Dollar Glen

Dollar
Dollar

One of our favourite outings is to the small town of Dollar in Clackmannanshire, from where we walk up Dollar Glen to Castle Campbell. We did this most recently in December 2016. Unfortunately, since the last time we visited, the hotel bar in which we usually ate lunch has closed – the horror! – but we found a more than adequate substitute in the Bridge Street Kitchen – hooray!

Suitably fortified, we made our way past some chain saw carving and up West Burnside.

Just where the footpath to the castle begins there is a small museum in an old mill building. In all our years of visiting Dollar we have never been in – until this time. It’s a fascinating collection of information on local history staffed by friendly volunteers (an extensive chat with one unearthed three mutual acquaintances). I was particularly interested in the section on Lavinia Malcolm, a woman I had never heard of but who was the first woman town councillor (1907) and the first woman Provost (Mayor – 1913) in Scotland. We noted that we must have walked past a plaque on her former home and decided to look out for it on our way back.

After the museum, we climbed up the Glen past this intriguing money mushroom – I’ve seen money trees before but this is a first – to the point where we could look back on the view you can see in the post header. Castle Campbell soon loomed over us.

We had spent so long in the museum that the castle was about to close by the time we got there, so we passed it by and returned down the other side of the glen. The lights had come on by the time we got back to Dollar making it look very festive.

As hoped, we found Lavinia’s house and memorial plaque.

My favourite kind of walk – countryside and history combined! For more walks of all kinds, pop over to Jo’s Monday Walk for a wide choice of topics.

45 thoughts on “Dollar Glen

  1. anotherday2paradise January 30, 2017 / 12:26

    A lovely walk indeed. The castle looks a bit spooky in your photo, the mushroom too. 😃

    Like

  2. sudershana January 30, 2017 / 12:27

    So beautiful and soothing photographs. Lovely😃

    Like

  3. Vibha Ravi January 30, 2017 / 14:11

    May I ask what a money mushroom is? Btw, even I love outings which combine a bit of history – I guess it adds a tinge of mystery and intrigue to a place.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 30, 2017 / 14:18

      I don’t really understand the money mushroom myself, I just called it that! Sometimes in the countryside you see fallen trees with coins jammed into the cracks, I presume as a sort of offering as in a wishing well. This is the only artificially created object I’ve seen being treated that way. I’m not sure if it was created for offerings or if they just happened. You might need to enlarge the picture to see properly. Thanks for visiting and commenting!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Helen C February 6, 2017 / 20:27

        Anabel, I love that money mushroom! 😉 I am just curious… nobody tried to take the money? I wonder if that would bring bad luck to the person…
        I saw a money tree photo before, but money mushroom looks better. .
        Very interesting.

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh February 6, 2017 / 21:10

          I don’t think so – it’s tightly jammed in and the coins are such low denominations that the whole thing would probably only buy you a bar of chocolate or something like that!

          >

          Liked by 1 person

  4. restlessjo January 30, 2017 / 15:00

    What a small world, Anabel! 3 people 🙂 And I love your money mushroom! I enjoyed our little bit of an amble and the history. Always love to stick my nose in a museum. Thanks for the link 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 30, 2017 / 15:03

      Scotland is a small country and when you get on to talking about schools and libraries you narrow the field even more! Glad you enjoyed the amble.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. hilarymb January 30, 2017 / 16:45

    Hi Anabel – lovely local walk … with lots of interesting ideas around … I’ve never heard of a money mushroom – or whatever its proper name is – dollar-glen sounds good too. Great you’ve found an entrepreneurial lady to tell us about … fascinating – cheers Hilary

    Like

  6. Amy Parmeter January 30, 2017 / 16:45

    Lovely photos and descriptions – I want to sit beside that river!

    Like

  7. Green Global Trek January 31, 2017 / 04:58

    What a wonderful walk encompassing so much variety in a short space. A money mushroom! How very unusual.
    Beautiful countryside and photos of it!
    Peta

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 31, 2017 / 07:45

      Thanks Peta. Not hard to see why it is one of our favourite walks!

      Like

  8. RuthsArc January 31, 2017 / 08:12

    Thanks for the stroll and the intriguing chain saw carvings.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 31, 2017 / 08:34

      Thanks Ruth, it’s a lovely walk even in dull weather.

      Like

  9. Lynne Rickards January 31, 2017 / 11:48

    Dollar Glen is one of my favourites too! It’s going to be particularly lovely in spring when the blossom comes out. Must put a little reminder in the diary around May…

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 31, 2017 / 12:15

      Oh yes, May would be very pretty! It’s usually autumn when we go and that’s lovely too.

      Like

  10. Ann Coleman January 31, 2017 / 15:11

    What a beautiful little town! I really do hope to visit Scotland some day, and if I ever do, I’m going to consult your blog posts when I’m planning my trip.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh January 31, 2017 / 16:44

      Please do! Happy to be consulted in general by anyone wanting to come here. I hope you can visit here someday.

      Like

  11. Blue Sky Scotland February 1, 2017 / 00:44

    Snap. We went there as well a couple of weeks ago so I’m glad your photos are different from mine. I’ve been up Dollar Glen half a dozen times but never noticed the money tree. I’m assuming its on the new trail that replaced the old boardwalk up through the deep gorge that was destroyed by a landslide of boulders years ago. Gutted when they never replaced that adventurous route but I suppose it is now too dangerous given all the rain we get now. Lovely place Dollar.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 1, 2017 / 07:30

      It is lovely. The money tree is maybe quite new, we’d never seen it before.

      Like

  12. Birgit February 1, 2017 / 05:22

    The castle looks so beautiful like something out of a romantic novel…a good romantic novel:) how do they get the pennies in that mushroom?? I think that is pretty cool and love the history.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 1, 2017 / 07:35

      They just push the pennies into the cracks. I assume it was made that way since wooden mushrooms aren’t a natural phenomenon! It is a beautiful, romantic location for a castle. The views from the top are wonderful.

      Like

  13. Marcia Strykowski February 1, 2017 / 12:49

    What a fun area to stroll through, full of intrigue. You find the best places to visit!

    Like

  14. Kathleen Jennette February 2, 2017 / 15:40

    That money mushroom is the first for me. Never heard of such. The whole hike looked wonderful.

    Like

  15. Cecilia February 2, 2017 / 19:01

    These are doubtlessly the best walks you can make. I totally enjoyed your post and the photos. Makes me wish I’d be there! Thanks and greetings!

    Like

  16. clicksclan February 5, 2017 / 19:47

    I love seeing pictures of your walks. The chainsaw carvings and money mushroom are two of my favourites here. 🙂

    Like

  17. BeckyB February 6, 2017 / 08:17

    Bemused by the Money Mushrooms but love the walk and the history ☺

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 6, 2017 / 08:23

      Yes, that’s definitely weird! It’s a couple of years since we were last there and I don’t remember the mushroom, so I think it’s quite new.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. rosemaylily2014 February 6, 2017 / 09:03

    Sounds a wonderful walk Anabel – I find people’s stories so interesting! Lavinia’s former home is gorgeous and so pretty with the fairy lights!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 6, 2017 / 09:45

      It’s good to see her honoured that way, and that the current residents allowed the plaque. It must be a bit annoying to have folk like us turning up and taking photographs!

      >

      Liked by 1 person

  19. woodnatasha4 April 10, 2017 / 12:09

    I’ve been feeling unsure about our relocation to Scotland, but after seeing this walk, I’m starting to feel more excited! Love a good castle walk!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

