Laramie, Wyoming

Landing in Denver, Colorado, added another state to my US tally. The next morning, we picked up our hire car and set off on our three-week road-trip: first stop, Laramie, Wyoming, which immediately added my second new state. As we crossed the state line, we spotted a beautiful modern visitor centre which turned out to be one of the best I’ve ever visited. Not only did I get the chance to consign John to jail, about which he doesn’t look too happy, but I was also able to indulge my interest in women’s history.

Women of Wyoming were the first in America to be granted the right to vote – in 1869 – well before this became part of the US Constitution in 1920. When we got to Laramie, we discovered that the first woman to exercise that right, 70-year old Louisa Swain, did so there in 1870. The town is proud of this and commemorates Louisa with a statue and an entry in its sidewalk map.

The building behind Louisa is Wyoming Women’s History house which we tried in vain to visit on the morning we left Laramie. The leaflet we picked up at the visitor centre said it opened at 10am, but the notice on the door said 11am and we didn’t have time to wait. Almost three weeks later, we passed through Laramie again  – only to find that the museum had closed for the season at the end of August, and by this time it was September. Foiled again!

However, we enjoyed walking round the town which was colourful and aromatic – check out the wall growing herbs. Also, if you enlarge the picture with the yellow awning you will see that it is a microbrewery called The Library. Along the awning it says “Don’t lie to your Mom. Tell her you’re at The Library”. A sense of humour too!

We stayed in a comfortable B&B called the Mad Carpenter Inn – when you see the pictures you’ll understand the name. Lawrence and Danny Rue were wonderful hosts and the breakfasts were delicious. Our room was a separate little cottage called The Dollhouse (seen with our hire-car outside it), which was great for my jetlag because I could go downstairs to sit and read without disturbing John. The stained glass panel is in the bedroom ceiling. If you ever go to Laramie, stay there!

Even better, I discovered that Laramie has an entirely vegetarian restaurant, Sweet Melissa. I hardly ever get to choose from the whole menu and, fortunately, John liked it as much as I did so we ate there both nights of our stay – and went back for lunch the day we passed through later in our trip.

Sweet Melissa
Sweet Melissa

Finally, Laramie is near great hiking trails which I’ll tell you more about in my next post. We left wishing we had more time there, but we said that nearly everywhere we went. The next question was always – what would we have cut out to compensate? To that we never had an answer. There’s always something to go back for!

51 thoughts on “Laramie, Wyoming

  1. rosemaylily2014 October 3, 2016 / 11:46

    What a quaint little cottage Anabel! Sounds the perfect spot in which to unwind after the long flight 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh October 3, 2016 / 12:01

      It was! I’d quite like to have moved in permanently, especially if I got my breakfast cooked each day…..

      Like

  2. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor October 3, 2016 / 13:36

    Wow, I had no idea women in Wyoming got the right to vote so early! I love those old signs painted on buildings.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 3, 2016 / 14:10

      Surprised me too! An unexpectedly interesting place.

      Like

  3. Eunice October 3, 2016 / 15:18

    The stained glass panel in the ceiling is gorgeous. I love the sign on the micro brewery – it reminds me of a local pub called the Post Office. That puts a whole new meaning on a guy telling his wife “I’m just popping down to the post office” lol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pit October 3, 2016 / 15:43

    Hi Anabel,
    thanks for sharing your views and pictures. Wyoming is still on our bucket list. This year [leaving next Monday] we’ll only get as fas as southern Nebraska, but that wil add a few states to my personal list. We intend to do quite a bit of bicycling on rail trail, plus some sightseeing. I’ll post about all that.
    Looking forward to your next posts,
    Pit

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 3, 2016 / 16:37

      I hope you have a great time, Pit. Looking forward to your posts too – I haven’t been to Nebraska.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Achim Spengler October 3, 2016 / 16:18

    Sweet “Melissa” isn’t the same lady as in The Allman Brother’s song “Melissa” ? 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 3, 2016 / 16:38

      Not that I know of – but that’s not to say she isn’t!

      Like

  6. Birgit October 3, 2016 / 17:28

    I love that guest house and that would be a perfect retirement home for someone. Love the stained glass. I love the signs including the old cigarette sign which i hope they never get rid of since it is part of the heritage. It looks like John can have a talk with Butch Cassidy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh October 3, 2016 / 19:07

      There were a lot of towns we passed through which could have come straight out if a western!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Liesbet October 3, 2016 / 22:11

    A great start to your road trip: women’s history and a nice vegetarian restaurant. I always say that if I could pick from a vegetarian menu like in these restaurants every day, I would have no problem becoming a vegetarian! I love the quote at the microbrewery as well!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 3, 2016 / 22:32

      Thanks, Liesbet, it was a great start! I had no idea it was going to be such an interesting place when I booked it.

