Meikle Bin

Meikle Bin is a small(ish) hill (397m)Β 20 miles or so north of Glasgow which we’d never climbed until recently. It’s a 10k round trip, so what did we need to fortify us first? Lunch! The Culcreuch Castle Hotel did us proud and we had a wee wander round the grounds before embarking on the main walk. This was the end of September, so the trees were just beginning to turn.

The hill climb started at the north end of the Carron Valley Reservoir, and followed a forestry track.

Carron Valley Reservoir
Carron Valley Reservoir

Soon, we crossed the Carron River and Meikle Bin came into view.

Once clear of the trees, the path became boggy and it was a short, steep climb to the top – though it wasn’t a clear enough day for really great views.

The best way down is just to retrace your steps, which we did, taking a little longer to look at details – and I couldn’t resist walking along the reservoir wall (and managed not to fall in.)

I’m linking this post to Jo’s Monday Walks. If you’re suffering, as I am, torrential rain at the moment, pop over there for some blue skies and sunshine.

 

41 thoughts on “Meikle Bin

  1. TanGental December 7, 2015 / 11:19

    Sorry to hear about the deluge. Carlisle sounds like it really had it bad but the whole of the West coast appears to have had a pummelling

    Like

  2. Alex Hurst December 7, 2015 / 11:45

    I love all the wide open, natural space at your fingertips! What a wonderful place to live. πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 7, 2015 / 12:19

      It is! Hardly takes any time to get out of the city and into the country.

      Like

  3. claudiabookwright December 7, 2015 / 15:01

    I’ve been hearing about the rain in what I thought might be your part of the world and this post just confirmed it. Stay safe.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 7, 2015 / 15:07

      Thanks. It’s very wet here but the flooding is further south so I hope we have missed the worst – while obviously feeling really sorry about the people who are having to be rescued from their homes. It always feels selfish being glad it’s not me!

      Like

  4. helenmackinven December 7, 2015 / 17:04

    We regularly take the dogs a walk round the reservoir and eat at the castle in the bar so I know the area well – great pics. But I’ve never climbed up the hill – I only do flat walking πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 7, 2015 / 17:28

      Very sensible. My knees wish I only did flat walking too.

      Like

  5. Pit December 7, 2015 / 19:14

    Hi Anabel,
    a wonderful landscape there. I enjoyed the “walk”.
    Have a great week, and for gorgeous sunshine, just pop over to the Texas Hill Country,
    Pit

    Like

  6. Birgit December 8, 2015 / 06:25

    It looks like such a lovely walk and some beautiful scenery like the castle and the small hill in the background. I’m glad you didn’t fall in!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 8, 2015 / 07:33

      So am I! I’m quite good at tripping and falling, but so far have avoided water πŸ˜‰

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 8, 2015 / 14:15

      Thank you – it was lovely, apart from the mud once we got onto open hillside, but what else can you expect in Scotland?!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. La Sabrosona December 8, 2015 / 22:54

    We have quite a variety of wild mushrooms where I live (city). The kids and I went mushroom hunting last fall; lots of fun. No mud fights for you and John?

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 8, 2015 / 23:13

      I wouldn’t know which mushrooms were edible which might be dangerous! And no, no mud fights. Didn’t even slip and fall in the mud which I’m usually quite good at.

      Liked by 1 person

      • La Sabrosona December 8, 2015 / 23:15

        Oops I forgot to mention the mushroom hunt consisted of looking for mushrooms and then off with their heads with a stray, skinny tree branch πŸ™‚

        Like

  8. anotherday2paradise December 9, 2015 / 17:59

    What a lovely place to go walking, Anabel! The castle and grounds are beautiful, and I’m so happy you didn’t fall into the reservoir. πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. jazzfeathers December 9, 2015 / 20:49

    LOL! Always a good idea to fortify ourself before a walk.
    This is still another beautiful palce. And those mushrooms! Are they for real? πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 9, 2015 / 21:09

      Indeed, can’t function without lunch! Yes, the mushrooms are for real but no idea what kind they are.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. MartynWrites December 12, 2015 / 12:05

    I was wondering what Meikle means in Scots ? We’ve got Micklegate in York, the mickle bit coming from Old Norse for great.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 12, 2015 / 12:30

      Yes, same word essentially – it’s often spelled mickle here too. Also muckle! The joys of language.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. restlessjo December 13, 2015 / 09:41

    So sorry, Annabel! I’m sure I left a comment asking the origin of the name, but it doesn’t appear here. I did it on my phone and I’m not so proficient on there. Maybe I’m lurking in your spam? Thanks anyway! I did enjoy your company, as always. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 13, 2015 / 09:47

      No, nothing in spam! Your comment must be floating around the ether somewhere. Anyway, you maybe saw the cover station above about Meikle (big). Bin is a variation on Ben or Beinn as in Ben Lomond etc. Not sure why there are so many spellings!

      Like

      • restlessjo December 13, 2015 / 09:49

        Best place for it! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Yes thanks- I did!

        Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

