On being 90

Last month, we celebrated my Mum’s 90th birthday. Here, she describes the weekend on her own blog.

It was always sunny

Chris Mitchell 90thOn the 21st October 2016 I became a nonagenarian. When I was a wee girl I was very proud to have been born on Trafalgar Day, which in these far-off times was celebrated widely. I was also exactly six months younger than Princess Elizabeth of York, which pleased me when I was old enough to know. When I began to feel I might make it to ninety I had a trawl through the internet to see who, apart from Nessie and Nancy, Paisley Methodist friends, might be sharing the occasion. There were quite a lot, most of whom I’d never heard of, but two appealed to me.

John and I were tremendous fans of the first and had a great admiration for him. He is now regarded as a National Treasure, not surprisingly. He opened our eyes to the wonderful wildlife in many places in the world which few of…

View original post 1,284 more words

37 thoughts on “On being 90

  1. Eunice November 14, 2016 / 11:09

    Wow! I can’t believe your mum is 90, she looks way younger than that. I’ve just briefly read a bit of her blog, it looks really interesting so will read more later. She may just have a new follower 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kethuprofumo November 14, 2016 / 11:11

    That’s Amazing! What a lovely woman! Many many years to her!

    Best Regards,
    Maria

    Like

  3. hilarymb November 14, 2016 / 11:23

    Hi Anabel – those days … my Mama was stroked and confined to bed … I think we watched 101 Dalmatians … the Cruella de Ville one .. and she was very happy. She had wanted to make 100 – but nearly made 92 … and could still talk – so we were lucky.

    Your mother looks as bright as a button -congratulations to both of you .. cheers Hilary

    Like

  4. the eternal traveller November 14, 2016 / 11:29

    My Mum turned 80 in October but you wouldn’t know it. She is still travelling and making the most of life. I hope we are as fit and active as our mothers when we reach these distinguished ages.

    Like

  5. joylovestravel November 14, 2016 / 12:42

    Loved reading your mum’s account of her birthday Anabel – it sounded like she had the most perfect day. Congratulations to her, she sounds like a remarkable lady (and definitely does not look her age). The poem was lovely as well – we should all take note and savour each day like vintage wine I think!

    Like

  6. Pit November 14, 2016 / 13:53

    What a wonderful day for y’alls – as we’de say here in Texas: congratulations! And WOW: 90 and looking that young, and being that young mentally to have her own blog! I admire her! Keep going strong and head for the 100th.
    Best wishes,
    Pit

    Like

  7. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor November 14, 2016 / 15:21

    Happy birthday to your mum! I’d have to agree with the other commenters, she doesn’t look anywhere near 90 at all.

    Like

  8. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy November 14, 2016 / 16:27

    Your mom looks far younger than her years – and seems that she acts younger as well. It sounds like a great time was had by all. Such a blessing you have her around!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh November 14, 2016 / 16:53

      Indeed! We all had a great time (and as, I think, Pit said will now be looking forward to the 100th).

      Liked by 1 person

  9. restlessjo November 14, 2016 / 18:29

    I don’t think you have much to worry about as you grow older, if you take after Mum, Anabel 🙂 🙂

    Like

  10. Liesbet November 14, 2016 / 20:29

    Amazing, Anabel! All of it, your mother’s age, how she aged, how she is even on the internet and how she enjoyed her special day. And, you look so much like her. I”m sure you have heard that before as well. I wish my grandma looked as happy and healthy as your mom!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh November 14, 2016 / 20:48

      Thanks Liesbet! I do take after Mum’s side of the family and my sister is more like Dad’s.

      Like

  11. Blue Sky Scotland November 15, 2016 / 00:18

    Many happy returns to your Mum. Best Wishes.

    Like

  12. Ann Coleman November 15, 2016 / 14:08

    Happy Birthday to your mother! I love that she is writing down her memories in her very own blog, and her posts are quite interesting. I love Michael Bond as well, although as an adult, I really enjoy his mystery series featuring Msr. Pamplemousse and his trusty side-kick, the dog Pommes Frites. I think your mother has discovered the key to a long life: stay interested, stay involved, and appreciate all that is good. Thanks for sharing her post!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh November 15, 2016 / 15:05

      Thanks, Ann! The blog is a great project – some memories were very familiar but others were new to me and now they have been preserved.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Sweta Ojha November 16, 2016 / 11:13

    Wow. That’s a lovely woman! Glad to have crossed paths.

    Like

  14. Jessica (Diverting Journeys) November 16, 2016 / 16:28

    Happy birthday to your mum! I enjoyed reading her account of the occasion, and will have to check out more of her blog later!

    Like

  15. ventisqueras November 19, 2016 / 00:59

    il suo sorriso esprime tanta dolcezza e serenità, la sua presenza sono certa è una vera gioia per chi la ama!
    unisco i miei più grandi auguri ! Annalisa

    Like

  16. rosemaylily2014 November 25, 2016 / 11:04

    Wonderful post Anabel and many congratulations to your mum on her special milestone! I was transfixed by her blog – how amazing she writes so eloquently! My dear mum was 91 in September and I’m afraid has long been in “la la” land – still we do get entertained by stories of the second world war in her lucid moments. Very hard on my dad who is still very fit and active albeit a few years younger than Mum (she is in a nursing home now and he lives independently). A wonderful post to treasure! 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh November 25, 2016 / 11:09

      Thank you! It’s been a real pleasure working on Mum’s blog (I’m the “Technical Advisor” as you might guess).

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

