Edinburgh – everything is going to be alright

Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art - Everything is Going to be Alright
Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art – Everything is Going to be Alright

We visit Edinburgh quite often – but usually outside the festival season. The crowds are just too much! Our last visit was onย a cold day at the end of October. We started at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art, which is just as interesting outside as in.

From there, we walked part of the way back into town along the Water of Leith. At Dean Village, it seemed someone had been creating more modern art in the river.

We admired some of the building details and the view from Dean Bridge before continuing into the city centre.

Our next stop was at the National Portrait Gallery, where an art class was going on.

From there, we cut across Princes Street to the Royal Mile and continued down towards Holyrood, spotting more interesting details on the way.

We decided to climb Salisbury Crags – at least, as far as felt comfortable in city shoes.

We got great views of the Scottish Parliament, the Castle, Calton Hill and Holyrood Palace.

By this time, the light was fading and it was getting much colder so we walked back into the centre to meet a friend for beer and food.

I’m linking this post to Jo’s Monday Walks. This week she’s taking a sunset stroll in the Algarve so, if Edinburgh has made you feel chilly, head over there for a warm-up.

 

52 thoughts on “Edinburgh – everything is going to be alright

  1. corinnevail December 14, 2015 / 16:28

    We’d love to go back to Edinburgh…beautiful city!

    Like

  2. restlessjo December 14, 2015 / 16:32

    Two places I’ve not been in Edinburgh, Anabel- the National and the Portrait galleries. The latter looks superb. I’ve been meaning to walk in the Water of Leith area for the longest time. Don’t suppose I can persuade Jude to come up this far (before she makes it to Cornwall permanently ๐Ÿ™‚ ). Thanks a lot for the link.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh December 14, 2015 / 16:34

      Oh, they are both excellent! We walked from the city all the way down to Leith along the river once, but it was too cold this time.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Believe in Utopia December 14, 2015 / 17:34

    I have to admit to a rather immature aversion to Edinburgh, preferring the less refined streets and generally more raucous (in my opinion) Glasgow. But yes, I do feel I’m depriving myself of some excellent cultural and architectural attractions. Definitely on my list for some photos, but only when I’ve got plenty time! Great shots of the views.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 14, 2015 / 18:10

      Oh I totally agree, Glasgow’s miles better ๐Ÿ™‚ ! You’re not the only one playing with 80s slogans…..

      Like

      • VioletSky December 16, 2015 / 12:26

        I still have stickers and a button and the t-shirt that says Glasgow’s miles better! Loved that slogan ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  4. Heyjude December 14, 2015 / 17:56

    Love all the details. I have never been to Edinburgh other than driving through/around to the Forth Bridge, I really must remedy that. I think I’d prefer to visit in warmer climes, though not when the festival is on as I detest crowds. May might be a nice time.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 14, 2015 / 18:13

      Oh well, you wouldn’t be able to do that at the moment! Yes, May is often a good month up here, and slightly less tourist-ridden. August is definitely better avoided if you don’t like crowds.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Su Leslie December 14, 2015 / 18:04

    Lovely details! Edinburgh is one of my favourite cities and I do love the galleries. Do you know who did the “Everything is going to be alright” work? It reminds me of something similar I saw at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park, which said “everything is connected”. I’m wondering — same artist? Series? Cheers, Su.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 14, 2015 / 18:22

      It’s Martin Creed, see http://www.culture24.org.uk/art/art399888
      There’s another neon sculpture in the gallery saying There will be no miracles here. That’s by Nathan Coley, and I looked up the Yorkshire one which is by Peter Liversedge. So it’s obviously a common technique!

      Like

  6. anotherday2paradise December 14, 2015 / 21:10

    Lovely photos of a city I’ve never visited. It has some gorgeous architecture.

