Postcard from Toronto

Toronto from Ward's Island
Toronto from Ward’s Island

Well – not exactly a postcard from Toronto, because we arrived home last night, but a holding post until I get time to write up our visit in full. We had an amazing time, not only sight-seeing but also meeting old friends from Glasgow and meeting online friends in person. It was a pleasure to spend time with Jill of My Spanglish Familia

Anabel and Jill
Anabel and Jill

– and Birgit, and her husband Michael, from BB Creations.

Birgit, Anabel and Michael
Birgit, Anabel and Michael

To be continued…..

33 thoughts on “Postcard from Toronto

  1. VioletSky April 18, 2016 / 11:30

    Oh, I didn’t know you were in my town. i would have met up with you (though I’m sure you had enough to occupy yourself with)

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2016 / 11:46

      That would have been nice! Another time – I’m sure we’ll be back. I couldn’t actually remember which bloggers lived in or near Toronto so mentioned on the blog a few weeks ago that we would be there to see what would happen. It’s a lovely city – we had a great time. Just looking over my photos now with a view to extensive blogging.

      Like

      • VioletSky April 18, 2016 / 12:00

        yes, I have been so very quiet on the blogging front. hoping to be more active now as I’ve missed everyone.

        Like

  2. claudiabookwright April 18, 2016 / 13:11

    Beautiful photo of the skyline. As a child of the prairie, seeing that much water that close to the buildings is disquieting.
    I’m enjoying the world through your eyes.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2016 / 18:54

      Thank you! It seems to be one of those places where some of the land has been reclaimed as the street called Esplanade was a long way back from the lakeshore. Maybe you find that even more disquieting!

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2016 / 18:57

      Soon(ish) – so much to do on return even for a retired person like me! Though admittedly today’s task was not onerous – taking my mum and sister out for lunch to celebrate the latter’s birthday.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Suzanne et Pierre April 18, 2016 / 16:34

    Nice pics of the skyline of Toronto. We lived there for 25 years (before moving to Paris and then to Montreal) and absolutely love the city. It is dynamic and full of interesting things. Glad you enjoyed your visit and looking forward to seeing more of your pictures.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2016 / 18:59

      Thanks, have started looking through the (many) photos – but no time to post yet. Aiming for next week!

      Like

  4. Helen C April 18, 2016 / 16:37

    Come to Minnesota sometime, Anabel? 😉

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2016 / 19:00

      Minnesota has been recommended elsewhere too! It is my aim to visit as many US States as possible, so someday I hope to be there.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Spanglish Jill April 18, 2016 / 22:36

    It was so lovely to have met you and John! I’m grateful that you took the time out to meet up; definitely a special 2016 moment!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2016 / 23:05

      Yes, it was a lovely day – thank you for coming to meet us.

      Like

  6. Silvia Writes April 18, 2016 / 22:56

    One of the most beautiful places in N. America. We’ve only passed through quickly, but I remember enjoying my time there. Great images and post, Anabel.

    Like

  7. Birgit April 19, 2016 / 04:39

    Glad you made it home safe and sound. We had a wonderful time meeting up with you last Wednesday. I hope to send you some pictures this coming week. Sorry for the delay and so glad you had a great time. BTW?..the cookies were gone that evening:)

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 19, 2016 / 07:40

      We had a lovely day too, look forward to the pictures. Sounds as though you enjoyed the cookies, hope your waistline didn’t suffer!

      Like

  8. Liesbet April 19, 2016 / 14:06

    I was surprised there was no new Monday walk, but now I understand why… 🙂 I’m glad you had such a nice time abroad, Anabel. It is always so interesting and special when meeting online friends as well… Looking forward to the full story!

    Liesbet @ Roaming About – A Life Less Ordinary

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 19, 2016 / 16:45

      Yes, I hope to have a Canadian walk ready for next Monday.

      Like

  9. cassam101 April 19, 2016 / 14:56

    Sounds lovely,looking forward to your posts.

    Like

  10. Retirementallychallenged.com April 20, 2016 / 03:36

    We will be visiting Toronto for the first time later this year. I am looking forward to your pictures and descriptions of what I hear is a gorgeous city!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 20, 2016 / 07:35

      Oh yes, it was lovely! Hope to have the first post ready for Monday.

      Like

  11. lisadorenfest April 24, 2016 / 04:50

    Looking forward to more! I love Toronto. And it is always a delight to meet up with fellow bloggers. Maybe our paths will cross somewhere, someday.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 24, 2016 / 08:10

      Maybe! This is a wonderful network. At the moment I have one more Toronto post just about done but have hit a “no time for blogging” phase with so many other things going on. I get slight withdrawal symptoms though……

      Liked by 1 person

      • lisadorenfest April 24, 2016 / 09:18

        I hear you! We are crazy busy here getting ready to leave and I have one more post to write before we throw off the dock lines. Not sure how that is going to happen..I may be posting ‘April’ in ‘May’ 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  12. vannillarock April 24, 2016 / 18:41

    Good luck with your write up- I know you’ll do better than me. My only ( but valid )excuse is that I have been with my new grandson in Geneva for a month. I also suspect your husband does all the photo editing?? Looking forward to reading about your travels.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 24, 2016 / 19:37

      I have one ready to go tomorrow – after that, who knows? John takes the pictures (mostly) but I retrieve them from the camera and do everything else. Of course, when he retires (if ever) he can take that over! Hope you are enjoying the new grandchild (well, of course, I know you are.)

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

