Bermuda: Coco Reef

Coco Reef, Bermuda
Coco Reef, Bermuda

At the beginning of November we escaped the dreich Glasgow weather for a week in Bermuda. Those who knew of my antipathy to beach holidays were bemused, even more so when I said “No, it’s going to be a walking holiday!” For only 17 years (1931-1948) Bermuda had a 22-mile railway which is now (largely) available as a trail for walkers and cyclists (see the Bermuda Railway Pages for more information about both). Over 7 days, we managed to walk most of it.

In any case, the weather, although warm, was a bit too stormy for beach activities. Hurricane Kate passed nearby while we were there, bringing rain and quite a lot of wind on some days, as seen below.

Our base, the Coco Reef Hotel, was in a lovely setting.

The room was comfortable, although I found being watched by the lady in the picture a bit scary. But who could quibble with a balcony with a sea view?

The holiday was arranged by Headwater – we’ve travelled with them in the past, but mainly in Europe, walking from hotel to hotel while the local rep moves your baggage. We haven’t used a travel company for some years, but I picked up their brochure when looking for ideas and this jumped out. I’m glad it did!

More on the walks we did to follow.

33 thoughts on “Bermuda: Coco Reef

  1. mopana January 14, 2016 / 13:13

    That’s the vacation I want for this summer. Daddy, you hear me? :)) Very nice place, indeed. I think it worthed any penny.

    Like

  2. joylovestravel January 14, 2016 / 14:20

    Looks gorgeous, I hate beach holidays too but that beach in the picture is stunning. Never been to Bermuda, looking forward to reading about all your walks and treks Anabel.

    Like

  3. susan@marsha'sbungalow January 14, 2016 / 15:45

    Thanks for the link to Headwater. For years, I’ve wanted to do this type of vacation – so far as I know, there’s nothing like it in the USA 😦 . We have either rustic wilderness trails or sidewalks. Congrats for tackling the entire 22 miles!

    Like

  4. Birgit January 14, 2016 / 19:35

    This looks so nice and I am one for swimming in the ocean provided no sharks want to munch down on me. It looks like you had some excitement with a hurricane nearby. I can’t wait to see your walks

    Like

  5. Marcia Strykowski January 14, 2016 / 21:52

    Your room and view look beautiful. Looking forward to more pictures; I love the bright colors of Bermuda.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 14, 2016 / 23:06

      Yes, loved all the pastel coloured houses. And the blue sea and sky of course.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lynne Rickards January 14, 2016 / 23:36

    Gorgeous photos, Anabel! I’m not a beach person either but it does look pretty stunning!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 15, 2016 / 07:38

      Thank you! We spent zero time sitting on a beach but walked across quite a few.

      Like

  7. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy January 16, 2016 / 14:49

    We’re leaving for warmer weather in two weeks (I will actually be on a plane to said warmer weather exactly two weeks from this moment!). I would take the windy weather, so long as it is warm!

    And I can’t wait to hear about your walks. We are headed to Key West, where we will be car-less for a week. Much, much walking is in my future, and I can’t wait!

    Like

  8. restlessjo January 16, 2016 / 20:03

    Well, you did have blue skies some of the time… 🙂 Better than you’ve probably done in Glasgow lately. I have railway walks very nearby but I find most of them rather boring. I’m sure I’ll like the Bermuda variety though 🙂 If all else fails, dare I mention a beach?

    Like

  9. Drue & Jayme January 16, 2016 / 22:25

    Extremely jealous of all the beautiful places you are able to travel too! The photos of the hotel look absolutely beautiful. Take me there!

    Like

  10. jazzfeathers January 21, 2016 / 08:18

    This sounds like quite the alternative holiday.
    The place looks lovely, and the weather… alternative at time, right? 😉

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 21, 2016 / 08:37

      Not quite the balmy weather we hoped for but good enough most of the time!

      Like

  11. Majka February 12, 2016 / 14:25

    Bermuda is not so far from Jamaica and I hope I can visit it one day with my husband. Thanks for beautiful photos and description.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 12, 2016 / 15:29

      Thank you – I’m glad you liked the photos. It’s a beautiful place so I hope you get there some day.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

