The Glasgow Gallivanter

gallivant: to go around from one place to another in the pursuit of pleasure or entertainment.

I think that might be a good description of what I do, no? When I started Anabel’s Travel Blog I had good reasons for choosing such a prosaic title which are no longer relevant. At first, it did what it said on the tin, but lately I’ve been writing a lot more about Glasgow and its surroundings. I’ve also found the title a bit restricting: I might want to write about something else occasionally and, indeed, I do on Adventures of a Retired Librarian which I now intend to –ย well, retire! Hence the change to The Glasgow Gallivanter.

So new year, new title – but before plunging into 2016, a quick look back at 2015. Myย page-views more than doubled, though I admit to suspicion about WordPress’s stats. I’ve had a few of those “Your stats are spiking” messages where investigation showed one post, or even one image, was getting multiple hits in a very short space of time. As an example, my top-read post in 2015 was apparently A visit to Cambridge. Huh? Written in July 2012, it has no likes and no comments – I hadn’t learned how to make friends yet – so how did that get there? Spam bots? I don’t know – but I’m happy to accept the upward trajectory even if I don’t believe the actual figures. I’ve posted more frequently and made more connections with all you lovely people reading this right now.

Thank you for your companionship in 2015. I look forwardย gallivanting with you in 2016.

 

60 thoughts on “The Glasgow Gallivanter

  1. Solveig January 7, 2016 / 12:11

    I am looking forward to he name related changes ๐Ÿ™‚
    I had one of my top posts was visited one day God knows how many times from Russia. That did not happen again but was quite obvious…

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 7, 2016 / 12:14

      Thank you! I don’t think there’ll be much difference, maybe a bit more about books and libraries.

      Like

  2. VioletSky January 7, 2016 / 12:23

    I like the alliteration. And I hope to get back into writing/posting and visiting more often….

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 7, 2016 / 12:33

      Yes, I do like a nice bit of alliteration! Next week I’m definitely going to post some “real” stuff. I think….

      Like

  3. Suzanne et Pierre January 7, 2016 / 13:20

    Nice title. I am dreadful at thinking of good titles. It is always the most difficult part of any article I post on my blog and the title of our blog is very boring but we can’t think of anything else plus we do everything in 2 languages so it adds an element of complexity. Looking forward to continue following your adventures!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 7, 2016 / 14:07

      Thank you! It wasn’t what I originally planned to change it to, I just had a light-bulb moment when it came to me. As I said in another comment, I like a nice alliteration.

      Like

  4. joylovestravel January 7, 2016 / 14:07

    Great new name Anabel – I feel mine lacks any oomph but never get around to doing anything about it!! Looking forward to reading about your 2016 gallivanting.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 7, 2016 / 14:10

      Thanks Joy! Joy Loves Travel is definitely a better title than Anabel’s Travel Blog.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Eunice January 7, 2016 / 14:16

    Love the new title, and I do like the alliteration.

    I suppose I really should change the title of my blog as the ‘caravan’ bit hasn’t been relevant for some time, but I’ve had the name for over five years and I’m used to it.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 7, 2016 / 14:46

      I felt the same – I was used to it – but I’ve been meaning to tidy up my blogging life for a while so decided just to go for it.

      Like

  6. anotherday2paradise January 7, 2016 / 14:21

    Great new look and title, Anabel. I enjoy your gallivanting very much. I’m also often puzzled by the WordPress spiking stats notices I get. ๐Ÿ˜•

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 7, 2016 / 14:48

      Thank you! It seems it’s a general problem then. I must remember to check next time if I get a lot of spam comments soon afterwards which would bear out my theory of a spam bot at work.

      Like

  7. Pit January 7, 2016 / 14:39

    Hi Anabel,
    I like the new name and am looking forward to gallivant around Glasgow with you,
    Pit

    Like

  8. Heyjude January 7, 2016 / 15:13

    I love the new name too. It is funny how a blog changes over time isn’t it? My travel words has become less about travel recently and more about the place I live in, as travelling further afield has dwindled. And I have to agree with you on the stats, one of my ‘top’ posts on the flower blog was a fairly insipid horse chestnut photo from 2013, with 3 comments (one mine) and 1 like! What?????

