Lake District walks: Silver How

Looking back from Silver How
Easdale from Silver How

Silver How (325m) is another walk we can do straight from our Grasmere hotel, and have done several times. It’s a steep, grassy climb but looking back at the views over Easdale (above) is a good excuse to stop for a rest. Then it’s on with the slog to the top –

– where your heroes were rewarded with magnificent views. In the panorama, there are four lakes – Grasmere is on the left with Rydal Water behind it. In the distance you can just see Windermere, and Elterwater is on the right.

We continued along the ridge from the summit, descending to Loughrigg Terrace at the opposite end of Grasmere from where we started.

From there, we walked on to Rydal where we knew the Badger Bar would provide a warming lunch and a good beer. It didn’t fail us. The bar also makes a feature of its “rockin’ loos” – go on, take a peek! You know you want to….

What did fail us was the weather. Our walk back to Grasmere took us via the old Coffin Road (so called as it was the route used to take the dead of Rydal to the church in Grasmere for burial), but we got so drenched that we didn’t stop to take any pictures. Another time.

Linked to Jo’s Monday Walks.

48 thoughts on “Lake District walks: Silver How

  1. lovetotrav June 1, 2015 / 13:27

    Wow! A gorgeous walk with stunning scenery. I can’t imagine it gets much better than this. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. vannillarock June 1, 2015 / 14:49

    That poor lone daffodil!
    If I ever go to the Lake District I will look back through your lovely posts Anabel.

    Like

  3. restlessjo June 1, 2015 / 20:00

    Nice of someone to leave you that convenient bench, Anabel πŸ™‚ Is the walk reasonable underfoot? I’ve not done much fell walking but the views look lovely. And what very smart loos! πŸ™‚ A long time since I was at Rydal Water. Many thanks for the link and the lovely walk.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 1, 2015 / 20:27

      It was “bench with a view” month at the time! A little late now….
      The walk was mostly firm under foot at a height, but the fields to and from Silver How were boggy.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Birgit June 1, 2015 / 20:34

    This looks so splendid and peaceful. Love the pictures and the one of you on the bench could be used for the pictures of benches

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 1, 2015 / 22:04

      Peaceful until the howling wind and driving rain started!

      Like

  5. Paul June 1, 2015 / 23:29

    The Lake District is just so enchanting, almost like another world. I could have a cottage in the middle of nowhere and just hide away there for some peace and quiet. I love Keswick and Ullswater and really must find time to go back.

    Like

  6. VioletSky June 2, 2015 / 02:31

    I thought I’d left a comment earlier – must have been transfixed by the view.
    This would be gorgeous with any sky (absent the driving rain)

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 2, 2015 / 07:48

      It is truly gorgeous – the Lake District is one of my favourite places. Very compact, but so much beauty packed in.

      Like

  7. cvail June 2, 2015 / 07:43

    Anabel, This is so timely! We are currently planning our week in the Lake District and our week in Scotland this summer! yay!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 2, 2015 / 07:51

      Great! I’ve done quite a few Lake District posts and still got a couple to come. Let me know if you have any questions about there or Scotland. When are you going to be over here?

      Like

  8. Alex Hurst June 3, 2015 / 01:43

    Gorgeous! It reminds me a lot of the Marin Headlands area, just replacing lakes for the ocean! Very beautiful. I really like the rock pile, too. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 3, 2015 / 07:45

      Thank you! The rock pile, the summit cairn, does taper rather pleasingly at the top.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Entrepreneurial Goddess June 3, 2015 / 22:32

    Hello there.
    I got to spend a week in Keswick with a friend many years ago. It was a beautiful place and I had quite the experience! My most fondest memory was when me and my girlfriend went looking for a waterfall. We started out well, even though we had no map, but the trail we were following got less and less the further up the hill we went. A couple of hours later, we still hadn’t found the waterfall, but we were stuck thigh deep in a field surrounded by sheep and plenty of dung! I tell you, after the initial tears, we fell about laughing. Apparently, we’d taken a wrong turn and ended up trekking along the sheep path! It was hilarious…the locals probably thought we were bonkers! We managed to make our way down the hill, but we had to throw everything away..they were ruined of course. I’ll never forget that trip. Congratulations on completing the AtoZ challenge! Just popping over today from the Road Trip.

