National Libraries Day

National Libraries Day

Libraries in the UK are loved, valued and were visited an astonishing 265 million times last year! Libraries are a vitally important public service which can be celebrated on National Libraries Day, this Saturday 6 February 2016. The NLD website has suggestions for activities, downloadable resources and an event map – or check out what your own local library is doing. Mine, Glasgow’s Mitchell, is revealing the Top 10 Burns poems and songs as voted for by its users, with a recital of the Top 5 and a display of Burns Treasures.

Why should you support libraries? Did you know that every week two libraries in the UK close their doors for good? If you don’t use them yourself, is it because you can afford to buy books and pay for a good broadband connection? But what if you couldn’t? As Nick Poole says in a recent Mirror article “It’s hard to understand the impact of these cuts when you’re well-off, have easy access to the internet and can buy the books you want. But for millions of poor families, jobseekers and people with disabilities a library is a lifeline.”

CILIP (Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals) is running a campaign called My Library By Right. Follow the link if you’d like to know more, and please, please sign their petition along with (so far) almost 12,000 other people, including famous authors such as Joanna Trollope and Andrew Motion. Signing it would be a great way to celebrate National Libraries Day.

PS I hope regular readers aren’t too bemused by the sudden appearance of a library-themed post. I used to blog semi-regularly at Adventures of a Retired Librarian but I’ve decided to let that lapse and concentrate my efforts here, so you’ll be seeing occasional posts about libraries and books.

28 thoughts on “National Libraries Day

  1. slfinnell February 5, 2016 / 13:19

    Our fine city just spent s big chunk of change redoing the brickwork on our library. Major undertaking. Proud of our officials for not letting it go beyond fixing. Great post!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 5, 2016 / 14:14

      Well done them! One of our libraries has been closed for months because the roof leaked and they don’t seem in any hurry to fix it 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Suzanne et Pierre February 5, 2016 / 14:33

    I am an avid user of Public Libraries though a fairly recent one (even though I am a trained librarian but I only ever work in corporate business libraries and only for a few years before moving on to other roles). I used to buy all of my books as I like to keep them and sometimes reread them. But as we have now moved into smaller space, our books had to go and we have no space to add more so I started using the library (both actual books and e-books) and love it. I do have to sometimes reserve the book I want because otherwise I would never get it but it simply needs a bit of organizing what I want to read. It is also a great way to save money…

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 5, 2016 / 18:10

      I keep discovering people who used to be librarians! Glad you are finding your local library useful. I value mine and wouldn’t like it to disappear.

      Like

  3. Lori L MacLaughlin February 5, 2016 / 14:34

    I love libraries! We go to our local library all the time. We all love to read, and they also have a board game night my son enjoys. Our library was expanded a couple of years ago, so now they have many more programs and fun things going on there. I couldn’t imagine living in a place that didn’t have one.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 5, 2016 / 18:11

      Me neither! But too many (not where I live) are being handed over to volunteers or made entirely self-service.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Alex Hurst February 5, 2016 / 14:38

    I can’t wait until I’m in Vancouver… they have this awesome public library that I can’t wait to spend a ton of time at. 🙂

    Like

  5. darwinontherocks February 5, 2016 / 15:37

    When I was younger, I was borrowing books at the library all the time, then a bit later, I studied over there. Now.. I mostly visit them for my pleasure. Last one I visited was in Manchester and it was really interesting !

    Like

  6. Hilary February 5, 2016 / 17:47

    Hi Anabel – I’m not good at using our library and really should do so more … I remember at times – but have always relied on books at home etc … I shall go down tomorrow .. cheers Hilary

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 5, 2016 / 18:14

      Oh good! Wish them a happy National Libraries Day.

      Like

  7. Jemima Pett February 5, 2016 / 21:14

    D’oh I forgot about this. But I have now got my library card again, so maybe I’ll remember next year!

    Like

  8. Adriana February 5, 2016 / 22:50

    Fighting the good fight Anabel, xx.

    Like

  9. ms6282 February 6, 2016 / 23:29

    It was a rotton rainy day down here today so didn’t get out and visit the library. So don’t know if they had any activities for National Library day. My daughter used to work in a branch library. She enjoyed working there with a nice group of co-workers and then was redeployed to a different branch due to curbacks (she’s at University now). I fear fo the future of librairies as havng books available for free is not a priority by this Government

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 6, 2016 / 23:43

      No, it is not. They just don’t see the value of libraries 😦 It’s especially stupid not to support them when at the same time they are transferring so much online, job seeking etc. Many people still don’t have Internet access and the library is a good place to get it with staff who can help. Libraries also = literacy and an informed and educated population. Perhaps they don’t want that though!

      Glad to hear your daughter enjoyed working in a library.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ms6282 February 6, 2016 / 23:48

        You’re certainly right about Internet access which is now becoming mandatory for many things.. (best not get started on that). Perhaps they want to make access difficult to reduce claims. Or is that me being cynical?

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh February 6, 2016 / 23:56

          Not at all! Well, a bit, but you can be cynical and right at the same time….

          Like

  10. clicksclan February 7, 2016 / 13:27

    I don’t get to visit my local library as much as I used to, which is a shame. They’ve always been fantastic about ordering books in for me on Inter-Library Loan; 70p for a book I’d have to pay £7 for to buy it myself!

    Of course, when I was at Jordanhill I practically lived in the library! 😉

    Like

  11. Birgit February 9, 2016 / 01:09

    It is sad to think how many libraries are closed down and it is not just because of the internet. I find that there are less and less people actually reading.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 9, 2016 / 07:32

      There are a lot of competing activities these days I suppose. But it doesn’t help when even many of the libraries that stay open reduce hours, spend less on stock and replace staff with volunteers. People jus stop going eventually 😦

      Like

  12. lisadorenfest February 9, 2016 / 02:11

    Not bemused at all. I think that it is great to include this here. And I agree with you.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

