#ThrowbackThursday: 2007

When I was looking for photographs to illustrate my recent posts on our Canadian Rockies trip of 2007, I came across these pictures from just after we came home. I’d forgotten about turning up to Aberdour Castle and discovering a falconry display was about to happen. I look ever so slightly nervous about that beak!

We also visited Castle Campbell on what seems to have been a lovely early autumn day.

We had a weekend in Newcastle-upon-Tyne so that I could attend a school reunion. The Quayside has improved enormously in the years decades since I was a teenager.

That 3-button cardigan makes me laugh – I wouldn’t mind betting someone reading this owned a similar one. Marks and Spencer sold them for months, though varying the colour-schemes quite regularly. We more or less had to have a cardigan rota at work to avoid wearing them on the same day.

I also saw the Angel of the North close up for the first, and so far only, time. I think it’s really impressive, though I know it’s not to everyone’s taste.

Angel of the North

I’d forgotten the two castle visits – we visit castles all the time – but I remember the reunion very clearly. I’m only in touch with one friend from those days but it was amazing how easy it was to chat to the others, even if I hadn’t seen them since the mid-1970s. I met the teacher in the photograph below too – I wonder if you can find me?

Rutherford 1971

36 thoughts on “#ThrowbackThursday: 2007

  1. TanGental March 17, 2016 / 11:04

    It’s the girl’s hair that brings it all back. And nope no clue which is you!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 17, 2016 / 11:11

      Probably because my out-of-hand hair is hiding my face! Middle row, fourth from left.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Paul March 17, 2016 / 11:18

    2 row, 3rd in from the right?
    I really like your Castle Campbell picture, great angle.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 17, 2016 / 11:32

      That was from the hill at the back, can’t remember what it’s called. Nope, that’s not me! Middle row, fourth in from left with weird hair.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. anotherday2paradise March 17, 2016 / 16:25

    Wow what a huge sculpture! I was just reading about it, and the symbolism is quite interesting. I had to smile about the 3 button cardigan. Never saw one before, but if I’d had one, I’d have been always wanting to do up that 4th button. 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 17, 2016 / 16:48

      It certainly dominates the surrounding area. I’d seen it from the motorway before but not close up. The cardigans were ubiquitous for a while. I put this photo on FB and one of my friends said she still had one of hers. (Oh yes, owning more than one was common. I had two).

      Liked by 1 person

  4. hilarymb March 17, 2016 / 16:46

    Hi Anabel – we’ve just had a reunion for five of us … we revisited the school, and our house where we boarded – which is now the preparatory school.

    Wonderful autumn shots – and a great treat to be able to try some falconry … The Angle of the North always amazes – I’ve dashed past it … but not stopped to look.

    Cheers Hilary

    Like

    • hilarymb March 17, 2016 / 16:47

      Angel, angel, angel … oh angle of the north, change to Angel …

      I see I can – but thought it might amuse?! Cheers H

      Like

      • Anabel Marsh March 17, 2016 / 16:54

        Well, you could be referring to the angle made by her wings I suppose! Almost 90 degrees.

        Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 17, 2016 / 16:57

      That sounds lovely. This was more random covering several decades, but some people I had known well turned up and others I spoke more to that night than I ever did at school!

      Like

  5. 1kayaker March 17, 2016 / 20:09

    Thank you for sharing your photos and travel events along with your stories

    Like

  6. Val Hunter March 18, 2016 / 18:07

    If you hadn’t given it away, I could have got it right and everybody would have been impressed!! And I confess to being the person who still has a very similar cardigan.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 18, 2016 / 18:22

      Actually, I’d forgotten you’d said you still had one. That makes 2!

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 18, 2016 / 18:24

      And when I saw the words “If you hadn’t given it away……” I thought you were going to add “I wouldn’t have known”. I’d have been SO offended 😉

      Like

  7. restlessjo March 18, 2016 / 18:09

    Happy days and a smiley teacher! 🙂 We had a reunion many years back. They must have been fashionable. Not unlike those cardies 🙂 You did make me smile with the idea of a rota, and no, I didn’t buy one.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 18, 2016 / 18:26

      Obviously you were too cool to follow such a common trend, Jo.

      Like

      • restlessjo March 18, 2016 / 18:37

        A person of discernment, Anabel? The canary yellow tent coat said it all 🙂

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh March 18, 2016 / 18:44

          I’m sure I could compete with that, but I shall draw a swift veil over that thought……

          Liked by 1 person

  8. inesephoto March 19, 2016 / 15:44

    Oh memories 🙂 Many students don’t want these pictures. They don’t realize how fun it is to look at them after 40-50 years 🙂
    Love the Castle Campbell picture. What a place!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 19, 2016 / 16:14

      Thank you! I can’t imagine why people wouldn’t want their school photos. This is one of several I have from infants through to sixth form.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. rosemaylily2014 March 21, 2016 / 07:09

    I couldn’t work out which one was you Anabel – glad you told us! I would never be game to put my old school photos up – I had a horrible perm in the sixth form was the fashion back then for some reason!!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 21, 2016 / 07:54

      Oh, I remember that fashion! There are definitely photos I wouldn’t post either, but this one was just about acceptable. I was growing my hair, it looked better in the next one but that was a different school.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Birgit March 21, 2016 / 17:01

    I missed this one(mom problems). Love the falcons and the little one is cute looking. Love the picture of the castle! I have no idea which one you are but I read the comments and found out. Too bad kids don’t wear uniforms in every school!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 21, 2016 / 17:12

      Uniforms are less common these days. I don’t have the tie, but I still have my school scarf (red, black and grey stripes) – unless the moths have got it since I last looked.

      Like

  11. Lucid Gypsy March 27, 2016 / 09:36

    I had a cardy like that in various shades of deep pink, I loved it and wore it for years. Actually I think they made a version of it for 2 or 3 years rather than months. You can still find them in the charity shops now!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 27, 2016 / 09:43

      It might have been years! Maybe I’ll find myself buying one back from a charity shop, they were very versatile.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lucid Gypsy March 27, 2016 / 09:46

        Except like many these days I find those bracelet length sleeves annoying!

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh March 27, 2016 / 09:55

          Quite good for spring / Autumn weather. Also, at the time I was working so good for keeping sleeves out of the way of the keyboard. Maybe I’d like them less now. And I’d need a bigger size now 😦

          Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

