Lake District interiors

Last week, I showed the exteriors of five Lakeland houses and asked who lived there. This week, I’m taking a peek into their interiors. The first two have very fine woodwork, but consequently are dark and not very photogenic so the best is saved to last. (Click on the title links if you want to see the outside.)

Sizergh Castle

Townend

Allan Bank

Allan Bank is unrestored and allows all sorts of creative activities (we were particularly taken by the dragon) as well as having a large board for visitors to write their suggestions. I hadn’t visited anywhere quite like it – until we went to Wray Castle a couple of days later.

Wray Castle

Unrestored, like Allan Bank, with opportunities to write on walls! The ship’s wheel remains from the house’s time as a naval college and the Peter Rabbit room for children is a nod towards Beatrix Potter who was once a holiday tenant.

Blackwell

As I said – the best is saved to last. Blackwell is an Arts and Crafts house which reminds me so much of Mackintosh’s work.

Which house would you rather live in?

This week on the Road Trip

I’ve met a few new (to me) bloggers on the A to Z Road Trip this week. So far so good. My featured choice is Eunice at A tent, a caravan, 4 wheels and me. Eunice is from Bolton in Lancashire and solo-camps with her two dogs. Although I’m fairly sure I’ll never go camping again, I enjoy reading about her experiences and the photos of her recent Welsh trips are lovely.

38 thoughts on “Lake District interiors

  1. Alex Hurst May 28, 2015 / 13:02

    I’m definitely voting Blackwell!! It’s gorgeous. I kept thinking as I read on, “Oh, this one, definitely…” but then they kept showing each other up! Sounds like it was a fun trip. 🙂 Love that kind of architecture.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 28, 2015 / 14:12

      Yes, Blackwell for me. The main hall has a minstrel’s gallery and two snug little nooks with fireplaces. What’s not to love? And the view! Maybe show you that next week…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pit May 28, 2015 / 14:37

    Beautiful places, all of them. Thanks for sharing,
    Pit

    Like

  3. lovetotrav May 28, 2015 / 17:45

    I am all about windows (lots of them) and fireplaces. Whichever house had the most is my ticket.

    Like

  4. Heyjude May 28, 2015 / 18:46

    Blackwell is gorgeous, but they are all pretty special.

    Like

  5. jazzfeathers May 28, 2015 / 20:40

    Such different places. I really like all of them, each one has its own personality. But if I had to choose, I think I’d choose Wray Castle. That ceiling just charmed me 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 28, 2015 / 21:04

      Yes, it has some very special features. But I like the simpler lines of Blackwell.

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 28, 2015 / 21:57

      Thank you for the visit! I’ll return your call soon.

      Like

  6. Birgit May 29, 2015 / 00:31

    Oh I love the dark interiors. The carvings are just great. I love the fireplace tiles in the other home and would love to create some painting in that other home. All are great to see

    Like

  7. Celine Jeanjean May 29, 2015 / 02:18

    Wow the interior of Wray Castle is stunning — that entrance hall and ceiling are just mind blowing!!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 29, 2015 / 07:28

      It makes you realise exactly how rich they must have been to build something like that.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. sandy May 29, 2015 / 14:02

    Thank you for the visit, thought I’d pop-back. What an adventure touring these castles! Truly beautiful, such details.

    Like

  9. Eunice May 29, 2015 / 20:01

    Thank you so much for the mention at the bottom of the page, I certainly didn’t expect to see that 🙂 I’ll return the compliment when I have time as I’m off on my travels round Anglesey and other bits of North Wales from next Monday, all to be written about in due course.

    Love the photos, I like the ones of Wray Castle best – that hall, staircase and ceiling are amazing.

    If you ever get down to Derbyshire have a look at Calke Abbey near Derby; it’s described as an ‘unstately’ home as much of it has been left in the same state of decline as it was when the National Trust took it over. The original owners were great hoarders and collectors of all sorts of stuff, including dozens of stuffed animals and birds, and the rooms are overflowing with ‘junk’. There’s also a huge state bed with the original drapes, so delicate that the whole thing is displayed in a floor-to-ceiling climate-controlled glass case. The place is amazing and well worth going to – there’s a link in the Featured Places column of my blog, and photos in my post from July 6th last year.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 29, 2015 / 20:25

      That sounds fascinating – we both went to uni in Sheffield so knew Derbyshire well in the past. Would love to go back some time but haven’t been for decades.

      Like

  10. restlessjo May 29, 2015 / 22:30

    I have a fancy for Wray Castle, but I guess Blackwell would do nicely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. VioletSky May 30, 2015 / 03:04

    I am quite taken with Wray Castle, though not sure I’d actually want to live there.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 30, 2015 / 07:51

      Wray is definitely spectacular, but I suspect not too comfortable to live in. Blackwell has its grand hall but it still has little nooks and crannies with fireplaces within it that are almost like separate little rooms. And the bedrooms upstairs are quite a manageable size. I think for any of them you’d need that army of servants though, and I’m not sure I’d approve of that!

      Like

  12. vannillarock May 30, 2015 / 08:59

    I loved you journey through all these houses
    but for me personally I need LOTS of light and as few doors as possible. I’d be carted off by the men in white coats if I had to live in any of these houses ( and the wet Lake District wouldn’t help!)
    Just as well we are all different 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 30, 2015 / 09:32

      Possibly Blackwell would drive you less crazy than the others then – lots of light in the white room (huge windows and amazing views). I take your point about the weather, but we Glaswegians are already trained amphibians 😉 and just get on with it!

      Liked by 1 person

        • Anabel Marsh May 30, 2015 / 10:04

          Oops, forgot that! I’m pretty immune after nearly 30 years here, but if I could design my ideal climate I’d keep the temperature (I burn too easily in the sun) and eliminate the rain. Dream on!

          Liked by 1 person

  13. Susan Ozmore May 31, 2015 / 16:14

    All fascinating, but I think Blackwell. I love the main hall and what looks like a wonderful window in the white drawing room. Beautiful photos as always.

    Like

  14. Jessica (Diverting Journeys) June 2, 2015 / 18:34

    I can see why you were taken by the dragon; he’s adorable! Glad to see the interiors of these lovely homes. If only those bookshelves were real…then my vote would definitely go to Wray Castle. I’ve always wanted my own library!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 2, 2015 / 20:16

      Real or not I thought they were pretty impressive! I enjoyed writing my choice of book in.

      Like

  15. ms6282 October 3, 2015 / 19:14

    I agree with you about Blackwell. We’re Friends of the Lakeland Arts Trust and so visit regularly to see their exhibitions, but we never tire of the house. And I agree with your comment about the similarity to RM’s work – the White Drawing room especially so

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 3, 2015 / 19:23

      Yes, it reminds me very strongly of Hill House. If I lived nearby(ish) I’d be a regular visitor too – as it is, we’ve been 3 times.

      Like

      • ms6282 October 3, 2015 / 19:30

        Just over an hour’s drive for us (M6 willing ☺️)

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

