A day in the life

Some time ago (ahem, over two months) Celine at Down the Rabbit Hole nominated me for a “day in the life” challenge – taking a photo every so often throughout the day and blogging about it. Now, Celine’s post documented a day in the South of France so I’ve given up waiting for something to compete with that – however, yesterday was a little bit special so I’ve decided to go for it. Rest assured, although there is some fairly routine stuff in this post, I’ve omitted the dullest parts of my day (believe it or not) – you don’t want to read about me doing laundry, do you?

My kitchen

So this is where my day begins – the kitchen. First thing in the morning is the only time it’s tidy enough to photograph! As a retired lady, I try to avoid anything which starts before 10am so it falls to me to make the breakfast for the working half of the partnership.

Today, I’m off for a haircut so that I look smart for this evening’s event. My appointment is, guess when? 10am. I’ve been going to the same hairdresser for over 20 years – when we moved into the area, he worked in the nearest salon. I’ve followed him twice since, and for the last few years he’s been in Broomhill, an area of Glasgow about 30 minutes walk away. I don’t drive anywhere unless I absolutely have to – walking is the only exercise I get. This is my street:

It’s a late 20th-century mix of flats (which you can see) and terraced houses (which we live in). However, turning the corner, everything becomes more grand – although many of the houses are now multi-occupancy, they are still imposing. This is Kelvinside.

Broomhill has lots of trees and green space, and a nice little row of shops. I have my haircut and a coffee in a nearby café in which I am almost alone.

So here’s a before and after. Can you tell the difference? Not really, it’s just tidier. In the third picture, I’ve had my lunch, showered and dressed, all ready to go – where? Let’s find out!

I set off again on foot, this time through the Botanic Gardens. There’s some lovely autumn colouring there.

I travel by Subway to Queen Street Station, meet two friends from Glasgow Women’s Library and take the train to Edinburgh – destination Scottish Parliament! This photo is a cheat – one I prepared earlier. It’s dark when we get there and we’re certainly not going to climb Salisbury Crags to get this view.

Scottish Parliament from Salisbury Crags

So why are we here? Some might remember my earlier post about the Women’s Library nominating Glasgow’s Suffragette Oak to be Scotland’s Tree of the Year. We reached the final, and tonight we’ll find out if we’ve won. The evening starts with drinks and canapés, then a few speeches followed by the prizegiving. The six finalists are read out in reverse order – every time it’s not us, we glance at each other. When we get to second – it’s still not us! We’ve won!

We stagger back to the train with the trophy, certificate and rolled up banner. I make it home about 10pm eager to tell John all about it. Thanks to any blog readers who voted for our tree.

Once again, thanks to Celine for nominating me for this challenge. Please visit her at Down the Rabbit Hole if you haven’t already done so. As is my usual habit, I’m not going to pass the challenge on but if you think it’s a good idea, please consider yourself nominated.

Finally, this is the tree that all the fuss is about:

Suffragette Oak

I’d like to think that the Suffragettes who watched it being planted in 1918 would be delighted that it’s now Scotland’s Tree of the Year. Next stop, European Tree of the Year in February….

30 thoughts on “A day in the life

  1. VioletSky October 28, 2015 / 18:54

    Congratulations. A memorable day, for sure!!

    Like

  2. jazzfeathers October 28, 2015 / 21:04

    Great post, Anabel, I enjoyed it a lot. Especially when I discovered your tree won the prize!!

    Celine nominated me too. I’ve not posted yet, though I’ve been working to two posts (a special one – Cliffs of Moher – and a routine one – day in Verona). So don’t feel bad about the delay… someone is in a worse position… ahem…

    Like

  3. Birgit October 29, 2015 / 03:42

    OK your kitchen looks like it could be in a magazine! It is so clean and neat with a pop of orange. I also love that you can spend the day having coffee or tea. Love that the tree is getting something special attached to it

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 29, 2015 / 07:27

      Ha, ha, angle carefully chosen and suitably tidied. I like the orange, the blind gives the place a lovely warm glow. Great news about the tree. And I don’t spend all day drinking coffee, honest!

      Like

  4. Celine Jeanjean October 29, 2015 / 11:14

    Congratulations on the award, that’s very exciting!

    I think those day in the life posts need a bit of time to come to fruition – most of our day to days are pretty boring, I think. I’m going to do a day in the life post in Hong Kong, but I need to wait for an interesting day first!

    The autumnal colours of the Botanic Gardens are amazing. I really miss autumn, out here the vegetation is green year around — makes you realise just how beautiful seasons are.

    Oh and also I love all the little Le Creuset pots. Beautiful, your kitchen looks lovely!!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 29, 2015 / 11:19

      Thank you, Celine – and thanks once again for nominating me. Yes, it took a while to come to fruition, but I enjoyed it.

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 29, 2015 / 21:16

      Well it does look a lot worse after John’s been cooking!

      Like

  5. slfinnell October 29, 2015 / 18:48

    We don’t consider ourselves too lazy here but I don’t know anyone who walks 30 minutes to a haircut. I feel like I need to hang my head. We very well need to do so.
    Congratulations on your wonderful award! Well deserved!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 29, 2015 / 21:18

      Thanks for the congratulations. I wouldn’t walk that far in the rain but I usually seem to be lucky with the weather on haircut day. And I do need the exercise!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. restlessjo October 29, 2015 / 20:49

    Great day and an even better ending! Fantastic, Anabel 🙂 Pleased for you and the Oak.

    Like

  7. lostforwords101 October 30, 2015 / 01:37

    Hello Anabel, these are excellent photos! And I love the theme colors of your kitchen and your outfit the day these photos were taken 😉

    I miss your city! Can you please send me a postcard from Glasgow featuring the Botanic Gardens 😀

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 30, 2015 / 07:37

      Thank you! Ok – I will look for a postcard with the Botanic Gardens and get back to you when I find one, great idea.

      Like

  8. Sarah Ferguson November 1, 2015 / 15:25

    At least you got to your nomination – I am so far behind I will never catch up with mine!

    And congrats on the award! What a wonderful day (for that and all the rest of it!).

    Like

  9. Lucid Gypsy November 2, 2015 / 20:12

    Now that was worth the hairdo and gorgeous frock 🙂

    Like

  10. vannillarock November 4, 2015 / 02:11

    congratulations! a very pretty tree- is it marked in any way (for the original planting?)
    a VERY tidy kitchen indeed 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh November 4, 2015 / 07:35

      Thanks! There’s nothing to mark the original planting, just the 1995 plaque. I saw a picture yesterday with a group of women tying a ribbon in Suffragette colours round the trunk, but I don’t know if they left it there – will need to go and look!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. cassam101 November 6, 2015 / 16:32

    You live in a lovely part of the city. Congratulations on the win,I saw it in the metro newspaer on he bus and I meant to tweet and say well done to you all.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh November 6, 2015 / 16:47

      Thanks Anne! I was on the radio again too – I’m now missing being a media star 😉

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

