Rock Springs to Jackson

Wind River Range
Wind River Range

The journey from Rock Springs to Jackson fell into two distinct parts. To begin with we crossed flat plains, before reaching more mountainous areas in the late morning. We stopped in the pretty little town of Pinedale where we enquired about local hikes from the very helpful gentleman in the visitor centre. After a wander up and down the main street, and an early lunch in the Heart and Soul Café, we followed his advice.

We headed up Fremont Lake Road to the top and then took what I think was Pole Creek Trail. It wasn’t that interesting a walk to be honest – gently uphill through forest with no views, or at least none in the time we could afford to spend, so we walked about an hour in one direction, then turned round and came back. However, it broke a long car journey and stretched our legs, and there were lovely views of Fremont Lake and the mountains from the road.

From Pinedale, we headed straight on to Jackson, just outside Grand Teton National Park and our base for the next three nights. We were back to staying in a small inn this time – the comfortable and attractive Alpine House.

Other than that, we didn’t engage much with Jackson which was definitely tourist central. We went out for dinner at night and that was about it – though I really have to mention Pizzeria Caldera where we had the best pizza that either of us could remember eating for a long, long time. Jackson was just a dormitory for exploring the park. More on that next time!

26 thoughts on “Rock Springs to Jackson

  1. Suzanne et Pierre October 17, 2016 / 13:51

    Looking forward to seeing your pictures of Grand Teton…We totally loved that park when we visited years ago. Nice pictures of your day…(Suzanne)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh October 17, 2016 / 13:58

      Thanks Suzanne, we loved Grand Teton too. Coming up next!

      Like

  2. hilarymb October 17, 2016 / 14:19

    Hi Anabel – well as you say … just what you needed – a walk out to stretch those legs …

    Still lovely views at times … and I’m glad you’re back in your small inns … and 3 days in one place – must be good … cheers Hilary

    Liked by 1 person

  3. TanGental October 17, 2016 / 14:42

    I must say i liked Jackson when we were there. Saw my one and only rodeo too which was … interesting. Wish I’d kept the photos..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh October 17, 2016 / 15:07

      It just seemed to be tourist-oriented shops – and lots of tourists! I know, what a cheek to complain when I’m a tourist too.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Liesbet October 17, 2016 / 15:19

    Jackson stared at me on the map of Wyoming I picked up at a rest stop on our recent cross country drive. It looked like the perfect base for Grand Teton and Yellowstone. I am ignoring my husband’s request to remove that map from our car (now in California for the time being) and will cherish it until we see these amazing national parks ourselves. In the meantime, I am patiently waiting for your report and photos of Grand Teton to drool virtually. 🙂 And, I hope you visited Yellowstone as well…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh October 17, 2016 / 15:42

      We certainly did! There will be several posts about Yellowstone. Eventually. Hope your journey went well and you are recovering from the long drive.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy October 17, 2016 / 15:20

    I’m excited to hear about your trip to Grand Teton! Paul and I made Jackson our base for exploring the park on our honeymoon, and we really loved it. The only problem was we didn’t have enough time!

    Like

  6. Heyjude October 17, 2016 / 23:57

    I must admit I’m not a fan of walking in a forest without views, gets a bit boring. Those lake views from the road are nothing but boring though.

    and now I have an earworm…

    We got married in a fever, hotter than a pepper sprout,
    We’ve been talkin’ ’bout Jackson, ever since the fire went out.
    I’m goin’ to Jackson, I’m gonna mess around,
    Yeah, I’m goin’ to Jackson,
    Look out Jackson town.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh October 18, 2016 / 07:45

      Yes, we didn’t know there would be no view, we kept hoping the trees would thin out. We eventually asked someone coming the other way and we’d have had to go another couple of miles and we wanted to get on to Jackson. Sorry about the ear-worm!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. VioletSky October 18, 2016 / 01:54

    Have enjoyed your posts of the wild west. It’s not a part of the country I have longed to see, so am glad to travel through you! Now, Yellowstone is another matter….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh October 18, 2016 / 07:46

      Yellowstone will arrive! I’m having trouble writing about it other then “Ooh, look at this! Isn’t it amazing!” Maybe that will do.

      Like

  8. Ann Coleman October 18, 2016 / 17:48

    My husband’s boss has a vacation home in the Jackson area, and said the countryside is just beautiful! I tend to agree with you about the town, though.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 18, 2016 / 23:46

      Yes, the town just felt like a tourist creation, not authentic at all. But surrounded by beauty!

      Like

  9. Inger October 18, 2016 / 18:44

    I really like murals, and the cow mural is lovely! So colourful and fun:)

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jessica (Diverting Journeys) October 19, 2016 / 19:00

    That pizzeria does look good (after growing up in Ohio, where people like their crust thick and bready, and their sauce sweet and chunky, I’m suspicious of American pizza outside of New York. I’m firmly on team thin crust)! And I love that cow mural.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Birgit October 20, 2016 / 03:27

    I love the mountain man and the folk art. Another great hiking tour that you engaged in.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh October 20, 2016 / 07:50

      Thanks Birgit. Pinedale would have been a nice town to stay in – but too little time!

      Like

  12. Blue Sky Scotland October 21, 2016 / 00:05

    Can’t beat a good pizza when you are hungry abroad. I used to always order it in Italy and my Italian friend would just shake his head but at least I knew I was going to enjoy my meal unlike some of the weird and wonderful regional dishes he recommended I try.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh October 21, 2016 / 07:41

      I can’t even remember what this one had on it! I just remember it was SO good.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

