Newhailes and Inveresk

Front view
Newhailes

Newhailes, then called Whitehill, was built around 1686 and extended in the 18th century by the Dalrymple family who added a library wing and the ‘Great Apartment’. In 1997, it passed into the care of the National Trust for Scotland. I can report that the interiors are magnificent (you can imagine me swooning over a whole library wing) but access is by guided tour and no photography is allowed, so I can’t show you. However, before our tour we followed the very pleasant trail round the grounds, and I can certainly show you that.

The Trust is busy restoring the landscape, but even in its current state you can still get an impression of how it might have looked to 18th-century visitors. The first curiosities we came across were the Shell Grotto and the remains of a Tea House, both dating from the mid-1700s.

We skirted the Cow Park (where I am standing) and the Sheep Park (where John is standing) which are divided by the Ladies’ Walk. This is the artificially raised path to the right of the other picture. It’s very overgrown now so you walk alongside it, but its original purpose was to elevate ladies in both body and mind, with views back to the house one way and out to the skyline of Arthur’s Seat and the Pentland Hills the other.

This is the view of the house from the back:

From here, we moved round to the front to meet the guide for our tour.

Our day wasn’t finished yet, because close to Newhailes is another NTS site, Inveresk Lodge Garden. We had another lovely stroll here, although by this time it was raining. That’s a day out in Scotland for you! Beautiful sunshine in the morning and cold and wet in the afternoon. Musn’t grumble – it accounts for the lush greenness. Enjoy!

53 thoughts on “Newhailes and Inveresk

  1. Jemima Pett September 12, 2016 / 12:39

    I must get out more. And not just to the dentist, optician, doctor, or golf. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anabel Marsh September 12, 2016 / 13:18

      We are still discovering new places to go in Scotland after 30+ years here! Definitely worth getting out and about for – your area is probably the same.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. maristravels September 12, 2016 / 12:44

    I think it’s time I paid a return visit to Scotland and then got out and about more!

    Like

  3. Smidge September 12, 2016 / 13:24

    Ah we were at the Lodge Garden on Sunday, what a beautiful place it is!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 12, 2016 / 14:00

      It is, can’t believe we had never been before.

      Like

  4. Pit September 12, 2016 / 14:50

    Hi Anabel,
    I’ve been thinking lately, and your post here brought it to my mind again: why don’t places that do not allow photography inside [which I can understand] sell their own pictures, say on DVDs or other storage media? In the “good old days” of analogue photography you could buy slides nearly everwhere.
    Thanks for sharing these pictures here, and have a good week,
    Pit

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 12, 2016 / 15:29

      That’s a good idea and I don’t know the answer! I don’t really know why they do it, though someone suggested on another blog that people taking photographs during a guided tour would be distracting. No flash I can understand more easily.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Pit September 12, 2016 / 15:44

        Well, I can see and understand that it would be distracting during a guided tour. Or, e.g., when I think of those throngs of tourists shuffling around Westminster Abbey. All that klicking away. I really wouldn’t want it.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. hilarymb September 12, 2016 / 17:25

    Hi Anabel – stunning houses to visit … great that you let us know about them. Lovely photos … cheers Hilary

    Like

  6. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy September 12, 2016 / 18:17

    Both look like wonderful places to visit. I love to imagine the gardens of old – but I think sometimes what I am imagining are the dresses and outfits of old – they are like gardens on their own (at least in my mind, where they are always super fancy).

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 12, 2016 / 20:02

      Glad you like them – they were wonderful, with or without the outfits to match!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Ellen September 12, 2016 / 18:39

    I understand why they don’t allow photography, but it’s a bit of a shame as I would have loved to seen pictures of the library. I do love a good library 🙂 But I did enjoy the garden pictures – looks like a lovely place to meander around.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. restlessjo September 12, 2016 / 20:38

    I was saying much the same thing to Kate (Rough Seas) earlier in the day, Anabel. It wouldn’t be so beautiful if it wasn’t for the weather. And we’ve had a good spell just lately. 🙂
    Have you ever been to Woburn Abbey? I’ve been watching Phil Spencer’s Stately Homes series and there was the most amazing shell grotto there.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 12, 2016 / 21:09

      I think I have when we had friends who lived near Bedford. I’m talking 1980s so don’t remember much!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. susan@onesmallwalk September 12, 2016 / 20:47

    Just gorgeous. I am trying to fit my American accent around these names…not succeeding😃

    Like

  10. Birgit September 13, 2016 / 04:56

    This looks like a beautiful place to spend the day. I’d love to see the inside of this house but the gardens are lovely. The one picture of that breathtaking flowers draping around a seating area is beautiful.

