Cashel Forest

Loch Lomond from Cashel
Loch Lomond from Cashel
After what seemed like decades of rain (slight exaggeration, but not much) the sun came out a couple of Sundays ago and we headed for Loch Lomond and a walk in Cashel Forest. Now, I know Jude’s Bench Challenge is over but we just can’t help ourselves finding and photographing benches, so you will see plenty here. If anyone else is having withdrawal symptoms, I recommend the blog In memory of… (see also the associated Twitter account @MemorialBench, to which I’ve submitted quite a few benches).

We found our first bench as we left the carpark.

Then we headed up High Road, the longest (and highest – the clue’s in the name) of the three trails through the forest. It wasn’t long before we found another bench – with a great view.

Soon we hit the snowline. As well as the Loch, we could now see over to Conic Hill which we last climbed a year ago (read about it here).

At the highest point on our walk, there was another bench, this time dedicated to John and Rene.

As we descended, we detoured to the view point on the middle walk. The standing stone sculpture here is inscribed “And tomorrow the sun will shine again”.

Our final bench exhorted us to “take a pew, enjoy the view” – well, we did the latter but not the former as the seat was covered in snow.

From here it was an easy descent to loch-level where we found an area of trees used as memorials and an insect hotel, which I didn’t like to examine too closely, before arriving back at the car.

I never seem to write about a walk without mentioning lunch – usually before we start. This time we were out early (well, earlyish – not like us, I know) so had a late, and delicious, lunch in Drymen at the Clachan Inn. Since then, the weather has gone back to its miserable norm, so we were glad of this bright day to blow the cobwebs away.

Linked to Jo’s Monday Walks. This week she’s in Rocha da Pena.

43 thoughts on “Cashel Forest

  1. restlessjo February 22, 2016 / 13:15

    Isn’t it strange how rainy days go on forever and sunny ones just disappear? We’ve got a rare sunny one today so I’ve been to the beach and will possibly do park this afternoon because I have to go out to buy food, and I might as well enjoy it, mightn’t I? 🙂 The traces of snow on this look rather wonderful, Anabel, and I was mildly envious for a while. Thanks for the bench links- seems like a good idea, and thanks for your link to mine. 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 22, 2016 / 13:19

      Thanks, Jo. Yes, it’s bright here too. Wasted it inTesco this morning but just having lunch and hoping to stretch my legs afterwards.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pit February 22, 2016 / 13:32

    Hi Anabel,
    You have/had snow there? I wouldn’t have thought so. It looks pretty.
    Have a fine week,
    Pit

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 22, 2016 / 13:39

      Thanks, Pit. We have snow most winters but it hasn’t really been cold enough this year. This, and one other short spell, is all we’ve had.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Suzanne et Pierre February 22, 2016 / 13:49

    Nice walk & pics. You are lucky to be living in a such a beautiful area. (Suzanne)

    Like

  4. joylovestravel February 22, 2016 / 14:04

    So nice to see snow and blue skies!! The scenery is stunning.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 22, 2016 / 14:15

      Thanks Joy. It was a lovely change from the dull wet weather we’ve had – which returned just in time for this last weekend! Sunny today when people are back at work 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • joylovestravel February 22, 2016 / 14:16

        We were just saying the same thing – grey, dark and miserable all weekend long here and bright blue skies today, so unfair!!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Retirementallychallenged.com February 22, 2016 / 14:27

    Isn’t it wonderful when you are on a hike to come upon a bench placed at just the right spot. It looks like you have quite a few lovely benches in your area… lucky you!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 22, 2016 / 14:39

      I’ve never seen quite so many on one walk before! Maybe it’s connected with the area of woodland memorials – it seems a popular place to commemorate people.

      Like

  6. Lori L MacLaughlin February 22, 2016 / 14:28

    Lovely views (and photos!). It’s nice they have benches for people to enjoy them. The “take a pew, enjoy the view” made me laugh.

    Like

  7. Jemima Pett February 22, 2016 / 19:07

    Oh, that header pic is glorious! Please can I frame it and hang it on my wall?

    Like

  8. Su Leslie February 22, 2016 / 19:15

    Wonderful pics; especially the first. I do like the idea of memorial benches. We have them here too, and I often wonder about the people they commemorate.

    Like

  9. Heyjude February 23, 2016 / 00:27

    Ah, benches. I must admit I am missing my bench challenge. Lots of lovely views here Anabel and snow! Wow! We are forecast a hoar frost on Wednesday so I must go out with the camera. it has been so long, but other things getting in the way at the moment.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 23, 2016 / 07:24

      We have that today – very white! Not seen quite such a concentration of benches for a while – and all with lovely views.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. darwinontherocks February 23, 2016 / 10:07

    Oh I love Loch Lomond ! I’ve only see this landscape under a bright sunshine but it looks lovely with a layer of snow. Beautiful scenery. I love Scotland so much 🙂

    Like

  11. Lynne Rickards February 24, 2016 / 00:25

    I did an admittedly less strenuous walk in the Botanic Gardens today and noticed that every single bench along the main paths is a memorial to someone (and often couples). It’s touching to walk along and read all the tributes to loved ones.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 24, 2016 / 07:16

      That’s true. I remember at Mothers’ Day last year just about every one had a bunch of flowers attached to it.

      Like

  12. Jessica (Diverting Journeys) February 24, 2016 / 14:17

    I know what you mean about the “decades of rain,” but at least it looks like there’s a bit of snow up there too! Plus all those snazzy benches! London winters are always grim because of the greyness and complete lack of snow, but this year’s is really getting me down for some reason. Usually I at least get a taste of snow when I’m in Ohio over Christmas, but this year I didn’t even have that to tide me over. Bloody global warming.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 24, 2016 / 15:39

      Oh dear, you sound more fed up with that than me! We’re having a good run this week though – bright and clear.

      Like

  13. jazzfeathers February 25, 2016 / 21:52

    I love those photos with the snow. There’s a special charm in them, I don’t know why.

    And… and insect hotel??? I’ve never knew they existed!

    Like

  14. Birgit February 26, 2016 / 02:27

    What a nice walk especially to go from no snow to snow up on top. the one obelisk reminds me of 2001A Space Odyssey.

    Like

  15. lisadorenfest February 29, 2016 / 03:23

    Makes me long for a long hike in the winter woods. Especially with that last bench view. Gorgeous.

    Like

  16. Amy February 29, 2016 / 14:04

    What an enjoyable walk! beautiful photos of the Cashel Forest!

    Like

  17. Liesbet March 8, 2016 / 13:53

    What a great area for a walk, Anabel! You make me want to drop everything and get to Scotland ASAP. But, maybe I should wait until there are more consistently sunny days in the forecast? Or would that be wishful thinking? 🙂 Living in a moderate climate again myself now (instead of the tropics), I do understand the importance of waiting for a nice day and then drop everything to go out and enjoy it!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 8, 2016 / 13:59

      I think that would be wishful thinking! We get good days but can’t normally string them in a row…….

      Thanks for visiting.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