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 4, 2016 / 07:33

      Yes, we did too – there we spent time in several really nice small towns.

      Like

  8. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy October 4, 2016 / 03:13

    I can’t recall ever having been to Laramie, despite having spent a fair bit of time in Wyoming. It looks like a great city!

    Like

  9. petakaplan October 4, 2016 / 09:00

    So very quaint! Love the wall of herbs. Great idea.

    Cute B&B as well.

    Peta

    Like

  10. hilarymb October 4, 2016 / 09:02

    Hi Anabel – definitely sounds a town to remember – an easy name too … but what a fantastic range of interests to look at … the veggie restaurant, the B+B, the herb wall – great ideas … such fun – I want to jump a plane now! Cheers Hilary

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 4, 2016 / 10:18

      It was definitely a good choice to stay on! Both town and B&B.

      Like

  11. BeckyB October 4, 2016 / 09:36

    Wow what a great place . . . . .if we ever back it back out west again I’ll add it to my long list of places I want to see. We usually arrive in Tahoe and never leave so my list has got very long over the past 25 years!

    Like

  12. Ann Coleman October 4, 2016 / 15:16

    I live in the US, but I never knew that the women in Wyoming were the first to gain the right to vote! I always learn something interesting from you posts!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 4, 2016 / 15:59

      I was fascinated! I’ve been involved in several projects about women’s suffrage in the UK so it’s something I’m particularly interested in.

      Liked by 2 people

  13. Maria Matthews October 4, 2016 / 17:26

    Loved your photos and your information about Laramie makes me envious. I have been to Denver and travelled to a ranch where we were spoiled for a week but our road trip was from Texas to Denver so the scenery was different. However Wyoming sounds like somewhere I would love to spend time.

    Like

  14. Blue Sky Scotland October 5, 2016 / 01:54

    Looks like a fun adventure. Watched an interesting programme around a year ago highlighting the fact that women had been completely airbrushed out of 1960s art culture. There were around half a dozen very prominent and celebrated female artists working in the 60s in New York and London, having sell out galleries yet it is only the male artists that are recognized today with the girls removed from most modern retrospectives of that period. I suppose that was still the age when men preferred women to be in the kitchen or taking care of the house and kids rather than fully independent and non conformist.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 5, 2016 / 07:36

      I didn’t see that, but yes – true in many areas, hence the raison d’etre of Glasgow Women’s Library which aims to highlight women’s lives and culture.

      Like

  15. nomad, interrupted October 5, 2016 / 12:29

    I’d love to go to Laramie! You make it sound very appealing. I’ve been to Wyoming and the west, but only when I was young. I traveled around the west when I lived in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho from 1980-84. You remind me here why I’d love to go back that way again.

    I love the Library microbrewery, the bed and breakfast and the vegetarian restaurant. And I love how you put John in jail! A great trip. I can’t wait to read about the hikes. 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 5, 2016 / 13:24

      We really enjoyed it – definitely an area to add to your list!

      Like

  16. Jessica (Diverting Journeys) October 5, 2016 / 16:16

    Oooh, another American adventure! I think you’re definitely more well-travelled in the US than I am! I’d love to see the West one of these days, and will definitely keep that B&B and vegetarian restaurant in mind. It’s always exciting to have more than like 2 options at a restaurant!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 5, 2016 / 16:35

      I know! I actually did really well for food on this trip, apart from in Yellowstone.

      Like

  17. Su Leslie October 7, 2016 / 01:20

    I’d never even thought of visiting Wyoming — until now. It looks like a great place and your B&B does look gorgeous.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 7, 2016 / 07:38

      It’s a route from Denver to Yellowstone so we had no expectations beyond that – but it turned out to be great!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Su Leslie October 7, 2016 / 21:23

        The Big T and I have talked about a US road trip off and on. Now we’re “empty nesters” I guess we can think more seriously about it.

        Liked by 1 person

  18. cassam101 October 8, 2016 / 08:14

    What a cute little house to stay in. I love the stained glass window. That street looks almost like a film set.

    Like

  19. BuntyMcC October 10, 2016 / 15:54

    While there did you discover the play “The Laramie Project?” My community theatre group is performing it at the end of November in Prince Edward Island, Canada.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 10, 2016 / 16:02

      No I didn’t! My goodness, I have just looked that up and I’m horrified. I know of the case but didn’t know (or had forgotten) that it was Laramie. Appalling.

      Liked by 1 person

  20. lisadorenfest October 15, 2016 / 04:26

    I am 5 states shy of a full 50 and Wyoming is one of those states. I enjoyed traveling to Laramie with you virtually. Especially enjoyed the picture of John in jail, of the streets of Laramie,and the Ghost Chesterfield Advertisement.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

