manage that. On second thought it probable works well enough. Just like the truck they use here in NYC for a hot dog stands maybe. Interesting.

    Like

  20. Su Leslie May 23, 2015 / 23:59

    I was terrified by Dr Who as a child; but watched it anyway (usually from behind the settee). In those days NZ only had one channel and I guess we would have watched anything however good, bad, or scary. Some kindly relative in Scotland sent my brother and I toy Daleks, which was precisely what made Dr Who so frightening. Don’t know what happened to them, but I’d love to have one now. Thanks for spurring my trip down memory lane 🙂

    Like

  21. Candia October 13, 2016 / 16:13

    Claim to fame?- have been kissed by Dr Who, aka Sylvester McCoy, in a purely social way, I hasten to add.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 13, 2016 / 16:32

      Ah, probably not the one I would have chosen! I see you have been having an A-Z binge…..

      Like

      • Candia October 13, 2016 / 16:40

        Followed by a Victor and Barry extravaganza!

        Like

          • Candia October 13, 2016 / 17:10

            Alan Cumming was in cabaret in Melbourne last December, when we were there, but somehow managed to miss him.

            Like

            • Anabel Marsh October 13, 2016 / 17:35

              He was at the Edinburgh Festival this year, possibly the same show, but we were away. I’ve seen him on stage twice – mesmerising.

              Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

