Gallus Glasgow U: Umbrellas

This post is not about the Glasgow weather – though it’s true that if you visit you should always remember to bring an umbrella. However, this post is about two much bigger umbrellas.

Heilanman's Umbrella
Heilanman’s Umbrella

The Hielanman’s Umbrella (Highlandman’s Umbrella) is the local nickname for the glass walled railway bridge which carries the platforms of Glasgow Central Station across Argyle Street. During the Highland Clearances in the 19th century, thousands of Highlanders came to Glasgow looking for work. As they were dispersed throughout the city, this is the place they came to keep in touch with each other.

Bridgeton Umbrella
Bridgeton Umbrella

The second umbrella is in Bridgeton in the East End. Erected in 1874, it also sheltered the unemployed and, unlike the Hielanman’s Umbrella, was actually designed to do so. I’m disappointed to find its real name is the dull “Bridgeton Cross Shelter”.

For the next couple of days, we’ll be looking at equestrian statues. Anyone else remember the song by the Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band? No? Well, it’s nothing to do with that anyway. I just thought I’d throw it in.

36 thoughts on “Gallus Glasgow U: Umbrellas

  1. jeremyh05251977 April 24, 2015 / 11:36

    Awesome shots, thank you!

    Jeremy [Retro]
    AtoZ Challenge Co-Host [2015]

    There’s no earthly way of knowing.
    Which direction we are going!

    HOLLYWOOD NUTS!
    Come Visit: You know you want to know if me or Hollywood… is Nuts?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wendy April 24, 2015 / 13:33

    Oh clever. I like how colorful the Bridgeton is.
    ~Visiting from AtoZ

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 24, 2015 / 14:08

      Thank you! I pass it at least once a week and it always cheers me up.

      Like

  3. Diane Coto April 24, 2015 / 14:25

    Hi there – Wow. Glasgow Central Station is a massive place. I love the structure.
    @dino0726 from 
    FictionZeal – Impartial, Straighforward Fiction Book Reviews

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 24, 2015 / 14:31

      We had a behind-the-scenes tour recently – it’s fascinating!

      Like

  4. Nadine Feldman (@Nadine_Feldman) April 24, 2015 / 16:21

    You took me in an unexpected direction! When we were in Scotland last fall, we had great weather, but I’m big on keeping raingear handy (I live near Seattle, so it’s mandatory). These other umbrellas, though, are a unique surprise.

    Like

  5. cleemckenzie April 24, 2015 / 18:05

    I love your pictures. When I was in Scotland I didn’t see any sunshine and in yours the sky is a lovely blue with scattered clouds. I must have been there at the wrong time of year! 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 24, 2015 / 18:08

      Oh you just have to be lucky! We can get four seasons in one day. I took a lot of photos specially for the A to Z so I picked a good day to go wandering with my camera.

      Like

  6. vannillarock April 24, 2015 / 19:50

    As you can imagine I did guess you’d be returning the highlandman’s umbrella but I don’t know the Bridgetown one( though shamefully I have probably passed it lots of times. Loved the post

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 24, 2015 / 20:14

      Thank you! Bridgeton is not far from the centre, but not somewhere I ever had cause to go until Glasgow Women’s Library moved there.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. jazzfeathers April 24, 2015 / 20:14

    These are two very different and very nice umbrellas 🙂
    But why the first oen is called like that? It doesn’t look like one at all. Is it only because people sheltered under it?

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – Roaring Twenties

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 24, 2015 / 20:54

      That might not go down terribly well in Bridgeton! But it’s a lovely name.

      Like

  8. johnmarkmiller April 24, 2015 / 22:36

    This umbrella isn’t what I had in mind when I saw your title, but what a pleasant surprise… it’s a beautiful little spot!

    Like

  9. Birgit April 25, 2015 / 00:45

    The architecture is so neat. I wish I could come up with grander words but…oh well, a writer I’m not. Anyhoo, I love the gothic look (neo-gothic) of those windows and the little pagoda is so nicely painted. It reminds me of Gingerbread houses

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 25, 2015 / 07:54

      Thank you, the first time I saw the Bridgeton Umbrella I was quite surprised as there’s nothing else quite like it roundabout.

      Like

  10. storycraftersx2 April 25, 2015 / 02:58

    Fun photos and great information. Visiting from A to Z and I’m glad I stumbled onto your blog. I remember Scotland fondly… -what a treat!! Jeri from storytellingmatters.wordpress.com — already read the Tardis one… 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 25, 2015 / 07:55

      Thanks for visiting! Glad you have fond memories of Scotland.

      Like

  11. clarabellerant April 25, 2015 / 05:50

    Beautiful photos! I’m torn on the Bridgeton Umbrella. It’s great they built a shelter for the unemployed, but it doesn’t look like it shelters much 😉

    You can find me here:
    ClarabelleRant

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 25, 2015 / 08:00

      No, you wouldn’t get that many people under it. These days it’s purely ornamental. The people in the picture are on one of our women’s heritage walking tours.

      Like

  12. lostforwords101 April 25, 2015 / 07:28

    The Glasgow Central Station is the place I would recognize the most in Glasgow! 😀 Thanks for sharing a photo from there. Good memories. I like the interior of that station.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 25, 2015 / 08:02

      It’s a very good design. All curved walls to keep people moving without bumping into each other.

      Like

  13. Alex Hurst April 25, 2015 / 11:59

    Interesting… Are they legitimately called “umbrellas” over there, or is that just the nickname? Shopping Arcade would be the first one for me, and then Pagoda for the second.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 25, 2015 / 12:56

      It’s what they’re known as, but it their official name. Pagoda would normally be on a whisky distillery!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh April 26, 2015 / 09:45

      It looks better from the outside! I tend to walk very quickly through it because of the traffic fumes. The history is interesting – the clearances were a shameful episode.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. clicksclan April 26, 2015 / 11:44

    I always love the architecture of Glasgow Central. I commuted through every day when I was at University and loved being able to sit and look around at it all. It’s kind of beautiful.

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    Like

  15. Lori L MacLaughlin May 12, 2015 / 18:39

    I agree Bridgeton Cross Shelter is a much more boring name. Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band cracked me up, though. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