    Like

  11. Martin September 13, 2016 / 15:04

    I never knew Newhailes used to be called Whitehill.

    I grew up in Whitehill Avenue ( up Stoneybank)

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 13, 2016 / 15:18

      Apparently it was renamed when the Dalrymples bought it – because they also owned Hailes Castle in East Lothian.

      Like

  12. Blue Sky Scotland September 13, 2016 / 17:43

    That’s the great thing about the UK. So much history and varied scenery in a relatively small compact area. North America and Australia have many marvels but you have to drive huge distances between them. Know the district well but not the buildings or the gardens. Looks nice.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 13, 2016 / 18:09

      That’s very true! In general anyway – having just returned from 3 weeks in the US I can report that Rocky Mountain, Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks are very accessible from one another.

      Like

  13. BeckyB September 14, 2016 / 08:14

    still stunning even in the damp afternoon. sounds as though you’ve been having a great summer

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 14, 2016 / 08:37

      Thanks Becky! Still scheduling posts from early summer. Currently sifting through 100s of US photos so an abrupt change of subject coming up.

      Liked by 1 person

      • BeckyB September 14, 2016 / 08:42

        ooh can’t wait . . . although will miss Scotland x

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Liesbet September 14, 2016 / 12:35

    Newhailes looks like a wonderful house to explore, although I have a hard time calling it “house”. The elevated Ladies’ Walk is something they should have at more places, where there is beauty to look “down at” or “up at”. 🙂

    Like

  15. Jessica (Diverting Journeys) September 14, 2016 / 13:00

    A library wing?! How unbelievably awesome! And to think that I’d kill just for a library room with those sliding ladders and bookcases up to the ceiling. I think I’ve been aiming my sights too low. 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 14, 2016 / 13:40

      Well, it was just one room really – but it did take up the whole wing. And it had those ladders!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Vinny Idol September 16, 2016 / 01:06

    Hi, lovely photos. Was the Dalrymple family a royal family or nobility? Thanks for sharing

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 16, 2016 / 08:22

      Thanks! No, neither royalty nor nobility, they were baronets (had the title of Sir) so I would say landed gentry.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Vinny Idol September 16, 2016 / 14:06

        Oooh, landed gentry. I havent heard that one in awhile. Time to do some research.
        Thanks for responding.

        Liked by 1 person

  17. Alex Hurst September 16, 2016 / 23:19

    The garden is so pretty! I would love to see Newhailes’s library, though! I bet it’s fabulous!!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 17, 2016 / 08:59

      It was – would love to have had time for a good nose about in it.

      Like

  18. philosophermouseofthehedge September 17, 2016 / 00:46

    Architecture, history, gardens – what a fabulous place to actually visit and roam about ( and yes – that library must be a wonder)

    Like

  19. jazzfeathers September 18, 2016 / 19:36

    That garden is beautiful!
    I don’t really mind the rain, don’t know why. But I tell to everyone: I lived for a year in Ireland and I never once used an umbrella 😉

    Like

  20. Susan at FindingNYC September 24, 2016 / 18:30

    Lovely gardens, but what my mind is still focused on is that library wing! What an amazing thing! I’d love to see it in person. I’m always sad when I’m not allowed to take photos somewhere, but the benefit is focusing on it without thinking about the camera. (Sorry about my delayed response – it’s been a very busy couple of weeks at school, and I’m now getting caught up on all my blog reading.)

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 24, 2016 / 18:39

      No problem! I am falling well behind at the moment too. I feel if I had my own library wing to sit in quietly I would be able to catch up…..

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

