Mugdock in the snow

Craigend Pond
Craigend Pond

It stopped raining last weekend! Just so that it could snow. Anyway, it was good to get out for a walk, or more like a slither, round Mugdock Country Park which looked beautiful: gleaming white. The park is home to a 14th century castle and the ruins of two mansions with their associated out-buildings and gardens. From 1949-1955 it also had a zoo, with lions and an elephant, but thankfully there is now no trace of that.

Walled Garden
Walled Garden
Visitor Centre (Craigend Stables)
Visitor Centre (Craigend Stables)
Craigend Field
Craigend Field
Craigend Castle
Craigend Castle
Mugdock Castle
Mugdock Castle
John
John
Garden at Mugdock Castle
Garden at Mugdock Castle
Garden and Georgian summerhouse
Garden and Georgian summerhouse
Mugdock Castle and remains of Victorian mansion
Mugdock Castle and remains of Victorian mansion
Archers
Archers

Linked to Jo’s Monday Walks and Jude’s Winter Gardens Challenge. Both well worth a look!

58 thoughts on “Mugdock in the snow

  1. hungrydai January 25, 2016 / 10:50

    I bet there are ghosts roaming about there

    Like

  2. Karen Thorburn January 25, 2016 / 11:04

    Lovely to see some snowy pictures after all the unseasonably mild weather we’ve been having! Last weekend I was photographing sea ice and this weekend I was almost too warm wearing a coat outdoors. Good to see you getting out and about regardless of what the weather is doing.

    Like

  3. westenddaze January 25, 2016 / 11:26

    Oh I have never been to mugdock park but may have to take a wee trip as it looks lovely

    Like

  4. TanGental January 25, 2016 / 12:07

    looks great; given the recent rains I bet the snow hides a multitude of muddy sins!

    Like

  5. restlessjo January 25, 2016 / 12:40

    Absolutely a winter garden, Anabel! I think the summerhouse may have been misnamed 🙂
    Your John always looks so cheerful. He was obviously pleased it had stopped raining! Many thanks for the link up.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 25, 2016 / 12:47

      Thanks Jo. The summer house was very dank inside – we didn’t think it would be nice even in the summer! John likes to be out and about, hence the cheery looks.

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 25, 2016 / 15:09

      Thanks Suzanne. Can’t quite compete with your snow though (thank goodness!)

      Like

      • Suzanne et Pierre January 25, 2016 / 15:11

        Montreal was spared the big storm that hit New York & Washington and good chunk of the US East Coast. We still don’t have much snow on the ground this year; only one big storm so far. But you are right that we probably have more than you do…

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh January 25, 2016 / 15:29

          I’m sure you do! Ours all disappeared again the next day.

          Like

  6. anotherday2paradise January 25, 2016 / 15:24

    What a great place to go slithering! I’m amazed that John isn’t wearing a hat to keep his head warm. 🙂

    Like

  7. Heyjude January 25, 2016 / 17:59

    So lovely to see a proper winter garden looking very wintry! Now you have to explain the name MUGDOCK – I had to look twice. Sounds like something from Harry Potter (not that I am a HP fan)

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 25, 2016 / 20:31

      Seems to be the name of an ancient battle but still don’t know what it means:

      ‘In the same year [i.e. 750] was the battle of Mygedawc, where the Britons were victorious over the Pictish Gaels after a bloody battle.’

      Interval research!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heyjude January 25, 2016 / 23:00

        Sounds Welsh! Celtic I suppose.

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh January 25, 2016 / 23:22

          I think that description came from a Welsh chronicle, could have been spelt differently up here!

          Like

  8. nomad, interrupted January 25, 2016 / 18:34

    Thanks for taking us on your walk through this wintery whiteness, Anabel. We’re covered in snow here on the east coast, but it’s not easy to walk through the two foot snow and the huge piles pushed to the sides by the snowplows. So I get to walk vicariously through you! 🙂

    Like

  9. Birgit January 25, 2016 / 19:53

    This looks like such a pretty walk with a certain sadness considering the mansions(I am thinking Downton Abbey gone under). I used to like archery

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 25, 2016 / 20:33

      Not nearly so grand as Downton, but sad to see them falling down.

      Like

  10. Silvia Writes January 25, 2016 / 22:59

    Looks just beautiful. Over here, out weather cant decide between El Nino storms and summer days. I would love to walk through that park.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 25, 2016 / 23:13

      Thanks, Silvia. Ours has warmed up a bit (which means rain – no hint of summer about it!)

      Like

  11. Susan Ozmore January 26, 2016 / 19:07

    Lovely. Looks like about the amount of snow I got. I’m far enough south that the real blizzard here on the east coast didn’t hit me. We got more freezing rain, which of course meant about 12 hours without power, but I’ll take it above 2+ feet of snow. I always enjoy your photos. Thanks.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 26, 2016 / 20:17

      Oh dear, no power sounds bad! Hope all is ok now. Our snow disappeared very quickly and it’s warmer and wetter now. Miserable, in other words.

      Like

      • Susan Ozmore January 26, 2016 / 20:20

        All better now and 50 degrees 🙂 I was just looking at the A to Z sign up. I have cold feet!

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh January 26, 2016 / 20:24

          I’m not going for it either! I had a good idea, but when I sat down to work it out there was a surprisingly large number of letters missing so I’ll either do more research for next year or write about the ones I really want to write about as an occasional series. Look out for some historical women in that case.

          Like

          • Susan Ozmore January 26, 2016 / 20:25

            I’m still undecided, but I’ve been working on posts which won’t be wasted. I’ll look forward to some historical women from you!

            Liked by 1 person

  12. Su Leslie January 26, 2016 / 20:07

    Lovely, delicious-looking snow. It’s ridiculously hot and humid here and I am unreasonably envious of your walk.

    Like

  13. budgettraveltalk January 26, 2016 / 22:32

    So you and New York City – both under a blanket of white. Better than cold rain I’d say. We get warm rain where I live which isn’t so bad. Actually we like the rain because it cools us down lol.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 26, 2016 / 23:02

      Ours has gone now and left cold rain – yuck! At least the snow is pretty.

      Like

  14. hilarymb January 27, 2016 / 16:55

    Hi Anabel … yugh – it’s not so cold down here I’m thankful to say – but wet today. That looks a wonderful park to wander round in when it’s slightly warmer – but I too feel I need to get out … I’m going tomorrow … cheers Hilary

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 27, 2016 / 17:17

      It looked very pretty in the snow – but I’d rather have the sun myself!

      Like

  15. rosemaylily2014 January 30, 2016 / 07:40

    The scenery looks so pretty in the snow Anabel but it must have been very cold (well at least to someone acclimatised to warmer climes now!!)

    Like

  16. Tish Farrell February 2, 2016 / 17:15

    The snow and frost add a sense of mystery. I love the icy pond, and Mugdock Castle looks to have a few tales to tell.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 2, 2016 / 18:16

      Thanks for visiting – it certainly had an other-worldly feel to it that day.

      Like

  17. jazzfeathers February 4, 2016 / 20:18

    Looks like fairyland. There’s something about snow that turns everything to magic 🙂

    Like

  18. Candia June 10, 2016 / 06:26

    How could I have lived in Milngavie and not visited the castle, which was owned by the Grahams, I believe, who married into our family? Too busy with teaching and having a baby, perhaps…

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 10, 2016 / 06:58

      Another one definitely worth visiting! Plenty of families there every time we go so it’s child-friendly. Thanks for your comments and likes.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