    Like

  7. vannillarock December 14, 2015 / 22:54

    Superb selection. I ought to do a parallel one of the best eateries you passed ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  8. Alex Hurst December 15, 2015 / 05:29

    I don’t know why, but I *really* like the look of the neon sign for the gallery on the old Grecian pillars. It looks like a beautiful harmony of warring periods and mentalities. Just super cool. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 15, 2015 / 07:38

      Yes, I love it too. There seems to be several artists producing neon word sculptures at the moment, but location is all – I wasn’t so struck when I saw one on a gallery wall. They need to be outside somewhere spectacular.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Debbie Smyth December 15, 2015 / 07:05

    I enjoyed coming on this walk with you this morning. I’m back there at the weekend in fact.

    Funnily enough, I nearly wrote up another Water of Leith walk from October when I met the guy doing that art in the water. I will get it up soon.

    Like

  10. Karen Thorburn December 15, 2015 / 09:23

    I’m glad you had a fun and busy day out in Edinburgh! I used to live just around the corner from the modern art gallery. I didn’t take many photographs of the city when I was living there but I was inspired to take this one of ‘Everything is Going to be Alright’: https://www.flickr.com/photos/karenthorburn/5488314285/ This always brought a smile to my face on my walk to and from the office!

    Like

  11. giselzitrone December 15, 2015 / 15:20

    Thank you einen schรถnen Nachmittag lieber GruรŸ und Umarmung Gislinde

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 15, 2015 / 15:29

      You have exposed the limits of my school German ๐Ÿ˜• I had to look up Umarmung but it’s obvious when you know!

      Like

  12. VioletSky December 16, 2015 / 12:27

    Love that you focused on the details, and then took us to those lovely views from on high.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 16, 2015 / 12:53

      Thanks – there’s so much to see in Edinburgh, not just the obvious stuff.

      Like

  13. nomad, interrupted December 16, 2015 / 18:17

    I love the slogan on the Scottish museum: Everything is Going to be Alright! It sounds so hopeful in this time when the world is so unsettled. Thank you for taking us along on your walk, Anabel. I love your views of Edinburgh. I’d really love to get to Scotland one of these days! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh December 16, 2015 / 18:37

      I hope you get here! Scotland has wonderful history and scenery.

      Like

      • nomad, interrupted December 16, 2015 / 18:45

        I hope so too! I hope I live long enough to see all the parts of the world I haven’t yet seen!! Too many places and not enough time. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh December 16, 2015 / 20:08

      Salisbury Crags and Arthur’s Seat (an extinct volcano) are right in the city. It’s quite something!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Pit December 17, 2015 / 02:28

    Hi Anabel,
    We enjoyed Edinburgh very much when we were there in 2013, and we need to com eback as our time there was way too short.
    Have a wonderful time,
    Pit

    Like

  15. Lori L MacLaughlin December 19, 2015 / 20:58

    Lovely views. We toured Edinburgh Castle when we were there. So many interesting things to see!

    Like

  16. cassam101 December 21, 2015 / 14:48

    This is next on my list,to go into Edinburgh once a month as we now live near a station where it’s easy to get the train. You make it all sound so interesting.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 21, 2015 / 15:52

      Great idea! We only manage 2 or 3 times a year, but should go more often.

      Like

  17. lisadorenfest December 22, 2015 / 01:25

    I ๐Ÿ’– Edinburgh. I was only there for a brief time before my camera days so I had no snaps of my time there….but now I do. I didn’t make it to the National Gallery so I missed the gorgeous interiors you show here…but I did recently see the traveling show from the National Gallery of Scotland here in Australia. ‘Twas grand. And your images make me hope to spend mor time traveling Scotland ….someday

    Like

  18. jazzfeathers December 26, 2015 / 19:45

    Beautiful.
    I visited Edimburgh only once, and I really hope one day I’ll go back. More than once ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  19. Lucid Gypsy December 28, 2015 / 18:27

    I’ve only ever spent one day in Edinburgh when my son was based at Faslane. I went to the National Gallery and up towards the castle, a beautiful city that I’d like to see more of!

    Like

  20. ledrakenoir December 30, 2015 / 07:51

    Fascinating and interesting walk, very well captured… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  21. sulewath January 8, 2016 / 16:52

    What great photos of Edinburgh! It’s a long time since I’ve been there and it was good to see and read about places in the city I hadn’t been to.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

