Benches with a message

Inverewe benchThis month, Jude’s Bench Series is looking for benches with a message, of which we spotted several while on holiday. This one, for example, is at Inverewe, though I defy you to read the inscription from the picture. Even in close up, it’s hard to decipher.Inverewe bench Inverewe bench Inverewe bench Don’t ask me about the Gaelic, but I think the English says “The clear, fresh air in a place so peaceful invites us anew to the shores of Loch Ewe”.

The next one is near Smoo Cave. Much easier to read! Bench near Smoo Cave At Broch of Gurness, on Orkney, we came across this lovely memorial to Dr Olaf Cuthbert: “I leave few footprints on the sand for stormy seas to wash away. I take with me the breadth of sky and seas of unimaginable blue”.

Finally, another memorial, this time to Ronnie Johnson, fisherman of Eshaness in Shetland.

I have one more bench from Shetland, but I’ll keep that for next time.

32 thoughts on “Benches with a message

  1. jazzfeathers November 15, 2015 / 17:02

    Loved the incription on Dr Olaf Cuthbert’s bench 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh November 15, 2015 / 19:18

      It’s lovely – also lovely that his daughter got in touch.

      Like

  2. restlessjo November 7, 2015 / 15:16

    I think Jude is going to be inundated again this month, Anabel 🙂 You had me on hands and knees then, trying to read the inscription. Then I realised it was Gaelic. 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh November 7, 2015 / 15:56

      Hope your knees are ok! I think this month is a very easy challenge – so many inscriptions all over the place!

      Like

  3. ms6282 November 7, 2015 / 13:20

    Avery interesting post. I’ll have to take a more careful look at benches from now on!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh November 7, 2015 / 13:48

      Thank you! They are everywhere when you start looking.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

