St Ninian’s Isle

"Pesky humans disturbing our peace again!"
“Pesky humans disturbing our peace again!”

St Ninian’s Isle is connected to Mainland Shetland by a tombolo (isthmus) of sand formed by wave action from opposing directions. Once on the island, it’s a 3-mile walk round the perimeter and, if you need a rest before returning, there’s a handy bench by the ruins of a 12th century chapel where you can take the weight off your feet. Or you can paddle back – that would definitely give you a tingle. The water’s freezing.

I’ll let the pictures do the talking. They’re all by John, except the sheep. I like sheep. The sheep are mine.

22 thoughts on “St Ninian’s Isle

  1. VioletSky August 28, 2015 / 00:28

    First thing I said to myself as I opened your page was “aww, sheep!!”. Then my jaw dropped at the scenery the sheep get to look at every day.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh August 28, 2015 / 07:34

      And I bet they don’t appreciate it! As long as there’s grass….

      Like

  2. cassam101 August 27, 2015 / 12:24

    This is gorgeous Anabel. Do you find it expensive for eating and drinking when you go far north?

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh August 27, 2015 / 13:00

      Not really, we didn’t notice much difference. Less choice obviously, but some very nice places.

      Like

  3. Su Leslie August 26, 2015 / 21:02

    Looks idyllic. I’m so glad to be [vicariously] sharing your journey. Much nicer than work!

    Like

  4. Birgit August 26, 2015 / 20:46

    Oh this just looks like a wonderful walk-very peaceful and rich blues and greens. The water does look cold though

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh August 26, 2015 / 22:22

      Believe me, it was! I dabbled my fingers in it but wouldn’t risk my toes.

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh August 26, 2015 / 17:06

      Thank you. I took a real fancy to these two seemingly in conversation.

      Like

  5. Jemima Pett August 26, 2015 / 16:13

    I’m really enjoying your Shetland rambles. Always wanted to go there 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh August 26, 2015 / 16:14

      Thanks – lots more to come! Then on to Orkney….

      Like

  6. vannillarock August 26, 2015 / 15:47

    Haha I have also been ‘infected’ with a plethora of bench shots! This looks such a gorgeous walk, and you didn’t have to run for cover from the rain.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh August 26, 2015 / 16:14

      No we didn’t – in fact there was only one walk in nearly 3 weeks where we had to do that. A miracle!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Heyjude August 26, 2015 / 15:26

    Everything is such a lovely shade of blue. And the bench has a great view. I could sit there for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh August 26, 2015 / 15:29

      I can’t believe how lucky we were with the blue skies! You have infected me with benches – this one is obviously too late for bench-with-a-view but I stuck it in anyway. I’m keeping a few back that might be useful for future months. Watch this space!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heyjude August 26, 2015 / 16:01

        Well December is open so the time to post your favourites if you haven’t already 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

