A to Z reflections

A-to-Z+Reflection+[2015]+-+LgThis time last year I was celebrating completing my first A to Z Challenge. This year, I’m celebrating my second – and third: I’ve also fulfilled the 2015 challenge on my library blog. So my first reflection is that I’m not sure I’d do two at once again! Alternate years, maybe.

Thinking about this blog specifically, I’m really pleased with how it went. Somewhere around T, I surpassed last April’s total page views, so I did better than last year in statistical terms. But it’s the people who make the challenge – both the blogging friends I met last year and the new ones I’ve made this month. I’ve learned a lot from all your posts – and I’ve also laughed, cried, been terrified or repulsed! Sometimes all at once.

I've awarded myself a medal. Ok, fridge magnet.
I’ve awarded myself a medal. Ok, fridge magnet.

I’m very grateful to everyone who read and commented in return, and gave such warm and positive responses to Gallus Glasgow. I hope that those who don’t know the city will now be tempted to visit, and that those who do will have found at least one or two things they didn’t know about.

Potential blog posts have been piling up since the end of March, so it’s time for a little rest, then back into action. I hope some of you will still be with me. Au revoir!

57 thoughts on “A to Z reflections

  1. Sarah Ferguson May 1, 2015 / 14:12

    I can’t even imagine doing two challenges at once – Congrats and enjoy the rest (I know I will!).

    Like

  2. Christy@SweetandSavoring May 1, 2015 / 15:37

    Congratulations on finishing the Challenge! You’ve certainly gotten me more interested in Glasgow; I’m making it a must-see when we visit my husband’s family in the UK!

    Like

  3. christinarose May 1, 2015 / 18:36

    I still can’t believe to did this challenge on both of your blogs! You have a much deserved break coming your way! Can’t wait to read your posts upon your return! 😀

    Like

  4. Birgit May 1, 2015 / 19:37

    We do deserve a break! Congrats on finishing and I love your blog and will, of course, be here

    Like

  5. tara tyler May 1, 2015 / 20:01

    i was fortunate to visit Glasgow as a teen many years ago – we got to go with my dad on a business trip and had a blast traveling around scotland
    way to make it through the challenge! we all deserve a nice respite!

    Like

  6. Alex Hurst May 2, 2015 / 05:56

    Definitely sticking around! I enjoyed your posts immensely, and you’re a wonderful blogging buddy. 🙂

    Like

  7. clicksclan May 2, 2015 / 10:07

    Well done for completing the challenge. I’m in awe of you doing it on two blogs!

    I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts about Glasgow; there are so many posts where I saw places or things around the city that are familiar to be, but plenty which taught me new things and have given me ideas for new places to go when I’m next there.

    I’ll definitely be stopping back again in the future. 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 2, 2015 / 16:33

      Thank you – delighted to have connected with you (again, if you count our possibly having met at Jordanhill!)

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Sherry Ellis May 3, 2015 / 22:26

    Glad you found the A-Z challenge to be successful! Enjoy your break.

    Like

  9. Celine Jeanjean May 4, 2015 / 02:56

    Congratulations on completing your second / third A to Z. I don’t know how you managed to do two A to Zs this month, that is nothing short of a tour de force!! I’ve really enjoyed discovering Glasgow with you, and now looking forward to what else your blog will bring for the rest of the year!

    Like

  10. dmlsexton May 4, 2015 / 03:43

    You definitely made Glasgow rise to the top of places to go to if I make it to Europe again. Traveling with MS is complicated…

    Like

  11. jazzfeathers May 4, 2015 / 08:22

    This was my first year, and I enjoyed it a lot. As you said, stats were good… but people were better! 😉

    Like

  12. annieparis May 4, 2015 / 15:42

    Hello Anabel , I came to your blog from Maria’s Connection to the world, where I saw a comment from you about Oxford, which is about 10 miles from me. Anyway I never knew Glasgow had so much to see , of course I haven’t been to find out for myself. I do love Street Art , which I came to love after seeing it in Paris and Angouleme in Charente. Interesting posts, thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 4, 2015 / 19:20

      Hi Annie, thanks for commenting and glad I have shown you some things you didn’t know about Glasgow.

      Like

  13. Kern Windwraith May 5, 2015 / 04:14

    Well, I’ll definitely be back to see what new posts you have up your sleeve, Anabel. I’ve loved reading about Glasgow, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed your writing style. Good on you for signing up both your blogs–pretty darned sure I’d never have been able to manage that!

    Enjoy your break!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 5, 2015 / 07:32

      Thank you, Kern. Hope to be back blogging soon – lots of posts building up, just need the time to write them.

      Like

  14. Eli May 5, 2015 / 18:15

    Happy to reconnect with you again Anabel – and now lets keep in touch also in between the AtoZ’s 🙂 Haha – I will at least come by again – to see what you are up to. I enjoyed learning more about Glasgow- sure tempted to visit:-) Have a good break – and keep writing:-)

    Like

  15. Rhonda Albom May 5, 2015 / 22:17

    Scotland was a bit surprise to us when we traveled, we had only planned a few days but stayed a week (or maybe more). If we weren’t leaving the UK via cruise ship I am sure we would have stayed longer. The shorter answer – yes you encouraged me to come back.

    Like

  16. johnmarkmiller May 6, 2015 / 22:08

    I agree with you on not trying to keep up with two blogs at once for this challenge… it’s for the birds! So exciting that you did even better this year than the last time around… congratulations on a job well done!

    Like

  17. Silvia Writes May 6, 2015 / 22:13

    That is great, Anabel. Two challenges, bravo. I so enjoyed coming in here and visiting your city with you. I learned a lot and had a great time in the process. Congrats on completion and a job well done.

    Like

  18. Sue Archer May 11, 2015 / 02:13

    Congrats on finishing the challenge, Anabel! Looking forward to seeing what you come up with in future posts. 🙂

    Like

  19. Fee May 11, 2015 / 23:09

    Congratulations, Anabel! You’ve done Glasgow proud 🙂

    Like

  20. jazzytower May 12, 2015 / 21:21

    I have yet to do my reflection post. I had to rest first:)

    Like

  21. Lori L MacLaughlin May 13, 2015 / 03:14

    I didn’t realize you did two A to Z blogs. That’s mind-boggling. I had a hard enough time keeping up with one. Congratulations on finishing both! I salute you!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 13, 2015 / 07:15

      Thanks Lori! I was only able to do it because I had the travel posts ready in advance and the library ones were largely cut and paste. I have heard tell of people doing the challenge with 3 or even 4 blogs!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh May 13, 2015 / 16:38

      Thanks – not signed up to the Road Trip yet, but thinking about it.

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 2, 2015 / 20:17

      Thank you for stopping by and glad you enjoyed the theme.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

