Galapagos 1999

MN Santa Cruz
MN Santa Cruz
Galapagos – the holiday of a lifetime! I’m not usually an avid wildlife watcher, but I’d been interested in Galapagos since I studied a genetics course in the early 80s and learned about Darwin’s finches. It wasn’t until I saw a programme on TV about the islands that I realised you could actually go there as a tourist, and booked up forthwith.

In the summer of 1999 we spent four nights in Galapagos aboard the MN Santa Cruz. The ship cruised as we slept or at lunch time, so that twice a day we were taken off by Panga to explore a new island. Life on board was comfortable and sociable, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Before arriving in Galapagos, we visited Ecuador’s capital, Quito, and on our way to and from the UK we stopped briefly in Cuba. I wrote about both of these in 2014’s A to Z Challenge:

H is for Havana

Q is for Quito

Over the next three Thursdays, I’ll take you to the islands we visited and show you some of the wildlife we encountered. NB we didn’t have a digital camera in 1999, so all the photos are scanned. Forgive the quality!

29 thoughts on “Galapagos 1999

  1. joylovestravel February 18, 2016 / 11:34

    That sounds like an incredible trip Anabel – very much looking forward to reading more!!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 18, 2016 / 12:11

      Thanks! In one way, it’s the opposite of the Rockies where I had forgotten how spectacular our photos were. With this, the pictures weren’t as good as I remembered – photographic skills and equipment have come on a lot since 1999. Still enough to show how amazing the place was though.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Birgit February 18, 2016 / 19:06

    Oh you lucky gal you! This must have been an amazing sight to see. The pics don’t look bad at all. It will be nice to meet:) I am game! I took a week off in April too but a staycation plus the A to Z believe it or not.

    Like

  3. hilarymb February 20, 2016 / 10:15

    Hi Anabel – I’d love to visit them .. so I do envy you that trip. Looking forward to the next posts of the islands .. cheers Hilary

    Like

  4. darwinontherocks February 20, 2016 / 10:38

    Oh wow, i can’t wait to read more !!! I’m sure it would have been incredible

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 20, 2016 / 11:17

      It was, though as I said the photos are a bit limited and it’s so long ago I don’t remember much detail, so don’t get too excited! Quite brief posts like this one.

      Like

      • darwinontherocks February 21, 2016 / 08:40

        I understand, i wouldn’t be able to remember a trip from such a long time ago. But even just one picture would make me very excited 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Alex Hurst February 20, 2016 / 13:11

    I feel like you need to rewrite “Oh, the Places You’ll Go!” in the same meter, and talk about all of your lovely adventures. 🙂

    Like

  6. corinnevail February 20, 2016 / 15:51

    I loved our trip to the Galapagos. It was hot and humid, but we swam with sea lions and walked among many other fabulous animals. Loved it.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 20, 2016 / 16:05

      The birds and animals were truly amazing! I remember it being quite moderate when we were there, not too hot.

      Like

  7. Lori L MacLaughlin February 20, 2016 / 19:51

    The Galapagos Islands are another place I’d love to visit. It’s on my list if I ever get the chance. And I think your photos are fine. 🙂

    Like

  8. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy February 21, 2016 / 18:24

    Oh, I went to the Galapagos after law school graduation. It was quite the trip – I can’t wait to see your pics and stories from your trip!

    Like

      • Sarah Ferguson and Choppy February 21, 2016 / 19:38

        It was somewhere I never really thought of going, but one of my friends was going with her family and I went along. It was very memorable, in part because I had no idea what I was getting into!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Sue Archer February 22, 2016 / 01:55

    Very much looking forward to seeing those photos. I’ve always thought it sounds like a wonderful place to visit!

    Like

  10. anotherday2paradise February 22, 2016 / 02:26

    What a great trip that must have been, Anabel. I’ve been to Ecuador, but would love to go to Galapagos. The Panga looks quite loaded up. I presume it had a motor. 😕

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 22, 2016 / 07:46

      Thanks, it was! Yes,mother Pangas had motors. They wouldn’t have been very comfortable for much longer than just getting us on and off the ship…..

      Liked by 1 person

  11. jazzfeathers February 25, 2016 / 21:48

    1999… goodness, sounds… and looks ;-)… like a different planet!
    The first time I heard abotu Galapagos was also in the 1980s, in a very famouse series of documentaries. I too didn’t know one could go visit the island. But is it safe for the environment?
    Can’t wait to read your posts! 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 25, 2016 / 21:55

      Tourism is restricted – but not as much now as it was then. Also, you can’t set foot on any island without a guide and you have to wash your shoes between islands to prevent transferring anything that would alter each one’s individual ecosystem.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. lisadorenfest February 29, 2016 / 03:06

    You should see how poor the quality was of my ‘film’ shots. Yours are very good. No need to apologize.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

