Bermuda: coasts and caves

Bermuda: Coasts and Caves

On days 4-6 of our Bermuda break, we continued to tramp the Railway Trail up and down the islands. As one lovely bay looks very like another, I’ll restrict myself to highlights.

Day 4

Bailey's Bay, Bermuda
Bailey’s Bay, Bermuda

On Day 4, we walked the North Shore through Bailey’s Bay (above) and on to Coney Island. From here, we could see the Martello Tower at Ferry Point which we’d approached from the other side a few days before. We visited two caves, one at Blue Hole Park that you just climbed up and walked into, and the more complex Crystal Cave which you paid to enter. The day finished at the Swizzle Inn where we tried one of the local tipples – rum swizzle (too sweet!)

Day 5

On Day 5 we returned to Somerset Bridge where we started our very first walk, but this time we turned east instead of west. Highlights included Whale Bay and the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse.

John had the energy to climb the lighthouse tower for the view. I relaxed on a bench with a cold drink!

View from the lighthouse
View from the lighthouse

Day 7

Our final walk took us along the South Shore from Horseshoe Bay – the prettiest part of the coast we had seen all week, and there was some competition!

Flora and fauna

The Railway Trail

Although we had almost a full day in Bermuda before our flight the next evening, this was our last excursion along the Railway Trail. I confess my expectations were rather more sophisticated than the trail turned out to be. At its best, it looked like this:

However, a lot of the time it ran parallel to a road, or even became the road, so I don’t think I’d want to follow it again. That’s not to say I wouldn’t go back to Bermuda – I would, but I’d spend more time exploring the towns and some of the lovely little museums which we missed because we were so busy walking.

One more post to go – on Bermuda’s capital, the City of Hamilton.

21 thoughts on “Bermuda: coasts and caves

    • Anabel Marsh January 21, 2016 / 15:39

      Thank you! I try not to plaster our faces over the blog too much, but like the occasional one – it is my holiday diary after all! Strangely, we have far fewer pictures of ourselves these days anyway – my focus is always on finding a view to post. I’ve been looking over some photos from 2007 to do some retrospective blogging and far more of them have us in them.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Heyjude January 21, 2016 / 22:18

    I agree – the South Shore is stunning!

    Like

  2. Birgit January 22, 2016 / 01:49

    Some great pictures and I love caves! I have only been in one near Graz, Austria (Lurgrotte) and some caves at the Salzburg zoo when I was 8 (Can’t go to them now). The crystal cave looks neat. I would have been exploring the museums and towns if I know me. I love that bird-so pretty

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 22, 2016 / 07:35

      Yes, I’m sorry we missed the museums – but it leaves something to go back for!

      Like

  3. anotherday2paradise January 22, 2016 / 03:16

    What a lovely place to go exploring, Anabel .The lighthouse looks so tall. I wonder how many steps John had to climb. 🙂

    Like

  4. jazzfeathers January 23, 2016 / 21:39

    Everythign I see is lovely… especially that lighthouse. There’s something inherently fascinating about lighthouses, I think, but don’t ask me why.

    That’s a shame the railway trail proved to be disappointing. From the pictures you’re posting I’d say there’s something mysterious about it. But maybe that’s because I’m looking at pictures from my home 😉

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 23, 2016 / 21:43

      I love lighthouses too and would normally climb to the top if given the chance – just too tired this time! The trail was ok, but if we go again we will know the best bits to do and leave the rest. I just loved the islands overall.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. restlessjo January 23, 2016 / 22:30

    The photographer AND the lighthouse climber! What a hard life he has 🙂
    Those beaches and coves do look glorious.

    Like

  6. Lori L MacLaughlin January 24, 2016 / 03:14

    Swizzle Inn. I love the name. Beautiful views! (And photos!) Makes me wish it was warmer here so I could go to the beach.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 24, 2016 / 08:33

      Yes, it was nice to be writing this with horrible weather outside – something sunny to look back on.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

