Bench series: Alex Harvey

Alex Harvey bench, Winter Gardens, People's Palace, Glasgow
Alex Harvey bench, Winter Gardens, People’s Palace, Glasgow

I had neither camera nor my photography expert with me when I went to see the Sensational Alex Harvey‘s bench in the Winter Gardens at Glasgow’s People’s Palace, so please forgive the iPad pictures. This is for Jude’s Bench Series – her November theme is benches with messages.

Alex gets two messages. First, the inscription on the back:

The last of the teenage idols
The last of the teenage idols
Let me put my hands on you
Let me put my hands on you

There’s also a plaque with his dates of birth and death, and a bust in the garden behind the bench.

Finally, before leaving the Gardens, I spotted this from George and Irene. Have a nice day!

12 thoughts on “Bench series: Alex Harvey

  1. Heyjude November 23, 2015 / 15:25

    I vaguely remember the name of the band, but not the songs. A lovely memorial to him from his son and former band members.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Birgit November 24, 2015 / 05:18

    I don’t know him…at least I don’t think I do. I am terrible with musicians and linking them with their songs unless it is really famous like the Beatles. I do like the bench and the other one saying have a nice day

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh November 24, 2015 / 07:40

      Maybe he was only known this side of the Atlantic. I liked Have a Nice Day too – never seen that on a bench before!

      Like

  3. ms6282 December 1, 2015 / 08:22

    Alex Harvey. The Scottish anarchist singer. Remember seeing him live a long time ago. My favourite song of his is “the Faith Healer” which I still lay sometimes (That’s where “let me put my hands on you” comes from). Good to see there’s a memorial to him.

    Like

  4. ms6282 December 1, 2015 / 19:44

    Do you emebe his guitar player who used to dress and make up as a very scary clown?

    Like

  5. ms6282 December 1, 2015 / 19:44

    That should be “remember” of course

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

