Niagara

Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls

On the Wednesday of our week in Toronto, we caught an early bus out to St Catharine’s where we were met by fellow blogger Birgit of BB Creations and her husband Michael. This was the start of a wonderful day on which we had a pair of fabulous tour guides all to ourselves!

After a short drive from St Catharine’s, we parked by the Skylon Tower at Niagara Falls.

Perhaps remembering our fleecing at the CN Tower we didn’t go in, but walked down to the Falls which are, of course, best viewed from the Canadian side.

These guys seem to be thinking “seen it all before”.

Above the Falls, this building is the first major hydro-electric plant in the world – one of the investors being Sir Henry Pellatt of Casa Loma, subject of an earlier post. Opposite is a statue of Nikola Tesla, engineer and inventor, who was also involved.

After visiting the Falls, we drove to Niagara-on-the-Lake, making a few stops along the way. One was at Brock’s Monument, Sir Isaac Brock being a hero of the War of 1812. Some of the figures at the base were quite strange (and I don’t mean me and Birgit!)

We also stopped at the tiniest chapel I have ever seen, the Living Water Wayside Chapel.

Then we arrived at Niagara-on-the-Lake for a convivial lunch and a wander around this pretty town.

The fort seen in the gallery above is Fort Niagara, on the American side of the Niagara River. During the War of 1812 the British and the US managed to “swap” forts, with the former capturing Fort Niagara and the Americans capturing Fort George on the Canadian side. We visited Fort George – I’m not sure it was strictly open (there was a lot of work going on), but we wandered through without challenge anyway.

After that, it was time for Birgit and Michael to take us back to St Catharine’s to catch our bus. It’s also time to close my tales of Toronto – this must have been one of the most sociable breaks ever. Not only did we meet fellow bloggers Birgit and Jill, we met up with old friends from Glasgow too. So thanks Birgit and Michael, Jill, Stewart and Edith, and Amr and Anney for giving us such wonderful times.

Our next venture “abroad” was to England – coming soon, Northumberland.

47 thoughts on “Niagara

  1. mamba2 May 23, 2016 / 10:38

    Lovely…particularly liked the fact that you took photo of Nikola Tesla, an inventor of Serbo-Croatian origin ☺
    gx

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 23, 2016 / 10:41

      Thanks Gordana! Even if he is not very clear because of the mist from the Falls. The statue was of great interest to John.

      Like

  2. Heyjude May 23, 2016 / 10:53

    The power of water! We took a train to Niagara Falls and had a day there. Quite amazing. One of those places that you wonder whether they will match up to the hype, like the Grand Canyon or Uluru – glad to say the falls did. I’d have liked to have gone to Niagara-on-the-Lake as it looks like a much nicer town.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 23, 2016 / 10:56

      Yes, we didn’t bother taking any pictures of Clifton Hill at Niagara. So tacky!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Becky B May 23, 2016 / 11:28

    oh wow somewhere I’ve always to go, but for some reason have never made it. Really must one day. What a fabulous trip you have had.

    Like

  4. nomad, interrupted May 23, 2016 / 11:34

    I’m glad I got to see Niagara Falls through your eyes, Anabel, as I’ve never been there in person! Niagara-on-the-Lake looks charming and that chapel is really tiny! What a fun time you were able to have, meeting up with both blogging friends and old friends. Thanks for sharing! Looking forward to Northumberland. 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 23, 2016 / 11:37

      Yes, we had a great time. Lots of Northumbrian castles soon.

      Like

  5. RuthsArc May 23, 2016 / 12:51

    Many thanks for the tour. The falls look amazing. Definitely on my bucket list.

    Like

  6. joylovestravel May 23, 2016 / 13:13

    Stunning pictures, I’ve long wanted to visit, not got around to it yet but a post like this makes me so keen!!

    Like

  7. hilarymb May 23, 2016 / 14:17

    Hi Anabel – I know the Victoria Falls … but have never been to Niagara – one day … wonderful photos you’ve given us. So good to know you had lots of fun meeting friends and bloggers – cheers HIlary

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 23, 2016 / 14:32

      Thanks Hilary – I’ve not been to Victoria Falls. One of many things on my list!

      Like

  8. Pit May 23, 2016 / 15:08

    Hi Anabel,
    Thanks for sharing. 🙂 The Niagara Falls are definitely something on our bucket list. But that Skylon Tower? hmmm Very liekly not. 😉
    Have a wonderful time,
    Pit

    Like

  9. Birgit May 23, 2016 / 15:45

    I am so happy that we could treat you to a wonderful day and see all the sights of Niagara…we’ll, almost all:) My body was telling me we saw all and we were so happy to do this with you and meet both of you. It was a true highlight of the year so far. We were and are so happy to have shown you the sights and enjoy a beautiful day.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 23, 2016 / 16:07

      Thanks Birgit – it makes me very happy too! We are both so glad to have met you and Michael. Isn’t the internet wonderful for connections?

