3 Day Quote #3: Dad

John Mitchell 1929-2015
John Mitchell 1929-2015

To a father growing old, nothing is dearer than a daughter. -Euripides, playwright (c. 480-406 BCE)

I subscribe to Anu Garg’s A.Word.A.Day email – every day a new word defined with examples of usage and a (usually unrelated) quote at the end. This one jumped out at me on 15th June. Why? A couple of weeks before, on 31st May, my dear Dad died and I hoped the quote was true. I wanted to pay tribute to him on this blog somehow, and La Sabrosona‘s challenge allows me to do that.

Dad would have been 86 on July 3rd and had been a minister and a preacher for over 60 years. When he gave up preaching a few years ago I started a blog with him, and to mark his birthday I posted his obituary, as written by his friend and colleague Wes Blakey. If you want to know more, head over to John Mitchell – called and sent. But this IS a travel blog, so I thought I’d celebrate Dad’s life with some childhood photos of us having fun at the seaside and in the country. I’m the big sister. And check out our Harry Potter-style Ford Anglia! I can still remember its registration, 823 LPP.

So thank you once again to La Sabrosona for her nomination. I find that these challenges can be valuable if they make you think. They can encourage you to post something you wouldn’t normally write about, or maybe to tackle a subject from a slightly different angle. However, as before, I’m not passing the nomination on to specific bloggers although I encourage anyone who has quotes to share to take part. You are all stars!

28 thoughts on “3 Day Quote #3: Dad

  1. lovetotrav July 8, 2015 / 14:38

    I am so sorry for your loss. A dad is pretty special to a daughter. I lost mine a few years ago and my life doesn’t quite seem the same since. Your pictures and quote are a wonderful tribute to your love for him. Take care. Cheryl

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 8, 2015 / 15:31

      Thanks Cheryl. I love those pictures – the one I remember best is crossing the ford: that was a favourite picnic spot when we were little.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Heyjude July 8, 2015 / 15:43

    Dads and daughters, heh – what a bond. My dad died 13 years ago, though I lost him before that to dementia which was hard to handle. I loved spending time with him as a child even though he was an ‘old’ dad (40 when I was born and often my friends had grandfathers hi age) as he loved to play games with us children. Funny to see the beach photos where the men still wore their jackets and trousers! I am so sorry for your loss, you must miss him dreadfully, but what a lovely tribute to him.
    Jude xx

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 8, 2015 / 15:53

      Thanks Jude. The jacket and tie had struck me too – very formal! This loss was sudden, all over in one day, so we are glad he didn’t suffer pain and we didn’t have to deal with the type of drawn out loss you did. My Mum is still going strong and we are tootling along as best we can.

      Like

      • Heyjude July 8, 2015 / 18:02

        A sudden death is such a shock, you are all probably still coming to terms with it. It is good that your mum is coping. My mum died first and I think it was that loss which affected my dad. He was just completely bewildered on his own.

        Like

  3. La Sabrosona July 8, 2015 / 17:52

    Thank you again, Anabel for taking on the challenge. I love your photos. There’s something about looking at childhood pics that’s comforting (during difficult moments). My kids love to sit down with me and look at their baby albums. It’s amazing how we all grow and change. Be well xx

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 8, 2015 / 18:17

      Thank you – I enjoyed it. I loved looking at old albums when I was small too – still do. It was fun tracking down these.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Birgit July 8, 2015 / 22:48

    I am so sorry to hear about your dad. He looks like he is a sweet soul. It is always difficult to lose a loved one no matter how old they are or we are. This year will be the year of “firsts” as I call it. July 3rd must have been a day of reflection. My dad would be 102 if he were alive today. He was 51 when I was born and I am now 51. I was 23 when I lost him and we were just getting to know each other. He didn’t take well to me becoming a teenager. I think he wanted me to remain a little girl. My mom is 87 and I miss her since she has dementia but what I have are the memories and that makes me feel good. I love this quote

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 8, 2015 / 23:09

      Thanks, Birgit. Yes, a year of firsts in which there’ll be a gap.

      Like

  5. Silvia Writes July 9, 2015 / 00:45

    So sorry to hear, Anabel. Thinking of you and sending warm thoughts.

    Like

  6. Denzil July 9, 2015 / 17:00

    Strange how children remember their parents’ early car registration numbers! 205 LNX has stuck in my memory since the 1970s, yet I struggle to recall my present car’s number, and the one before that: totally gone!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 9, 2015 / 17:06

      Me too! I can remember the next family car and my own first car, but not the one I drive now. Mind you, I’ve had the same mobile phone number for years and have only just mastered that.

      Like

  7. dormousetidings July 9, 2015 / 23:09

    Sorry to hear about your father Anabel. I loved the old photos; wonderful memories for you 🙂

    Like

  8. clicksclan July 12, 2015 / 16:08

    Sorry to hear of your loss.

    It looks like you have some wonderful memories and spent many happy times together. Remember those.

    Like

  9. Donna July 12, 2015 / 23:30

    Sorry to hear about your loss. It’s so wonderful that you were able to share your blogging talents with your father and that he was able to continue his preaching through social media. The photos you posted hear, and the ones of your parents on your father’s blog, are so charming. Very fitting quote for your relationship although I think you were always very dear to your father.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 13, 2015 / 07:40

      Thank you Donna. It’s 6 weeks now and still doesn’t seem quite real.

      Like

  10. anotherday2paradise July 16, 2015 / 21:25

    Thanks for sharing your precious photos and memories, Anabel. Condolences on losing your dear dad. He looks like a real family man and so happy in his role. 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 16, 2015 / 21:34

      Thank you. He didn’t do much paddling in later days (love the way he kept doing it in his suit) , but still found pleasure in his family.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Paul July 17, 2015 / 23:38

    I’m sorry to hear about your dad Anabel, hope you and your family are ok. I love your pictures, there is something so nostalgic about old black and white photos, modern day pictures digital just cannot compete!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 17, 2015 / 23:55

      Thank you, we are doing ok. I love these pictures too. So much movement and very unselfconscious. A few years later I would be scowling at the camera, all dressed in black!

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

