Yesnaby and Gurness

Yesnaby
Yesnaby
I had a very clear memory of the cliffs at Yesnaby and was keen to revisit. The force of the Atlantic has created many stacks and geos and the walk in either direction from the carpark is beautiful. One way, you reach the magnificent stack known as Yesnaby Castle.

The other way, you pass more stacks and geos to reach a ruined broch.

But what I really remembered was this:

Yesnaby 2015
Yesnaby 2015
An archway that I had walked on in 1996. I took one look in 2015 and backed off in the other direction. How could I have done that? But here’s the proof. My knees feel weird just thinking about it now.

Yesnaby 1996
Yesnaby 1996
The weather finally failed us in the afternoon after our walk at Yesnaby, so we headed off in the car to the Broch of Gurness. Even though the sea has eaten away part of the site, there’s still an impression of a bustling Iron Age village with  a cluster of dwellings around the central broch. The red-hooded figure in the background is me. It was dreich!

Only one more episode to go in my Orkney Saga. Stay tuned….

33 thoughts on “Yesnaby and Gurness

  1. vannillarock September 30, 2015 / 12:54

    Really enjoying your Orkney adventures. These shots have really captured the stark grandness.

    Like

  2. Pit September 30, 2015 / 13:18

    Ever so interesting rock formations! πŸ™‚
    Have a wonderful day,
    Pit

    Like

  3. Alex Hurst September 30, 2015 / 13:50

    What a beautiful area… the waves and colors are just fantastic. Reminds me of Mendocino, but your cliffsides are way more intense!

    Like

  4. anotherday2paradise September 30, 2015 / 15:28

    Amazing cliffs and rock formations. Love the photo of you on the ‘bridge’. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Su Leslie September 30, 2015 / 19:53

    Magnificent. Terrifying little bridge but!

    Like

      • Su Leslie September 30, 2015 / 20:48

        It is the stuff of nightmares (well, mine anyway — I’m terrified of heights, unstable surfaces and drowning) πŸ™‚

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh September 30, 2015 / 22:05

          I can still cope with heights if I’m not exposed – and that looks very exposed! I would add to the list dark holes underground. I don’t want to be buried alive……

          Liked by 1 person

          • Su Leslie October 3, 2015 / 06:54

            I’d have to put those on the list too. The Dutch film ‘The Disappearing’ has the most terrifying ending which invokes that, and I have the shivers even thinking about it now!

            Like

  6. jazzfeathers October 1, 2015 / 21:45

    Anabel, I have to tell you the sheer thruth: your posts are hurting me.
    I’m telling you, I need to visit these places. You cruel sharer. Why have you ever showed me these places. My heart was so much more at peace when I knew nothing about them…

    Right… and beautiful pics, by the way πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Donna October 2, 2015 / 04:43

    How beautiful! It’s amazing what water can do to rock. (I don’t think there was a time in my life I could have walked on to that archway.)

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 2, 2015 / 07:46

      You are obviously more sensible than I am! Or Than I was then anyway.

      Like

      • Donna October 3, 2015 / 22:30

        It’s more an extreme phobia of walking over bridges. I’m fine driving which makes no sense at all.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. rosemaylily2014 October 3, 2015 / 04:04

    Amazing the power of the ocean to transform the coastline- stunning photos!

    Like

  9. Birgit October 3, 2015 / 06:34

    You have made my heart drop! I could never have done this-Brava!

    Like

  10. Amy October 5, 2015 / 14:09

    Spectacular views, Anabel! I know I won’t want to stand on that stone bridge. πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. BeckyHelps March 17, 2016 / 18:08

    I used to live in Yesnaby. I’ve stood on that archway and I know exactly how you feel looking back.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

