Five Photos, Five Stories: Day 1

I’ve been invited to take part in the “Five Photos, Five Stories” challenge by Jude of Travel Words. The challenge is to “post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph, and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”.

My five photos are from our recent Lake District holiday. The weather wasn’t very good so we visited a lot of houses. I’m going to take them in chronological order and ask “Who lived there?”

Sizergh Castle – who lived there?

Sizergh Castle

In Sizergh‘s case, the question should be – who lives there? The estate belonged to the Strickland family from the 13th century until 1950 when they handed it over to the National Trust, but the castle is still their home. There was a gap after 1688 when, as Catholic Royalists, the Stricklands went into exile in France with the court of James II, but other than that they have been there all the time. I find it hard to imagine what it must be like to have such a clear and continuous view of one’s family history – do you?

I always feel a little shy passing these challenges on and I’ve noticed some other people do too. I’ve spotted two ways of dealing with this recently – and I’m going to copy both! First, the open challenge to every reader. If you’d like to do 5 Photos 5 Stories  let me know in the comments and I’ll give you an “official” nomination.

Second, a shout-out to blogs that I enjoy. I’m guessing that if you’re reading this you might also be interested in other British-based travel bloggers, so I’ve selected a few of them. First up, Restless Jo. I’m including her today because she runs a regular theme, Jo’s Monday Walk. Click on the link to see where she’s taking us this week. Thanks also to Richard at A Bit of Culture whose latest post is on part of the South West Coast Path and who first alerted me to Jo’s walks by taking part in one. I recommend them both.

24 thoughts on “Five Photos, Five Stories: Day 1

  1. restlessjo May 18, 2015 / 11:23

    Thanks for the nomination, Anabel 🙂 I already have 3 for this challenge which I do mean to take part in. 🙂 It’s a case of fitting it in between the walks so it should start this Wednesday but I’m totally unprepared, and like you am wondering who might like the nominations (hardest part 🙂 ) I’ve ‘known’ Richard for the longest time and he has a great blog so it’s a pleasure to be featured alongside him.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 18, 2015 / 12:08

      Meant to avoid it being a nomination! Just giving mentions to blogs I like.

      Like

  2. Pit May 18, 2015 / 15:07

    I’ve always liked British castles and their (family) history.
    Have a great week,
    Pit

    Like

  3. Heyjude May 18, 2015 / 15:33

    To have always lived in one place must give you a real sense of belonging. Deep roots. As someone who has moved around a lot, I now wonder what it must be like to live your life in one place.

    I shall look forward to the other houses, we were lucky with the weather last year so although I had some houses earmarked for a rainy day we didn’t have to visit any. Good idea for the nomination part, always a tricky bit of a challenge 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 18, 2015 / 17:00

      I suppose I am half and half – nomadic till we moved to Glasgow (though always in the UK). I’ve even been in the same house for over 20 years now, and as my family originally came from the West of Scotland you could say I’ve gone back to my roots.

      Like

      • Heyjude May 19, 2015 / 13:29

        And would you move again? Or have you found the forever place?

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh May 19, 2015 / 14:05

          I can’t imagine living anywhere else – not permanently anyway. Though I often draw up shortlists in my head, they remain fantasies!

          Liked by 1 person

  4. clicksclan May 18, 2015 / 20:12

    My family has been into family history in the past so I have an idea of who my ancestors were, but I would love to have such a strong connection to my past as some of these people do. 🙂

    I look forward to your other stories.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 18, 2015 / 20:48

      Thank you. I have been delving into a bit of family history with my mum recently, but we can’t go anything like as far back as these people.

      Like

  5. abitofculture May 18, 2015 / 20:20

    Thanks for the mention, Anabel! I’m rubbish at this sort of thing, but will have a think. I love the Lake District – does it ever not rain up there though?!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 18, 2015 / 20:50

      No necessity! Trying just to give out mentions without adding the obligation. We did have one completely dry day in the Lakes. It will appear on here eventually, but most posts will be dreich. Still beautiful though….

      Like

  6. Celine Jeanjean May 19, 2015 / 00:53

    It would definitely be cool to have a direct line to your ancestry like that — but I have to ask, when you say it’s still their home, do people actually live in there then? Because that must be quite something! (It must be a nightmare to heat!)

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 19, 2015 / 07:34

      Yes, members of the family still live there – but I think they have an apartment in an area not open to the public.

      Like

      • Celine Jeanjean May 20, 2015 / 04:15

        That’s really cool — I didn’t think anybody would live in this kind of place these days. I’d love to see how the inside of the apartment looks!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Birgit May 19, 2015 / 02:05

    That is a long history for one family to be in one house or..er…castle. It looks in great condition and hope it is sine I have seen documentaries where many homes, including the Downton Abbey home needs help

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 19, 2015 / 07:36

      Hence so many getting handed over to the National Trust, which means the heritage is preserved. I don’t think the Downton one is NT though.

      Like

  8. dmlsexton May 20, 2015 / 14:09

    How fun. I love seeing these old houses. I can’t imagine what it would be like to know that much about my family history. I also can’t imagine living that long in one place.

    I live in fear of being nominated for one of these challenges, so of course I love your approach.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 20, 2015 / 17:48

      It makes sense! This one was good because it fitted in with what I wanted to blog about anyway.

      Like

  9. jazzfeathers May 20, 2015 / 21:21

    I’ve always thought it’s so cool to know your ancestors in that way, especially if they still live in the same place. I can’t imagin what that feels like, but I think it must be a good feeling… no matter what your ancestors actually did 😉

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