    I look forward to gallivanting through 2016 with you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 7, 2016 / 16:17

      Yes, let’s gallivant through 2016, taking the stats with a pinch of salt as we go. I need to get a winter gardens post sorted next! And a walk for Monday.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heyjude January 7, 2016 / 18:48

        They should keep you busy, and I know you have a fabulous winter garden in Glasgow, as you have teased me on the bench challenge ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  9. Denzil January 7, 2016 / 15:17

    Gleefully looking forward to getting to grips with gambols galore from Glasgow’s greatest gallivanter. Greetings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh January 7, 2016 / 16:18

      Oh now, that’s clever! I thought I was doing well with two Gs.

      Like

  10. helenmackinven January 7, 2016 / 18:31

    Great name and I look forward to following your adventures! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  11. Jemima Pett January 7, 2016 / 20:18

    Great title! I know what you mean about wordpress stats, although they are more reliable than bloggers, which counts all the spam and bot visits. WordPress does filter them out, as it does from the author of the post, but recently I’ve spotted that it counts my own visits if I’m not logged in, which it didn’t in the past. Maybe it’s just confused.

    Like

  12. Su Leslie January 7, 2016 / 20:21

    Love the new title; and I’m looking forward to adventuring with you again this year!

    Like

  13. ms6282 January 7, 2016 / 20:50

    Galivant – a good word. Works in Lancashire too!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 7, 2016 / 21:14

      Ah, but you wouldn’t have the alliteration! If I lived in Lancashire I think I’d be a Lolloper ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      • ms6282 January 7, 2016 / 21:32

        Not sure about that! Wigan wanderer?

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh January 7, 2016 / 21:44

          Sounds like a football team – and if it isn’t it should be!

          Like

  14. Adriana January 8, 2016 / 00:25

    Great new title Anabel, looking forward to your ‘gallivants’, so to speak !

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 8, 2016 / 07:40

      Thanks Adi! I’ll do my best to gallivant appropriately.

      Like

  15. dormousetidings January 8, 2016 / 02:07

    I love the new title of your blog Anabel! My mother used to always chastise me for ‘gallivanting around the countryside’; a derogative comment for me never staying at home and doing, I don’t know, perhaps ordinary mundane things! So, bearing that in mind, I wish you a year full of exciting adventures gallivanting around the globe!

    Like

  16. Birgit January 8, 2016 / 03:20

    Love the new name! I think it’s perfect!

    Like

  17. Lynne Rickards January 8, 2016 / 10:45

    Hi Anabel,
    I was intrigued by your experience of WordPress stats, as I’ve had a similar experience. My all-time best day was in September 2012 when 1,750 people Googled “Victorian Time” and found my blog (I don’t think!) Today I’ve got one visitor viewing 35 posts, but the country breakdown lists the USA, Malaysia, Ukraine and Canada. I guess we have to take these things with a pinch of salt!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 8, 2016 / 12:55

      Exactly! Seems from the comments a few people have had this, though I don’t remember noticing it before 2015. Maybe I wasn’t paying attention!

      Like

  18. claudiabookwright January 8, 2016 / 11:40

    I know what you mean about stats. My blog isn’t on WordPress, but I get truly odd numbers, too. Like 20 a day from Russia, four days running, having had none from there before. And, as for your A Visit to Cambridge, you now have one like and it’s legitimate. It is mine. Like your new title, too.

    Like

  19. Indah Susanti January 9, 2016 / 04:15

    Love the name! A great change to start the new year ๐Ÿ™‚ wishing you a wonderful 2016!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 9, 2016 / 09:43

      Thank you! All the best to you too – big changes ahead.

      Like

  20. restlessjo January 9, 2016 / 15:10

    I think you’ll make excellent company, Lady Gallivanter ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  21. rosemaylily2014 January 9, 2016 / 15:11

    Great name Anabel – love it! I’m none too sure about all the stats either – I also get strange spikes every so often, which I suspect are some spam bot but it’s still nice to get a stats boost!! All the very best for your blog in 2016 and I shall enjoy reading your posts and updates ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  22. corinnevail January 10, 2016 / 10:12

    Anabel, I love your new name! I think it fits to a “T”, or a “G” as the letter goes. Happy, happy New Year to you and John!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 10, 2016 / 10:16

      Thanks Corinne! And to you and Jim. Happy gallivanting….

      Like

  23. lisadorenfest January 10, 2016 / 11:33

    I think that this is a perfect ‘rebranding’ of your blog. Love it!

    Like

  24. jazzfeathers January 21, 2016 / 08:12

    In fact I was wondering, has the name of the blog changed?
    I love the new name ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