    Entrepreneurial Goddess

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 15, 2015 / 12:36

      Many apologies for not replying earlier – I haven’t been on WordPress for a while and your comment had got stuck in spam. Sheep dung is certainly a feature of the Lake District landscape, though my worst experience of it was in the Peak District. I’ll draw a veil over that! Thanks for popping by on the Road Trip.

      Like

  10. Celine Jeanjean June 4, 2015 / 11:37

    Do you know I’ve never been to the Lake District — I can’t remember if I mentioned that. I always went to Asia on holidays when I lived in the UK and now that I live in Asia I’m realising how silly that was — those photos are absolutely stunning. It’s such a rugged beauty, and kind of desolate but all the more beautiful for it.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 4, 2015 / 12:15

      I love it – it can be bleak but, unlike the Scottish Highlands where everything is spread so far apart, you are never far from a village or farm so it doesn’t feel quite so remote.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Tyne June 5, 2015 / 04:34

    Hi Anabel! I love your photos! you got such a picturesque view of the place. i do love to travel too and my love for photography comes handy. enjoyed your photos!

    Tyne | lovetakestyne.com

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 5, 2015 / 07:34

      Thank you! Glad you liked the pictures – though most taken by my husband, so I can’t take credit.

      Like

  12. Rajlakshmi June 6, 2015 / 14:55

    the waterfront looks beautiful. Such a lovely and peaceful place.

    Like

  13. Amy June 8, 2015 / 16:44

    Thank you for take us there, beautiful views!

    Like

  14. Rhonda Albom June 10, 2015 / 12:44

    Looks like a beautiful walk, too bad the weather didn’t hold for you.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 10, 2015 / 20:39

      Aw, thanks! Off blogging at the moment because of a family bereavement 😦 but might return to the fray soon.

      Liked by 1 person

      • La Sabrosona June 10, 2015 / 20:55

        You’re most welcome and I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. Be well Anabel xx

        Like

  15. Paula June 13, 2015 / 21:25

    Beautiful pictures. Sounds like wonderful travels. I am cruising by on the A to Z Road Trip…

    Like

  16. Eunice June 13, 2015 / 23:38

    Lovely pictures and great views even if the weather wasn’t the best. And those loos are awesome!

    Like

  17. Wendy June 14, 2015 / 15:15

    Lovely views. I’m dropping in on the A-Z Roadtrip. Having looked back over some of your posts I’ll definitely know where to look for tips if we visit Glasgow. It’s on my to do list.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 14, 2015 / 15:36

      Thank you for the visit! I hope you make it to Glasgow some day.

      Like

  18. C. Weber Wagner June 14, 2015 / 20:18

    I enjoyed your photos of your Lake District Walk. They inspired me to research the area. First off, I had no idea where The Lake District is. Of course we read the term in our English Lit classes, but it’s much farther north than I realized. And, from your pictures, it’s much more rugged than I’d imagined. It’s beautiful.
    “rockin’ loos” Someone has a wonderful sense of humor. Is that granite?
    And you’ve inspired me to blog about our all-too-rare trips here.
    Thank you for your wonderful pics.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 14, 2015 / 21:05

      Thank you! It is very rugged – and bleak, yet beautiful. I think that’s slate – there are lots of slate quarries in the Lakes, but I’m no geologist so I could be wrong.

      Like

  19. lostforwords101 June 15, 2015 / 03:26

    Hello Anabel! It’s nice to see you popped by my page even after the A-Z April Challenge is over πŸ™‚ I try to post a blog entry every now and then but a lot less frequent now compared to April.

    But I sincerely wish to keep in touch with bloggers I met during the challenge like you πŸ˜€ Lovely pics here btw despite the gray weather. My attempt to do a hike during the weekend was foiled by the rain! So I could relate with you on that experience walking back from here. Rain could be a disadvantage sometimes…

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 15, 2015 / 07:23

      Yes, if it’s raining before we plan to set out I won’t go either! It’s good to keep in touch so I’ll certainly continue to visit.

      Like

  20. Jemima Pett June 22, 2015 / 16:26

    This was one of the walks I did on my first trip to the Lakes, which was ever such a long time ago, even before I started orienteering. So I was probably 22-25 at the time. Gosh.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