      Like

  10. Retirementallychallenged.com May 23, 2016 / 17:28

    The last time I visited the Falls, I was about 5 years old. I am looking forward to seeing them again in a few months… hopefully the weather will be a little warmer for our trip than it looks like it was for yours! 🙂

    Like

  11. Liesbet May 23, 2016 / 20:45

    The falls look spectacular as always. An image that will keep urging me to check the falls out myself one of these days in the near future. Glad you could combine the social aspect with the natural and beautiful one!

    Like

  12. ms6282 May 23, 2016 / 22:47

    Bloggers of the world unite! 😉

    Like

  13. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor May 24, 2016 / 13:30

    Looks like a lovely outing. I was at Niagara Falls around 20 years ago. I wonder if it’s changed much since then. I like how you do your photos in circles. Is that a WP trick?

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 24, 2016 / 14:35

      It was almost 20 years since we were last there and it was much as I remember it. Yes, the circles are one of the options for a WP gallery. When there are only 2 pictures in a gallery I feel it’s more interesting then just two rectangles in a row!

      Like

  14. Jessica (Diverting Journeys) May 26, 2016 / 09:51

    I’ve seen a lot of waterfalls here in New Zealand these past few weeks, and while most of them were in much more beautiful settings than Niagara, none of them could match it in force and, well, impressiveness. I don’t know how I managed to miss that Tesla statue though! I don’t think we strayed much from the horrible touristy bit, which is a shame because it looks like there’s some interesting things there, including that fort!

    Like

  15. Prior-2001 May 26, 2016 / 12:10

    I am a very new follower – and super excited that the second (or is it my third) post here is of niagar falls – my sister lives in st Catherine’s !
    Anyhow – u did a great job on this post !
    ☀️☀️☀️

    Like

  16. jazzfeathers May 27, 2016 / 06:52

    I have to say, you saw a lot more than me. When I went to the Niagara Falls, I just spent the day there… which, btw, was perfectly fine with me. I LOVED the falls.

    I was visiting a friend in Boston. She belongs to the Mohawk Nation (Iroqueses), and since the Niagara Falls used to be inside the traditional lands of her people (Niagara is a Mohaw word) she told me: Sarah, we just have to go.

    We went around the Falls, indise the Falls (that’s what I loved the most), and inside the Horseshoe with the ferry (that was an amazing experience). We also visited the rapids a bit further on the river and it was truely beautiful.
    Yeah, I suppose mine was more of an environmental trip, while yours looks a more historic one 😉

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 27, 2016 / 07:40

      It definitely needs more than a day! If (when) we go back I’d like to do the boat trip.

      Like

  17. inesephoto May 29, 2016 / 00:15

    Canadian side of the Falls is magnificent. We couldn’t get there because my daughter left her passport at home.

    Like

  18. Marcia Strykowski May 29, 2016 / 14:05

    Great pictures! I’ve seen the beautiful falls before and I’m partial to seagulls. Also noticed the Skylon Tower is very similar to the Space Needle that I recently visited in Seattle, WA–interesting!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 29, 2016 / 18:54

      It is – we have also been to Seattle (many years ago) and I remember the space needle being similar. And as a Frasier fan I’m familiar with its outline from the credits.

      Like

  19. Lori L MacLaughlin May 30, 2016 / 21:06

    Niagara Falls is such an amazing sight. I saw it from the American side many years ago. Maybe one of these days, I’ll see it from the other side. 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 30, 2016 / 21:20

      Yes, me too. I mean they say the Canadian side is better but I can’t be sure till I see it from the US side!

      Liked by 1 person

  20. lisadorenfest May 30, 2016 / 22:53

    I have always wanted to travel to the falls…I was certainly a shorter journey for me when I lived in NYC, but I sadly never made it there. I am certain to get there when I return home. The pictures of it were AMAZING!

    Like

  21. Spanglish Jill June 18, 2016 / 03:19

    Love reading all your Ontario posts. And it’s interesting for me to read the comments of others’ thoughts and experiences. My question is how come you have so many Canadian commenters? Most of my commenters are from the States. I think the whole “Spanglish” thing is very unstereotypical of the “Canadian” experience, and more stereotypical of the American experience.

    Again, so grateful to have met you. You are the first (and only thus far) blogger I’ve met in real life. I hope you’re doing well xx

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh June 18, 2016 / 08:30

      I am thanks, and I hope you are too – so glad to see you back in action. Not sure about why so many Canadians. Also US and Australia / NZ. Quite a few of the latter are ex-pat British which might explain their interest. Happy memories of our meetup!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Spanglish Jill June 21, 2016 / 02:05

        So far so good! I cross my fingers every day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

