The Chandelier of Lost Earrings

Installing the chandelier
Installing the chandelier

This striking sculpture by Lauren Sagar and Sharon Campbell is made from over 3,000 single earrings donated by owners who have lost the other half of the pair.Β The women who contributed items to the project also shared, via letters, the stories attached to them and these have become part of the artwork’s legacy. It’s on display at Glasgow Women’s Library until the end of the year. I love it!

Do you end up with a collection of lost earrings, and what do you do with them if so? I know I do – but never enough to create my own sculpture. I have discovered, however, that some charities collect odd earrings and pieces of broken jewellery and can make money recycling them. If you’re in the UK, here are two:

Alzheimer’s Society

Friends of the Earth

Right – I’m off to have a rummage in my jewellery box!

59 thoughts on “The Chandelier of Lost Earrings

  1. joylovestravel September 26, 2016 / 11:52

    Me too Anabel – I have no end of stuff I could send! Love the chandelier too.

    Like

  2. Liesbet September 26, 2016 / 12:05

    What a great idea and a splendid result. I love artwork made from otherwise “useless” stuff or from recycled material. My ears aren’t pierced, so I never owned, wore, or lost earrings! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Jemima Pett September 26, 2016 / 12:22

    I have a little pot of singular earrings. I think we should have parties where people are required to wear mismatched ones πŸ™‚

    Beautiful sculpture.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh September 26, 2016 / 13:15

      Great idea! I do sometimes where mismatched ones but it’s incompetence rather than an artistic statement……

      Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh September 26, 2016 / 15:26

      I’m going to love looking at different bits every week for the next three months.

      Like

  4. Birgit September 26, 2016 / 15:00

    This is inventive! I love the chandelier and have lost earrings. I know my mom often would use parts of the earrings to create her Faberge style eggs. I have even used some as charms on my cards.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anabel Marsh September 26, 2016 / 15:27

      That’s a good idea – I think mine would lend themselves more to cards than chandeliers. Some of these look very large and flamboyant, mine are a lot smaller (and my ear lobes are consequently intact!)

      Like

  5. Hilary Melton-Butcher September 26, 2016 / 16:54

    Hi Anabel – that’s a wonderfully fun artwork … such a great idea. I do lose some – but I gather the Hospice can use them … people take them up for creative ideas … cheers Hilary

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Retirementallychallenged.com September 26, 2016 / 17:10

    What a great idea! Thank you for sharing. Next, they should make a sculpture of lost/mismatched socks… I think we all have a few of those too! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  7. restlessjo September 26, 2016 / 20:46

    The sculpture is fabulous, Anabel, and so is your idea πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. dormousetidings September 26, 2016 / 20:57

    The chandelier must be stunning at night. I am wondering if the bulbs have a soft or bright light? Anabel, I think you need to go back in the evening and take another photo please πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 26, 2016 / 21:50

      Well, I’m sure there will be an evening event at some point in the next 3 months so I’ll do my best!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Silvia Writes September 26, 2016 / 23:32

    Absolutely gorgeous. Art I can admire and truly appreciate. Thank you for sharing this, Anabel.

    Like

  10. Blue Sky Scotland September 27, 2016 / 00:30

    News to me that there was a Glasgow Woman’s Library. I had to look it up. Lovely creation.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 27, 2016 / 08:08

      25 years old this year and the only accredited museum of women’s history in the U.K.! All welcome.

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 27, 2016 / 08:10

      Me too! It really sparkles up close and I love looking at all the different earrings – though I think some must have been quite painful to wear, they are so big…..

      Liked by 1 person

  11. prior.. September 27, 2016 / 07:24

    this is wonderful art! wow – such a great idea and I like the different views. And like you – I do not think I would have enough of the earrings to make anything really… and I usually lose them together – not one – (but with socks I lose one…)

    anyhow, I recently made a mixed media art piece and added a single earring that I lost the other one to – it was a pure gold triple loop hanging earring – just little – and I added it to a yoga teacher’s piece I made to represent the “body mind and spirit”
    πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. BeckyB September 27, 2016 / 08:02

    How brilliant . . . . I think there must be a earring monster rather like the sock monster, don’t think a sock chandelier would look as stunning though!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 27, 2016 / 08:17

      Perhaps not – but I’m sure some imaginative person could come up with another sock idea!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. goannasnake September 27, 2016 / 09:17

    That’s great. When I think of all the odd earrings I’ve thrown away … Today, though, I dug out my last 5 pairs to put on my “Everything $1” table at a garage sale. I don’t wear them anymore so someone might as well enjoy them.

    Like

  14. petakaplan September 27, 2016 / 11:09

    Always fun to see objects being recycled especially in creative ways pr art forms.

    Peta

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 27, 2016 / 12:42

      It is – such a wonderful idea and beautifully done.

      Like

  15. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy September 27, 2016 / 14:21

    Oh, this is a most amazing idea! I am always losing one earring. I feel like this should be recreated everywhere.

    Like

  16. Spanglish Jill September 27, 2016 / 14:23

    I LOVE this sculpture! I don’t wear earrings so I don’t have many opportunities to lose any, but socks on the other hand…although a sock chandelier would be much less beautiful.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 27, 2016 / 14:40

      A few people have mentioned that they end up with odd socks. I’m sure collectively we could think of some art form to use them!

      Like

  17. Ann Coleman September 27, 2016 / 14:46

    What a fun idea! I would never have thought of that!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 27, 2016 / 15:05

      Me neither! It’s so simple in concept but totally original (as far as I know).

      Like

  18. Jessica (Diverting Journeys) September 28, 2016 / 13:42

    That is one cool chandelier! I don’t really have any missing earrings because I am gross and never change my earrings, even though I have three piercings per lobe, because my grandma bought me the sets of hoops I wear in my top two holes, and I’d be heartbroken if I ever lost one. But it’s nice to know that there’s a good use for all the oddments of jewellery out there!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 28, 2016 / 14:03

      Certainly is – earrings are one of the few adornments I like wearing so I have a fine collection – but possibly only large enough for a small bedside lamp, if that!

      Like

  19. RuthsArc September 29, 2016 / 12:25

    What a great idea. Love it. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  20. Eunice September 29, 2016 / 14:48

    Love the chandelier, it looks beautiful, and what a brilliant way to use unwanted single earrings. I’ve never had my ears pierced and never want to, so I don’t wear earrings, although back in the 70s I used to wear big dangly clip-on ones.

    My washing machine eats socks but as all the ones I have are black it doesn’t really matter, I can pair up the odd one with another the same

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh September 29, 2016 / 15:15

      That’s very practical! I can do that with some socks but mine mostly have patterns, though I have seen socks on sale in odd pairs so maybe I should join in!

      Like

  21. clicksclan October 2, 2016 / 18:21

    That’s really pretty.

    As for odd earrings, I wear odd socks so I don’t see why you can’t wear mismatched earrings. You’d have to make sure they were about the same weight so you didn’t end up feeling lopsided though. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 2, 2016 / 19:10

      That’s true! The only times I’ve done it have been by accident though – similar shapes and colours. Easily done!

      Like

  22. Ariel Hudnall October 17, 2016 / 00:01

    That’s so awesome! I have about four half-pairs that I could donate, too, haha. It’s quite pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

