Bermuda benches

Hamilton City Hall
Bench sculpture: Hamilton City Hall and Arts Centre

For its final fling in December, Jude’s Bench Series is “anything goes”. Last month, we escaped the Glasgow weather for a week in Bermuda and did lots of bench-spotting so I’m piling them all in at once.

I love the top picture so much that I’m currently using it as my Twitter and Facebook avatar. It’s from the City of Hamilton, as are the two below of Fort Hamilton and the waterfront.

Outside Fort Scaur, John took a picture of me admiring the view in reasonable comfort. I snapped the one next to me to show that I’d definitely chosen the right bench.

Bermuda Benches

Bermuda Benches

Fort Scaur itself had a bench next to a very big gun!

Bermuda Benches

This bench and cross are at Heydon Chapel, with another gorgeous view.

Heydon Chapel

More broken benches at Parson’s Cove:

A stone bench at Crow Lane Park:

Bermuda Benches

Contemplating the sea on the North Shore:

Bermuda Benches

And, finally, Whale Bay where I loved the contrast of the emerald grass, the turquoise sea and the bench dividing the two.

Bermuda Benches

There’ll be more on Bermuda in the New Year, but this is my final post of 2015. In the meantime, Season’s Greetings to you all however, whatever, and wherever you will be celebrating in the next couple of weeks. See you in 2016!

60 thoughts on “Bermuda benches

  1. VioletSky December 17, 2015 / 12:30

    Oh my … am drooling at the moment!
    Yes, yes, benches – but really, it’s all about that beautiful turquoise water!
    Merry Christmas to you.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 17, 2015 / 13:06

      You too! It wasn’t that colour every day, but when it was it was amazing.

      Like

  2. nomad, interrupted December 17, 2015 / 12:57

    It looks like you had a wonderful time in Bermuda. That’s another place I’d really love to visit! 🙂 Happy holidays!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 17, 2015 / 13:07

      You too! Much more on Bermuda next year – given up trying to blog at the moment.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Heyjude December 17, 2015 / 13:26

    What a finale! You know you didn’t have to go all the way to Bermuda to find benches for me, but I am so glad you did 😉 Have to agree with you that the first one is the best, what a gorgeous statue. The benches by the turquoise water remind me a lot of Australia for some reason. Thank you Anabel for joining in with the bench photos this year, I have enjoyed them all. Have a good time off the blog and enjoy your Christmas. See you in 2016 🙂
    Jude xx

    Liked by 2 people

  4. helenmackinven December 17, 2015 / 13:50

    The colour of the sea is stunning. I’m not jealous at all of your winter sun! 😉

    Like

  5. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy December 17, 2015 / 15:52

    Have a wonderful (and restful) Christmas and New Year!

    I love these benches – the ones with the ocean views make me want to plan a trip right now!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 17, 2015 / 16:35

      Thank you Sarah and Choppy! Even if I’m not blogging I stil need to visit you though to find out what that naughty elf is up to.

      Like

  6. susan@marsha'sbungalow December 17, 2015 / 16:15

    Never been to Bermuda, but what a treat it must be. Enjoy your seasonal break from blogging!

    Like

  7. joylovestravel December 17, 2015 / 16:21

    Looks gorgeous, always fancied a trip to Bermuda so very much looking forward to your upcoming posts. Merry Christmas – hope it’s a good one Anabel!

    Like

  8. dormousetidings December 17, 2015 / 21:22

    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog throughout the year Annabel, ‘Merry Christmas!”

    Like

  9. kowkla123 December 18, 2015 / 13:28

    echt schön, schönen Freitag wünsche ich dir

    Like

  10. slfinnell December 18, 2015 / 15:32

    Winter’s just begun here and those benches make me long for warmer weather! Happy Holidays!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 18, 2015 / 16:16

      And to you! I can’t wait for better weather either, it is wet and dreary here.

      Like

  11. anotherday2paradise December 18, 2015 / 21:31

    Lovely photos, Annabel. There’s certainly no shortage of benches in Bermuda. Enjoy the holidays and end of year festivities. 🙂

    Like

  12. Silvia Writes December 18, 2015 / 22:43

    So very beautiful and peaceful-looking. Great pictures. Looks like you had a great time.

    Like

  13. restlessjo December 19, 2015 / 15:16

    You confused me with that first bench (SO easily done 🙂 ). What a beauty! But I thought it was in Bermuda. All became clear as I read on. Please can I have that bench with a view? That sea is just so…
    Merry Christmas! See you in 2016 if not before 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 19, 2015 / 16:19

      Unfortunate that we can’t import the turquoise sea and sky! Have a great Christmas yourself (though I hope to be still blog-reading, just not writing.)

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Lori L MacLaughlin December 19, 2015 / 20:50

    Love those benches by the sea! Nice to see you didn’t get lost in the Bermuda Triangle. Looking forward to reading and seeing more about Bermuda in the New Year! Have a wonderful holiday!

    Like

  15. Rhonda Albom December 19, 2015 / 22:18

    The sea is such a lovely colour. I love the first bench with the statue.

    Like

  16. tgeriatrix December 20, 2015 / 06:28

    Thanks for sharing all these wonderful benches and views! Happy holiday to you too!

    Like

  17. cassam101 December 21, 2015 / 14:45

    Lovely views. I really like the stone bench with the trees behind it but you may need a cushion to sit there. Happy Christmas,have a lovely time.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 21, 2015 / 15:53

      Thanks Anne! I hope you have a great Christmas too.

      Like

  18. lisadorenfest December 22, 2015 / 01:27

    So much beauty in this post (can’t go wrong with Bermuda) but the first and last images are my absolute favs. Happy Holidays and a prosperous and healthy 2016. See ya next year!

    Like

  19. Susan Ozmore December 22, 2015 / 22:55

    As always the photos are gorgeous. We’ve had a mild December, but they help take the chill off. I hope you have a very happy holiday. I’m sure you’ll celebrate in style.

    Like

  20. Jay December 22, 2015 / 23:12

    One of those benches is VERY minimalist.
    Lovely series.

    Like

  21. Jessica (Diverting Journeys) December 24, 2015 / 00:08

    That first bench is wonderful. Even though a statue on a bench reduces the seating capacity, I still love ’em. I’m partial to the FDR/Churchill bench on Bond Street, myself. Enjoy your blogging-break!

    Like

  22. jazzfeathers December 26, 2015 / 19:48

    I love the stone bench!

    Happy New Year, Anabel. I can’t wait to read all your new posts and see so many new places 🙂

    Like

  23. Marcia Strykowski December 28, 2015 / 17:23

    Absolutely love that Hamilton bench sculpture, almost as much as I love the colors of Bermuda!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 28, 2015 / 18:00

      The bench sculpture definitely appeals to book lovers!

      Like

  24. Su Leslie December 31, 2015 / 20:53

    What a fab place to escape to! Wishing you a very happy New Year and one filled with new adventures (which you can share with us here). Cheers, Su.

    Like

  25. budgettraveltalk December 31, 2015 / 22:29

    I’ve never considered visiting Bermuda. Is it mainly accessed from the U.K.? Thanks for dropping by my blog Anabel and have a lovely new year.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh December 31, 2015 / 22:37

      UK and US mainly. It’s tiny so most people probably don’t notice it!

      Like

  26. rosemaylily2014 January 2, 2016 / 10:29

    Very interested to read a bit about Bermuda, Anabel as I don’t know much about it (apart from the triangle!). It looks a lovely place and you have certainly taken some gorgeous photos. Wishing you a wonderful 2016 and happy blogging! 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

