Reflections Enroute: Meeting Corinne and Jim

Corinne and Jim Vail of Reflections Enroute
Corinne and Jim Vail of Reflections Enroute

Although I’ve made friends in real life with people first encountered on Twitter, until recently I had never done the same via blogging. I was delighted to learn a few weeks ago that Corinne and Jim Vail of Reflections Enroute were about to pass through Scotland, and I hoped that their itinerary would allow us to meet up. It did!

Corinne and I first chatted over last year’s A to Z Challenge where we both wrote about places we had visited (some were the same, e.g. X for Xian) and I formed the impression that we would get along. Fortunately, I was right. John and I had a lovely evening in Glasgow with Corinne and Jim, sharing some of our favourite Scottish beers and food.

What will you find on Reflections Enroute? In Corinne and Jim’s own words:

 [We are] an American couple living in Germany, and we make it our priority to travel as often as possible.  Taking advantage of living in the center of Europe, we take weekend jaunts to new cities, UNESCO World Heritage Sites, and other historical treasures visiting as many smaller destinations as we can.

If you haven’t already done so, I recommend you pop over and take a look.

Until we meet again, Corinne and Jim, slàinte mhath!*

*Gaelic for good health, often used as a drinking toast, as in cheers!

29 thoughts on “Reflections Enroute: Meeting Corinne and Jim

  1. Denzil July 16, 2015 / 15:54

    How lovely to meet virtual friends face-to-face! (Especially when you all get along so well!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh July 16, 2015 / 15:57

      It was! Gives the lie to the theory that spending time online makes you anti-social.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Birgit July 16, 2015 / 17:46

    This is special because one finally meets a fellow blogger and you do, indeed, get along-that is wonderful

    Like

  3. Lori L MacLaughlin July 17, 2015 / 03:20

    That’s really neat that you were able to meet them in person and enjoy each other’s company. I think that would be fun to do.

    Like

  4. Paul July 17, 2015 / 23:03

    Thats so great Anabel, just smashing, Typhoo is only £1 in that shop! Cheapest ever! Lol 🙂

    Like

  5. restlessjo July 18, 2015 / 20:46

    I was just thinking I hadn’t met any new travelers lately. How fortuitous 🙂

    Like

  6. vannillarock July 19, 2015 / 00:56

    Like you Anabel, I hadn’t met any of my followers face to face and to be honest the thought hadn’t crossed my mind until Ingrid over at livelaughRV who is a full time RVer suggested it. She and her husband spend a big chunk of winter in Arizona (sensible!) and so we met and hit it off.
    Will take a look at Corinne and Jims blog.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 19, 2015 / 08:01

      I think if you’ve been corresponding by blog comment for a while you probably know quite a lot about the person anyway – and that you have interests in common, in this case travel. I have a couple of friends locally who were Twitter acquaintances first – we connected through a love of books and libraries. It’s great!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. lovetotrav July 19, 2015 / 14:20

    Ahhh this made me smile 🙂 I think it is so sweet. I have conversations with my husband about bloggers and what they write like we are close friends so why not meet when close to each other? Especially when it is travel blogs and the other person, like yourself, is an expert 🙂 on a certain country… sounds perfect to me.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 19, 2015 / 14:23

      The blogging cameraderie is definitely a form of friendship. Technology has opened up the world.

      Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav July 19, 2015 / 14:25

        I so agree with you Anabel. I have only been doing it since Feb. and had no idea such a thing existed when I began. I didn’t even understand what my reader was or why I would use it… thought I was blogging as a way of scrapbooking for my family! Couldn’t have been more wrong but in such a good way. 🙂

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh July 19, 2015 / 14:32

          I’ve been going a lot longer but, like you, only started this blog as a personal travel diary. It was last year’s A to Z that got me connecting to other people.

          Liked by 1 person

  8. clicksclan July 19, 2015 / 14:53

    You’re the second blogger this weekend who has met up with one of their blogging friends!

    I’ve not met anyone in real life that I’ve ‘met’ through blogging. Though I’m sure that our paths must have crossed when I was at Jordanhill. 😉

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 19, 2015 / 15:02

      I’m sure we must have met at some point, even if only standing in the same queue at Woodies or something!

      Like

      • clicksclan July 26, 2015 / 12:00

        Almost certainly. I practically lived off of cheese toasties there for four years! 😉

        Like

  9. Alex Hurst July 20, 2015 / 00:30

    Sounds super fun. 🙂 A handful of writers from my online writing group recently flew to the UK to attend someone’s wedding and meet up. I wish I could have been there! It’s a wonderful experience.

    Like

  10. Sarah Ferguson July 20, 2015 / 03:23

    How wonderful to meet someone from blogging! I’ve been several people over the years, and it has always been great.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

