Street art: Maryhill

Gallery 1: Murals

After I wrote my last post about Mary Hill, I thought I’d add something about the street art around the area. These murals first appeared during last year’s A to Z Challenge as part of Gallus Glasgow S: Street art.

Gallery 2: The Hub at Wyndford

I’ve often walked past this building and spotted the red banner on the brick wall in the first photograph below. Recently, I walked round the other side to see what else was there. A valiant attempt has been made to cheer up this rather run-down former school which is now being used as a community hub. I don’t think there are any tigers locally, but the buildings in the final two photographs are recognisably Glasgow. The one I’ve highlighted is the Armadillo, which also featured in last year’s challenge.

Gallery 3: Maryhill Locks

These railings run between the canal and the road at Maryhill Locks. They were designed by Catherine Rozdoba-Hallows and made and installed by the Maryhill fabrication company Scott Associates. I couldn’t decide which I liked best, so have included them all! They tell the history of Maryhill and the industries which grew up along the canal.

I hope you’ve enjoyed a peek at this area of Glasgow which doesn’t normally feature on the tourist trail.

44 thoughts on “Street art: Maryhill

  1. anotherday2paradise March 24, 2016 / 13:18

    A really fascinating collection of street art, Anabel. I love those railings…….so decorative. 🙂

    Like

  2. helenmackinven March 24, 2016 / 14:01

    Great post of street art I was unaware of – love the railings. I used to often visit the school with a previous job and confirm that there are no tigers in the area but there are plenty of bears. 😉

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 24, 2016 / 16:13

      They are very intricate. There are also some gates which I forgot to include. Another time!

      Like

  3. Liesbet March 24, 2016 / 19:41

    Great galleries, Anabel. I’m glad street art is becoming more popular. It’s such a great way to liven up a city and attract more passersby. I was first introduced to street art by my good friend Lisa (One Ocean at a Time – http://lisadorenfest.com/) when we met up in Auckland, New Zealand. I was – and still am – impressed with this original art form!

    Liesbet
    Roaming About – A Life Less Ordinary

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 24, 2016 / 21:00

      Thanks – I know Lisa’s blog, how interconnected the blogging community is!

      Like

  4. Lynne Rickards March 24, 2016 / 21:36

    I’ve seen the black panther and the three brightly coloured kids on Maryhill Road but the rest are new to me. The railings are particularly clever!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 24, 2016 / 22:07

      The dog is just across the road from the panther, but facing the opposite way. There’s a bee too!

      Like

  5. lisadorenfest March 24, 2016 / 22:58

    I love each set but those railings by Catherine Rozdoba-Hallows are really inspired and unique👍❤️

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 24, 2016 / 23:01

      Yes, I think so. Scott’s, who made them, have done some other amazing work too.

      Like

  6. findingnyc March 25, 2016 / 02:30

    Love all of the street art photos – those railings are especially amazing. I’ve never seen anything quite like them before. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 25, 2016 / 06:46

      Glad you like them! They certainly add interest to the area.

      Like

  7. hilarymb March 25, 2016 / 09:10

    Hi Anabel – those railings are amazing … and what a fantastic way to ‘tell’ us about MaryHill’s history. While the cat/jaguar is quite extraordinary … people are so talented …

    Cheers and have a peaceful Easter … Hilary

    Like

  8. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy March 25, 2016 / 16:57

    I remember the murals from last year – it may have been the first thing I ever saw on your blog!

    Also, the railings are amazing. I love when something practical has been improved by making it beautiful as well.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 25, 2016 / 17:38

      You have a good memory! Mind you, I remember Choppy from last year too 😉

      Like

  9. Su Leslie March 25, 2016 / 23:48

    Great street art: especially those stunning railings.

    Like

  10. jazzfeathers March 26, 2016 / 20:59

    Those railing are beautiful!
    I think I remember the panther from last year challenge 🙂

    Like

  11. restlessjo March 27, 2016 / 07:37

    Yes- I’m another fan of the railings. 🙂 So beautiful, Anabel! A shame to hide them away. A very happy Easter to you!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 27, 2016 / 08:42

      Yes, they seem to be very popular those railings. Hope you are still enjoying the Easter break. I’m feeling a bit befuddled this morning with the clock change!

      Like

      • restlessjo March 27, 2016 / 08:56

        No idea what time it is but everyone’s still asleep. 🙂 🙂 Sunny here but I’ve a day in the kitchen to look forward to. Using the quiet to write my Monday walk. Have a lovely day, Anabel. You’re the first person I can actually wish a happy Easter! 🙂

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh March 27, 2016 / 09:16

          Oh, that’s lovely! Thank you. John is still asleep too. I was confused about the time when I got up – so many clocks change automatically these days, but not all, so i had two different times in the bedroom.

          Liked by 1 person

  12. Lucid Gypsy March 27, 2016 / 09:31

    I love the street art but the railings are amazing, I’ve never seen anything like them, wow!

    Like

  13. Denzil March 27, 2016 / 17:34

    Love the railings Anabel! When were those made, do you know. I am amazed they haven’t been coloured in with graffiti.

    Like

  14. claudiabookwright March 27, 2016 / 19:49

    Your photos are wonderful. I’d not seen your photo of Glasgow’s Armadillo. Of course, I’m originally from Oklahoma where we have real, live armadillos. They are funny and cute, but not nearly so glamorous as your Armadillo. And I had to show my husband the railings. He does metal work and can appreciate the artistry involved. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  15. Birgit March 29, 2016 / 05:13

    I missed this! I have been working on my A to Z and am. Still far behind. Love these paintings on the side of building especially love the black panther. Very good paintIngs actually.

    Like

  16. darwinontherocks March 30, 2016 / 23:08

    Oh wow, the Maryhill Locks are quite impressive. The designs are really incredible

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

