3 Day Quote #1: Nature

Inscribed bench
Inscribed bench by River Earn

The tumbling bridge and fallow field; Once deeply scarred by soot and steel; Now nature has crept back to heal

These lovely words run along the back of this unusual bench which sits alongside the River Earn near Crieff. (The path goes through a beautiful avenue of trees, parallel to an old railway embankment.) I’ve chosen them as my first entry in the 3 Day Quote Challenge. What is that, I hear you cry? Quite simple!

  1. Post a quote for three consecutive days (one down, two to go).
  2. Thank the person who nominated you. With pleasure! Thanks to La Sabrosona of  my spanglish familia – laugh and cry, as I do, with her tales of a Mexican / Canadian family bilingual in Spanish and English.
  3. Pass the challenge on to three more people. Hmm, as has been my recent practice, I’ll skip this bit and just say you are all nominated if you have quotes you want to share.

I’ll leave you with a few more pictures of the walk, the River Earn and Laggan Hill circuit. It starts and finishes at Glenturret Distillery, with its statue to the famous mouser, Towser. (As a bonus, the café here has recently been upgraded and serves an excellent lunch.)

We found more benches by the river (this one has an inscription about salmon leaping), and a sort of fairy house in a tree trunk!

Finally, the views from Laggan Hill are lovely:

I do believe I can enter this post in two more challenges! Jo’s Monday Walks and Jude’s Bench Series, which in July is looking for benches with unusual details. Bingo! Click on both links to see what other bloggers have been up to this week.

28 thoughts on “3 Day Quote #1: Nature

  1. Heyjude July 6, 2015 / 13:11

    Lovely on all three accounts! You need to find more of these benches with the inscriptions for November (or repost them, I’ll have forgotten by then). I never see benches like these. And I love the fairy tree, they are so wonderful to come across, always bring a smile 🙂

    Like

  2. lostforwords101 July 6, 2015 / 13:48

    Anabel, this is such an oddly beautiful bench indeed! 😉 How lucky you are to be living in a place with lots of pretty walking trails.

    Like

  3. Donna July 6, 2015 / 15:11

    Perfect quote for the location of that very unique bridge. Fun to see the fairy house. They are very popular in the neighborhood I work in.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 6, 2015 / 15:20

      It was new to me – I’d not seen a fairy house in a tree like that before. Cute!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. La Sabrosona July 6, 2015 / 16:07

    I’m so happy you decided to do the challenge. Beautiful photos! I love the benches and the fairy house! Thank you 🙂

    Like

  5. restlessjo July 6, 2015 / 19:11

    We’re kind of on the same page with this, Anabel. Many of our pit villages have been given a new lease of life, either by man or nature. 🙂 Love the inscribed bench and fun tree. And I don’t know La Sobrasona so I’ll have to make time to say hi. Many thanks for the link. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sue Archer July 7, 2015 / 02:08

    That’s a beautiful quote, and I love the bench itself as well. What a fantastic shape. But is it comfortable?

    Like

  7. Birgit July 7, 2015 / 03:55

    I had heard about this famous mouser! Love that a statue is dedicated to this pussy cat. Love this bench-so different looking and the quote is wonderful especially since Saskatchewan and BC are having major issues with forest fires

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 7, 2015 / 07:38

      Yes, I thoroughly approve of Towser’s statue too. A very hard working cat!

      Like

  8. jazzfeathers July 7, 2015 / 20:47

    Love that quote. and that bench is simply gorgeous! 🙂

    Like

  9. rosemaylily2014 July 14, 2015 / 02:50

    What a delightful walk Anabel! I love the statue of Towser the Mouser he looks a very striking cat! 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 14, 2015 / 07:24

      He looks very large! Must have been all those mice. I never met Towser but I have seen other distillery cats and they do seem to be sleek and well fed.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. clicksclan July 26, 2015 / 11:55

    That looks like a lovely place to visit.

    My Mum is talking about turning her garden into a fairy garden. I’ll have to suggest getting some fairy doors so they have somewhere to live. 😉

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

